Packaging Design, Fall 2017

Erin Long
Packaging Design
43 min readAug 28, 2017

--

Opioid Awareness Campaign

Student Starpack Awards

Jolly Pumpkin Brewery

Open and Play

#WeStandTogether

To The Bottom

Opioid Awareness Campaign

Expansion Revisions 12/6/17

Expansion Revisions 12/6/17

What I heard: I should try duotones for the images to make them more cohesive. Inception needs to go. I need to add the Shatterproof logo and URL. I also need to spell check.

What I think: I think the duotones or monotones are a good idea. I think that I am more enthusiastic about Inception than most people so thats embarrassing. I meant to add the Shatterproof logo last time and forgot.

What I am going to do: I am going to try the duotones. I am going to replace Inception with Titanic. I’ll definitely add the logo and do some spell checking.

Expansion Initial Designs 12/4/17

What I heard: The typography is good. I need to work with swapping some colors around. I should consider swapping out heroes for just iconic movies. I should consider using photography instead of illustrations.

What I think: I think using just iconic movies will make these posters more universally relatable. I am concerned about using photography because it might clash with the bold and graphic qualities of the typography. Also I’m worried about finding quality typography to work with.

What I am going to do: I am going to shuffle some colors around and see if I can’t get something less dark and dense. I am going to try the typography, but I may end up going back to illustrations depending on how they look.

I am going to expand this project. I would like to create a series of posters that would hang in the space where theaters usually put movie posters. They would be in a similar style, but the content would be more focused on film than on the refreshments at the theater. I could use famous movie tropes, famous lines, characters…

Popcorn Bag Opioid Awareness Campaign

I wanted to choose an object for this project that had the potential to be seen by almost any type of person. I also wanted something that someone would come across outside of the home. I chose popcorn bags, and used elements from a movie theater concession to push my concept of “this not that”. The main color is purple, as that is the color of opioid awareness. I then chose a different color that I felt complimented well for each of the set. I relied mainly on bold typography to get my message across, and also used a small illustration for each bag.

The aspects of this project that I am really happy with include the color scheme, the bold typography, and the illustrative element.

Credits:

Fall 2017, Edinboro University

Art Direction: Brigette Davitt

Designer: Erin Long

Dimensions:

Typefaces: Omnes

What I heard: The patterns and potentially some of the typography is too playful. Some of the taglines on the front are not clear.

What I think: I am having trouble finding the line between getting the message across and being too playful.

What I am going to do: If I choose to expand this project, I may try to do a popcorn bag, candy box, and drink cup. I am not sure if this will help the above issue or not.

Second Finish 11/20/16

Read & Respond 11/15/17

I think that I should consider background color as well as theme the next time I photograph. I think that there would be room for incorporating objects with the tea tins, and potentially the popcorn bags, thought that is a more serious subject matter and I wouldn’t want to water that down with silly photos. I also thought the part about capturing paper finishes was interesting. For us designers, this is oftentimes a really big choice that then gets lost in the photos. I should be more careful about capturing that aspect of the design as well. I think this could also go for capturing the surface of my tins.

First Finish 11/15/17

What I heard: I should consider incorporating a brand, like Cinemark or Carmike. I could also incorporate movies that involve drug use. I should do a pattern/texture/illustration on the sides. I should put the candy list on the side of every bag and come up with a shorter phrase for the smallest bag. Additionally, ‘hydrocodone’ should be a different color or weight in the list. I could incorporate Shatterproof more on the sides. A glossy paper has been recommended. I should change the color of each bag. The smallest bag stands out as different. I’ve read the words ‘pattern/texture’ about three times so thats probably a sign.

What I think: I’m not sure about incorporating a brand, as I feel like that would just mean plopping a logo on the bag. I like the idea of incorporating movies, but I’m not sure if people that hadn’t seen a particular movie would get the references. I think the pattern or texture is a no brainer considering that like three of five groups suggested it. I definitely agree the smallest bag stands out and needs to be more cohesive. Shatterproof could probably be integrated more. I was thinking a glossy paper, and I’m trying to come up something not totally crappy, while also not being too quality. I liked the dark purple for the bags because I know that popcorn bags are usually dark (for the butter and grease!) but I can try inverting the colors. I’m pretty happy with this scheme and would like to stick with it.

What I am going to do: I will do some research on incorporating a brand. I will definitely think about and work with some kind of pattern. The smallest bag will be receiving the most help. I need to poke around and decide on a paper. I will also try inverting the colors.

Initial Design Explorations Critique 11/9/17

What I heard: The bulk of the comments had to do with going back into the copy and updating that to not be so bad. It was also suggested to do some abstract illustrations (inspired by the circles on the green bag).

What I think: I think there is a fine line between missing the point and going too far, so I need to figure out what that is. I think abstract illustrations could be a good idea.

What I am going to do: I am going to put more copy on the front and come up with phrases that I can integrate with the movie theater atmosphere. I will fiddle with some illustrative stuff.

Initial Design Explorations

Idea Board 1

  1. I think this message would be the most effective if I could place it on the actual pump. Then people would essentially be forced to look at it.
  2. I suppose the target would be any teenager or adult that has a car, as most cars need gas. I was thinking about comparing the “health benefits” of consuming gasoline vs opioid abuse. I don’t know if this would work at all…
  3. As for effectiveness… I think that thinking about consuming gasoline would grab most people’s attention. It might make people think twice about what they are putting in their bodies?
  4. I guess I’m thinking about it in a “different kind of solution” or “different kind of fuel” sort of way
  5. I’m not sure if this is something that Sheetz or any other gas station would go for. Maybe it seems odd because they sell cigarettes or tobacco, which are other ways to harm your body.
  6. I don’t know if this is a call to action as much as it is informative. On the company end, it would sort of be like a “Sheetz Cares” type of deal.

Idea Board 2

  1. I think any sleeve other than the typical one the consumer is used to seeing at any particular chain would be attention grabbing.
  2. I think this would be more directed at teenagers and young adults…anyone that spends time in a coffee shop I suppose. Going with the positive message idea, I suppose both the message and the coffee could be a collective pick me up.
  3. I suppose the pick me up idea works for teenagers and young adults, right? They need to be told that they are good people. They are better than opioid/don’t need opioids.
  4. The benefit is based on what advantage the customer can gain.
  5. I think that this concept could support a smaller shop, but I don’t think that a giant like Starbucks would go for this.
  6. I suppose the cup would ask the consumer to see themselves differently (in a better light).

Idea Board 3

  1. I think any bag or cup that isn’t the usual generic one is enough to catch someones attention for a few moments. This could be achieved with bright colors…so maybe the standard colors I listed above weren’t the right ones to consider.
  2. The target would be teenagers and young adults, specifically those using social media. They would be encouraged to take some sort of photo and share this cause to social media.
  3. I think this would make more people aware of the issue, and then spread awareness of the issue.
  4. This isn’t problem solving, but I suppose it gives the consumer the advantage of knowledge.
  5. I think this could fit in well in a movie theater environment because they are already so often changing their bags, posters, cups, standees, etc. I think there is a lot of possibility here.
  6. I want the consumer to be more aware of the issue, and to share the information and awareness with others, and I think that can be accomplished with this packaging.

Read & Respond 10/18/17

I have never personally had or known anyone that has struggled with opioid abuse. While I think I realized the extent of this issue, I didn’t realize the preventative measures being taken such as Naloxone kits and training. I would love to see or be aware of more measures like this. While its nice to know these things are in place, I am sure that this country needs much, much more of it.

I feel like when I was little I was really influenced by food related items, like if there were ever characters related to my Kids Cuisine or Lunchables I thought that was pretty cool. Obviously anything advertised on Nickelodeon was a must have. Those ads pretty much just yelled at you so I’m not sure what was so compelling about them. I’m not sure what influenced me once I got a bit older…probably just what I saw people at school with or what I saw on mannequins in stores.

Products seen daily by families include laundry detergent, paper towels, tissues, staples like milk, eggs, bread, toothpaste, dish soap, maybe like public restroom paper towels…The gas pump, cell phones….

Student Starpack Awards

Expansion Development Boards 12/11/17

I still don’t have a photo board, because I still haven’t put the finishing touches on my tins…but I think these boards are coming along and look a lot cleaner and more organized than they did before. I like the way the footer looks and the corner accents much more than the full border.

Expansion Development Boards 12/6/17

What I heard: I should remove the border and make it into more of a footer where I will put the title of the brief, the name of the competition, etc. I need to thoroughly reorganize and rethink what information needs to go on these as well as where it needs to go. I need to make sure I answer the questions/challenges posed by the brief.

What I think: I love the idea of the footer, as I wanted to do something post related for these boards but I think the border is a little distracting.

What I am going to do: I’m going to really reorganize and I may just start fresh so I can make sure things are going where they need to go.

I would like to expand this project by creating three development boards. I would also like to get my craft together and actually submit this project to the Student Starpack Awards. I am still interested in expanding it by creating a tea bag envelope and tag.

Student Starpack Awards Tea Tin Set

I began this project with a postage theme in mind, and once I decided to use a valuable stamp for the brand, the rest came easily. I used postage materials and teas from Nordic countries. Each tin color is the color of the post boxes in the country that the tea is from. This project dealt very heavily with special processes, as I wanted to take advantage as much as a good of the tin surface I had to work with.

The aspects of this project that I am happy with include the concept and where its headed. I am also happy with the image in my head of what these tins can look like once I get the craft down.

Credits:

Fall 2017, Edinboro University

Art Direction: Brigette Davitt

Designer: Erin Long

Dimensions: 3 x 3 x 4.25

Typefaces: Gill Sans

Final Designs 11/20/17

What I heard: The labels on the front should be more post styled. They should be translucent and have some sort of serrated or scalloped edge. I should incorporate the herbal tea stamp on the on the front label as a silver foil. I should transfer the text to the tin, and not just apply the label. I definitely need to find a new orange paint that is not Cheeto dust. I also need to clean up the “POST”.

What I think: I think that I would really like these if there weren’t so many craft issues, so I’m looking forward to getting those resolved. I think it will be a lot of trial and error but the end results will be worth it.

What I am going to do: I’m going to order three new tins so I can beat these ones up until I’ve perfected the processes. I basically am going to try and try again until I get the processes down. I am going to find a new orange paint. I am going to try some full color stamps.

Read & Respond 11/13/17

I thought this article was pretty interesting from a student’s perspective. I thought there were a lot of valid points. I liked what the original poster said about mockups being a necessary evil. One thing I like about our design program is the care we take to actually create the projects we make with real materials, to scale, and working with them that way. I have heard about other programs that just work with mockups through projects. I think that after we put in all this work, it is nice to be able to just photograph the real thing and not worry about a mockup. A large portion of the time, our projects don’t fit in mockups anyways. I know I have had times where I have had to fudge things in a mockup psd to try to fit it to my project, and it never ends up looking just right.

That being said, I think mockups can be extremely advantageous at times. Sometimes mockups have given me the opportunity to see my work in ways that are simply unachievable to do on my own. I guess I am thinking specifically about any product that would be put in a public space. I designed a very large movie poster once, and putting it in a mockup gave me a much better idea of how it was working to scale in a space.

So, as for portfolios, I think that if it is possible to showcase your work without mockups that is the ideal option. I definitely can see times, however, where mocking up is the best option. This could be if creating the product yourself is not feasible, or if you can’t get it from your client, if its for a failed startup, etc.

Second Finish Critique 11/13/17

What I heard: I should spray paint them and allow the tin color to come through. The bulk of the type (on the wrapped label should be white) I should customize the post marks and stamps. I need a different typeface for the types of tea.

What I think: I think these are all good suggestions, I am just a little worried because it is going to involve a lot of processes that I have never done before.

What I am going to do: I am going to Cricut cut some vinyl and apply it before I spray paint so the tin will come through where it says “post” on the front. I will use the laminator to get white text. I am going to try my best to customize the stamps, but I’m not sure if I can do that convincingly. I am going to use a font of my choosing for the type of tea and try to make it looked stamped in Photoshop.

First Finish Critique 11/6/17

What I heard: I should try a spray paint sample, but probably ditch it, and maybe brush on some accents. I should wrap the front label around the top to simulate a mail slot. I should overlap the stamp labels with the back wrap labels for texture and layers. The size of the long labels needs like cut in half. I can forget the deboss.

What I think: I still feel like spray painting a flood of color is a good idea, but I also like the thought of painting some accents on. I’m worried that wrapping a large label over the lid would cause a lot of rippy messy bits. I like the stamp overlapped with the big label. I’m a little worried about fitting the information on a label half the size of the big one.

What I am going to do: I will try some spray paint, and will probably also try brushing an accent color on. I am going to incorporate more stamps and probably post marks with the label. I am going to play with the size of the big label.

First Finish 11/5/17

Critique 10/30/17

What I heard: I should build my brand around my tea set and make it feel more high end. I should try the post box idea again, and try to use type to make it feel less flat. I should also go less literal and eliminate some of the detail from the boxes. I should bring in some of the stamps and postmark ideas from the Penny Teas labels. I need to be thinking about it more as a tin than a label.

What I think: I am still hesitant to go back to the boxes, but I definitely will try to go in that direction. I like the idea of using type in the place of some of the elements. I think bringing in the stamps and such will make me happier with it.

What I am going to do: I am going to start again, and try to think about how I can bring these two ideas together. I will think about how I can “show off” the tin.

Initial Design Explorations

These need a lot of work, but I feel much better about them than I did the yellow ones.

These are the tins I plan to use.

Stamp Research

Label Trial/Fail #1

These are what I have been working on. The farther I go the less happy I am. I don’t want to totally scrap this idea, but I think I’ll get a fresh start in atotally different direction (still postage related, but less literally mailbox). Hopefully I can get something together, bring them both into crit and get some good feedback.

Squarish Post Box Research

Idea Boards

Research Board

Initial Research

The first brief I am considering is Brief C: Packaging to Help Reduce Consumer Food Waste. I think a good way to begin to tackle this would be to think about products that seem to have excessive and unnecessary wrappers or packaging. I think that thinking about packaging features that extend shelf life could also be interesting. I read about environmentally friendly packaging that was biodegradable packaging. I was very surprised to find the dry goods could be packaged in beeswax packaging, which is 100% biodegradable. What really intrigued me, however, was the idea of dissolvable packaging. This type is typically a film, and can safely dissolve in water. I think eliminating either a box or bag for products that have both (like cereal or graham crackers) in favor of a biodegradable material would be good for this project.

I am also considering Brief F: Luxury Family Range of Cans for Tea and Coffees. I’m not sure if I would do coffee or tea, but I like the idea of doing something really bold. I think this would be fun for coffee (especially like a bold collection), but I also think it could be a neat challenge for tea since a lot of tea packaging relies on the dainty or quaint aspect. I know that everytime I am in the coffee or tea aisle, Cafe Bustelo practically jumps off the shelf at me because it is so bold, and I love it. I would also love to think about reusability, as the brief mentions. In my research I came across someone that has reused nice tea tins as little pots for their succulents. I would love to design something that someone would like to hang on to. I may be able to draw something from the history of tea tins: Tea was extremely expensive and so the mistress of the house would literally lock it up ( I definitely think this factoid could be played with in the design). The tins became decorative because they needed to fit in with all the fine things in the drawing room when the mistress of the house would prepare tea for guests.

I think I am going to go with the tea or coffee tins. I am not sure which beverage I will go with. I think the bolder design will work better with coffee, but I am really intrigued by the history of tea tins. Maybe boldly historical tea tins would be a fun and challenging idea?

Jolly Pumpkin Brewery

Read & Respond 11/6/17

  1. I believe this was actually photographed, given the surrounding environment and the contents of the jar.
  2. I think the way the type/information is organized and sort of sectioned off is what initially caught my eye.
  3. I think the design is pretty strong, but I definitely think that the image enhances it.
  4. I think attempting to surround the piece by elements relating to the piece is a good idea.
  1. I would say that this is a mock up, but the folding on the sides has me unsure. Its just so clean its hard to believe that it could be a photograph.
  2. I think the clean front contrasted with the bold sides is what initially caught my eye.
  3. I think this design is pretty great and could hold its own even if the image was a little less quality.
  4. I like that they showed the front and sides of the box in the same shot using two boxes. I tried something kind of like this for my Jolly Pumpkin bottles.
  1. I think that this is a photograph. There appears to be type on the inside of label, which could be done in a mockup, but its such a unique form shape paired with an odd label that I’m going with photo.
  2. I think the bright colors initially caught my eye.
  3. I think the image is stronger than the design. I think this label/wrap thing is a strange choice for this form.
  4. Hmm, maybe up the saturation or something to show off the color…I mean, you don’t want to lie about what they actually look like.
  1. I think this is a photograph, simply because I doubt if a mockup like this exists.
  2. I think the bold colors caught me eye, and then the strange form immediately after.
  3. I think this is a pretty strong design, but is also a decent photo.
  4. I think its worth noting that they captured almost three entire faces of their box in one shot. This is something I have trouble doing well for some reason…
  1. I think this is a photo. Again, not sure if a mock up would exist for something like this with a die cut.
  2. The contrast of the white boxes against the black background was the first thing to catch my eye.
  3. I love these designs. This is a good photo, but I think these designs are simple and great.
  4. I photographed my We Stand Together box (which was primarily white) on a white background, and using a colored or black background probably would have worked much better.

Photos 11/5/17

Final 10/16/17

Jolly Pumpkin Berry Smashed Collection

I chose to create a set of beers that included fruit purees. When looking over this company’s brand and past labels, I saw a lot of strange and funky things going on. I wanted to stay in this vein buy apply my own twist. I decided to give the berries strange faces, as if they were drunk, and I thought about how they might look to a person that had had a few of these beers. I thought about the typography in the same way.

For the logo redesign I tried to keep as many elements as I could from what Jolly Pumpkin had used in the past, but I wanted to create something that would be easily applicable to a variety of items. I went over it by hand to give it a gritty feel.

Credits:

Fall 2017, Edinboro University

Art Direction: Brigette Davitt

Designer: Erin Long

Dimensions: 7.5 inches tall, 2.25 inches wide

Typefaces: Adobe Caslon Pro

What I heard: I should adjust the tear on the neck label so it lines up with the edge of the curve. The regular labels still need more contrast. I should adjust the spacing of “Na Ka Oi”. I should get a strawberry that is very different from the other.

What I think: I agree with the placement of the tear on the neck label. I definitely think the labels need more contrast still (I upped the contrast in Photoshop and switched papers). Na Ka Oi didn’t bother me until it was pointed out, so that definitely needs fixed. The strawberry doesn’t really bother me, especially since the Innovator Man one is so feminine.

What I am going to do: I will adjust the tear image on the neck label so it lines up with the edge of the label’s curve. I will go back into Photoshop to further adjust the contrast and maybe look at some different papers. Adjusting Na Ka Oi is an easy fix. I can also easily get a different strawberry that is more quickly recognizable as different.

Second Finish 10/11/17

What I heard (in summary): The neck labels are not cohesive with with the regular labels. They need more contrast. I should consider using colored text for hierarchy. The titles need to be legible, so I should just type those and cut the paper for Berry Smashed.

What I think: I definitely think the neck labels need a little something to make them more cohesive with the labels. They definitely need more contrast. I’m not sure about the colored type, as I am worried that will be too much. I’m sort of wanted the name to be a struggle to read, ransom style. You have to work for it, and if you’re drunk you really have to work for it. I’m worried that the “Berry Smashed” is too small to do in that style.

What I am going to do: I’m not sure what I will do about the neck labels yet…I might give them ripped edges. I am going to play with the contrast and darkness of all of my images for value and legibility sake. I will try out the colored type. I will probably keep the titles and the “Berry Smashed” as is.

First Finish 10/9/17

Read and Respond 10/3/17

This one has the cut paper type of thing that I am going with. I like the overlapping, and I’m not sure if I could do some more of that or not.
I love what they did with the type here. They definitely pulled off the different typefaces, sizes, and orientations. This is something that I hope will be working on my bottles.
The weird factor seen is this label is something that I am trying to accomplish, but maybe pushing it a little bit more…

Critique 10/2/17

What I heard: The bulk of the copy is creeping in and invading the imagery on the front. I should make the neck label crop around the logo and have the “Berry Smashed” title go underneath the label. I should consider using the berry paper I tried on the neck label. I should try a ripped edge to separate the copy from the imagery.

What I think: I definitely agree the copy is suffocating the imagery. I think the rearranging the elements on the neck label will be very helpful. I believe using the berry paper will be too much with the ransom type and illustration style I have on the main labels. I love the idea of using a ripped paper edge for separations sake.

What I am going to do: I may make the label a smidge bigger. I may also try turning the type sideways. I want to rearrange the neck label, as I think it will look more cohesive and read better. I can try the berry paper, but I don’t think I will like it. We shall see. I definitely want to try the ripped paper edge because I think that will work really well. I think that will solve problems.

Riane: Ransom-eque type working with image. Have titles overlap with the fruit shape. Make hops in the logo berries? Cut out face of logo and of fruit are working well together. Basic “color” scheme of gray and black is working with the different colored letters. Consider printing on gray paper. Ransom note “Berry Smashed”. Make logo and name of set work together in a flouy fashion. Make berries bigger, condense type so that there is a clearer hierarchy. Visual clearly establish what they are about to drink. Bottle shape fits with concept and content well. Play with hierarchy on copy; pick up and highlight fun phrases. Bottom line: condense copy and blow up imagery

Kayla:

  1. Typography: Definitely getting the ransom feeling from the type used for the beer name. It works well though with the terrifying berry faces you have. Maybe have the type somehow connect more with the image. Not sure how. Sorry for suggesting something I don’t know how to do.
  2. Company: I like the label on the neck but it feels weird. The type next to the logo just isn’t working well. They clash in a way. It bothers me how separate they feel.
  3. Color: I like how the color focus is in the image and beer name. Gives real emphasis on the imagery.
  4. Grid: There are definitely alignments. Some things are a little too close to the edges though.
  5. Visuals: Love the creepy images that will give me nightmares, but they feel too separate.
  6. Label: I think the label fits well onto the bottle. Maybe the neck label could use something shape-wise. It might just be the logo’s straight bottom clashing with the curved label.
  7. Design: yes. sorry.
  8. Content: I think hierarchy needs worked on in the label. The name is definitely what I read first but everything else feels the same.

Full Label Set 9/30/17

Group Critique 9/25/17

What I heard: This is the label I will be working with from here on out. I should use the logo as a secondary label so that I can make it larger, as some of the information is lost. Additionally, I can add “Berry Smashed” to the second label to clarify hierarchy. The die cut should be a half circle, or be eliminated all together. I need to make all the grays in the photos the same. I should cut both the type (like out of a magazine) and the face pieces. I should go back into my logo and do the whole thing by hand.

What I think: I agree with all of this critique. It was very helpful. I had thought about the secondary logo but wasn’t sure what I would put on it, so this is perfect. If I can put “Berry Smashed” on there I can keep the name of the beer and the name of the set from arguing. The die cut will look much more cohesive as a half circle. I should have done the entire logo by hand form the beginning, and not sure why I didn’t…

What I am going to do: I am going to move the logo to another label to go around the neck of the bottle. I will move “Berry Smashed” up there. I will eliminate the die cut, as it doesn’t really serve a function. I will cut photos and type. I will revisit the logo and do it all by hand. This way it will all have a hand done feel.d

Read and Respond 9/25/17

  1. I would say that one of the biggest issues is that they didn’t stick with one logo. So refreshing is an improvement simply because we are pinning down one logo. I also feel the by updating the typography the logo may look a little cleaner, but not too clean.
  2. Yes.
  3. I kept the black, as well as the somewhat spooky nature. I also kept the half circle that was used for some of them. In the next revision I may need to trace over the half circle lines to make them less neat.
  4. I think my logo refresh works better with some of my label trials than others, so I may need to edit my labels to work better with the logos. I think the brand could be more prominent in my designs. I chose the typeface (Caslon) because I felt that its classic look went with the wrought iron vibe I was going for in my logo. I definitely need to work on hierarchy. I’m not sure if the name of the beer or the name of the pack should be more prominent. All of my photos, textures, and illustrations are directly related to berries. So far I am primarily relying on black to tie each label together. I think this may reinforce the brand more so than the concept. Right now I just have one label but I may think about a secondary one going forward. My labels do fit the bottle, and I think they are about the right size for the given content. Label shape does not really relate other than the die cut one, where I cut out around the fruit. Truth be told, I hadn’t thought about paper stock. I might consider using a buff paper. I think my bottle is good. Short and tubby like a pumpkin.

Label Trials 9/24/17

Final Logo 9/23/17

Label Sketches 9/23/17

Jolly Pumpkin Critique 9/18/17

What I heard: The linear elements of my logo refresh need more bulk so they are not completely lost with the heaviness of the pumpkin. Brigette suggested I think about wrought iron for this. For the labels, it was suggested that I use berries to get interesting patterns and textures on paper. A rough, collage like face was suggested for the labels (think Hannah Höch). I could use white crayon/ wax to reverse information out from the fruit juice…

What I think: I love the wrought iron idea and think that will really help. I also like the idea of using actual berries. I’m not sure about the white crayon. I also like the collage idea, and I am worried that the collage, pattern, logo style, and white crayon look might be too much.

What I am going to do: I will definitely try the wrought iron idea. I am also looking forward to trying out the berry juice idea. I think I will buy frozen mixed berries because they might have more juice to work with and also because I am broke. I want to experiment with the collaged faces, Hannah Höch style. I want to make low quality copies on bond paper and play with those. I should probably try the white crayon, but we shall see…

Logo Refresh Thumbnails

Open and Play

Final 10/18/17

Froot Loops The Game

This packaging turns a typical cereal box into a game when opened up. I challenged myself to keep this box both sustainable and practical while still appealing to children. I did so with bright colors and a bold typeface. I used a classic version of Toucan Sam that I felt fit best with my colors and typeface. I also used him as an element to tie the outside of the box to the game on the inside which has a rainforest theme. Children can use the cereal in the box as pieces to play the game.

Credits:

Fall 2017, Edinboro University

Art Direction: Brigette Davitt

Designer: Erin Long

Dimensions: 7.75" x 2.25" x 10"

Typefaces: Wigwag, Futura Condensed

What I heard: I should get rid of the orange type on the outside, as it is a readability issue. I need to have better alignments where elements touch the edges. I should make the white inside the same blue as the outside of the box, especially the die.

What I think: I sort of liked the orange type, so thats a bit of a bummer. I’m not sure if the alignment issue is one with craft or something in my design so I will have to think about that one. I liked the inside better as blue so I am more than happy to do that.

What I am going to do: I might try to make all the orange type black, but then somehow accent it with orange. I will have to really look at my box to see if the alignment issue was with craft or something that needs changed in my file. I will definitely change the inside back to blue.

Second Finish 10/11/17

What I heard (in summary): My game board image is pixelated. I should make the game board on the outside flow the whole way around the box. I need to make the arrows on the board more prominent. I should consider adding blacks to the game board. I need to add facts to the game board. I need text at the end or “finish line” of the game board. I should have some sort of big text or a title on the inside.

What I think: I think making the game board flow around the box will be a challenge, but if I can pull it off it will look good. The arrows are a bit lost. I think adding black to the board might make the text more cohesive. I had facts before that I liked so I am happy to add those back in. It will make it look more cereal-y. I think text at the end is important. I like the idea of big text, but I’m not sure if it needs a title.

What I am going to do: I will try to make the game board flow around. I might need to lighten the arrows, but I am not sure. I will try out adding the black. I will squeeze some facts in there. And I will fiddle with some big text.

Critique 10/4/17

What I heard: The outside is a bit bland at the moment so I should consider working with two colors. All the of the items one the outside are too similar in scale. Additionally there is not enough (as in no) negative space. I should go back to a vertical format because the horizontal box is not viable on a grocery store shelf. I should incorporate more gigantic loops around the outside of the box. The inside should stick to white/color on the tabs, and incorporate the texture in the illustrations. I should also add bridges and more elements to make the game more interesting. I should bring back the facts.

What I think: I think adding a second color to the outside will create a lot of opportunities visually and will be more appealing and attractive to the kiddos. I think the scale issue is the answer to the question I couldn’t quite pin down. I think negative space will look better, but I also know a lot of the preexisting boxes that I looked at didn’t have a lot of negative space, or maybe just around the outside like a frame. I am disappointed about the vertical format, but I think that I will work better that way. I think that by using more big loops and wrapping the board pattern around the outside of the box each of the sides will appear more cohesive. I am hesitant to go back to the white tabs because they looked so stark in comparison to everything else. I think putting texture in the illustration is an interesting idea. I think making the game more interesting is a good idea but I don’t want to go too crazy so that younger kids will no longer be able to play. I liked the facts in the first place but I am worried the board will get cramped with their inclusion.

What I am going to do: I am going to try orange as a second color on the outside to further connect the inside to the outside. I am going to play with scale, and incorporate more negative space as a result. I am going to go back to the vertical format, because this is something I would like to be able to realistically visualize on a grocery store shelf. I am going to try to change up the tabs and incorporating texture in the illustrations. I am going to incorporate a few bridge-like features and “go back” or “jump ahead” features. If I include the facts, I may put them on wooden planks or leaves…something rainforesty….

Read and Respond 10/4/17

The strengths of my current packaging and assembly methods are that it is glue free, and I’m pretty sure it would pass FDA standards, as in it could actually be used on a shelf. Thats about it. The material I used for the middle (illustration board) is far too thick, and I will be checking into chipboard. Once I try wrapping individual squares I think I will be much happier with it. None of the tutorials were an exact fit for the type of box I’m working with, but Brigette’s how-to in class helped a lot. I think this method will make a box that is just sturdy enough but still has the give of a real cereal box.

Second Mockup 10/4/17

Critique 9/27/17

What I heard: The facts on my game board are not reading as facts. I am going to reverse out the die so that it is more cohesive. I should incorporate more Froot Loop illustrations. I was encouraged to work with the game board based design on the outside. I should simulate colored cardboard on the outside. The game board needs less value, sort of? I should ditch the darker greens and go with the brighter greens. I should expand the game board to the tabs of the box to give myself more room to work with.

What I think: I agree with the facts not reading as facts. Reversing out the die will make it more cohesive. I think incorporating more Froot Loops is a good idea because that…is the cereal. The game board based design seems like the best bet. I would love the simulate colored cardboard, but I’m not 100% sure if I can get away with it. I used the darker colors in the game board to simulate depth, so I’m not sure about getting rid of those. I think taking advantage of the space on the tabs will really enhance the inside.

What I am going to do: I might move the facts to the outside back of the box so I have more room for the actual game spaces on the inside. I definitely will try to incorporate more Froot Loop illustrations, because I think that is important. I am going to work on the game board design because it definitely needs some TLC. I for sure want to play with the colored cardboard and see what I can do with that. I will mess with the colors on the game board, but I’m not sure if I will want to give up the darker colors. I will be taking advantage of the tabs for the game board.

Trials & Mock Up

Critique 9/20/17

What I heard: I should incorporate the history of the brand into the packaging. I am able to turn the box on its side so it is more like a game board box and less like a traditional cereal box, so thats groovy. It was suggested that I make illustrations for other rainforest critters based on an older version of Toucan Sam. I could have the box open like a book. I could use both of the skinny side strips of the box to create a die. This would create a rather large dies.

What I think: I would love to incorporate the history because I definitely like the older packaging more so than what they currently have going on. I’m really glad I can turn the box on its side, as I think that is going to make a big difference for me/ in my thought process. I was hoping to make some illustrations for this project, and I really like the style of the older Toucan Sams, but I am not the best draftsman/illustrator…I’m not sure about the box opening like a book, though I do like the idea of having it perforated the entire way around so it sort of falls open. Does this present a craft issue? I also love the idea of an overly large die.

What I am going to do: I will allow the history of the brand to influence my box design for sure. I am definitely going to try some illustrations, and I think this will be more playing around with shapes in Illustrator than it will be drawing. I will play with the idea of the box being perforated and falling open, I’m just not sure if it is possible to craft…we shall see…and hope. I’m excited about the huge die. It is fairly unnecessary and I love it.

Thumbnails, Content, Mockup 9/20/17

Read & Respond 9/18/17

  1. My product needs to communicate fun, interactiveness (?), and engaging. I am keeping the outside of my box simple by using just plain cardboard (keeping the color to the inside) and I’ll have to use bold graphics to draw kiddos in.
  2. While most children’s cereal boxes have all the fun on the outside, mine will be contained on the inside until after purchase, like a surprise.
  3. I think the idea of hiding elements is the whole idea of my project…all the fun is inside.
  4. The game inside might be initially exciting for kids, but an idea that will get old to them over time. So maybe this is one time thing offered by the cereal brand.
  5. There is a game inside for the kiddos to play while they are eating breakfast, or maybe while mom or dad is doing the dishes?
  6. I am trying to use tabs to keep my box together to minimize glue. Maybe by using the box as a game board it will be kept, and end up being one less cereal box in the trash.
  7. I am using Froot Loops. So I am going to go off the concept of toucan Sam, and I want to give the game a rainforest theme. This way I am expanding on something that the consumers already know.
  8. I suppose using the plain cardboard outside is going beyond the brand? That is not something that they typically do. (I’m not sure that I totally understand this one.)
  9. I was thinking about allowing some kind of tab from the inside to fold over to the outside, sort of like a sneak peak of the color inside.

Open and Play Idea Boards

What I heard: I should considering doing full color on the inside and plain cardboard outside. The type of cereal I choose should inform what type of game it is. The die should fold from the cardboard.

What I think: I had thought about doing plain cardboard on the outside, but I was worried it wouldn’t draw kids to it. I would like to take on the challenge, thought. I will have to use bold graphics. I was thinking about using Froot Loops since they are multicolored and larger, making it easier for small kids to pick up. Maybe my game will have something to do with exotic birds or the rainforest. I think the die from the cardboard is a good idea.

What I am going to do: I definitely want to tackle making the outside of the box plain cardboard while the inside is colorful. I think that sounds like an awesome challenge. I might make a Candy Land -esque game that is rainforest themed. The cardboard dice is definitely a good idea, but I am going to continue to try to think of other options. I would like to do something different, but the die is a good backup plan.

8/11/17

Read & Respond

  1. I think that I take fairly decent photos, and I’m pretty good at editing out imperfections. However, I need to be more thoughtful about lighting. I think I could make my shots a lot more interesting if I was more careful about background. I need to think about putting my work in a setting or a colored background. It doesn’t always have to be plain white.
  2. I like the suggestions about backgrounds and “settings”. I also liked reading about making a studio lighting type box at home, because I think I actually have the materials to do that…
  3. I think using additional props is a great idea, as long as they don’t become too busy and distracting. Obviously they should not detract from the piece. As far as being original, I think it is important to think about what the project is really about, or the design elements of the piece. It is easy to get into the rut of trends, but they are not always complimentary to your work. As the second article stated, these will quickly become worn out and boring.

Read & Respond:

The first time I saw the bottles for Neuro drinks I thought that really stood out.

The bottles unique shape are unlike most others in the beverage industry. They are fairly simple, and keep the top half of the bottle clean with nutrition facts on the bottom half.

Additionally, the bottle shape and typeface allow you to quickly recognize the product, but someone familiar with the brand will be able to quickly distinguish between the flavors by the colors.

I also like Puma’s Clever Little bag packaging. I definitely think this product stands out when stacked against the typically drab cardboard boxes of competitors. The red bag grabs your attention. As for the five-year-old test, I definitely think this is a package that a child could find in the store. Not many shoes come in bags, and not only is it a bag, but a reusable one that you can easily take your shoes to the gym in.

Another brand that utilizes the good qualities of packaging is Butter! Better! Using the lid to double as a lid was a great way to make butter more portable, as squeeze packets don’t really work with butter the way they do with ketchup or mayonnaise. While this is a fairly new idea (I believe), it is also pretty simple. Where has this been for like 30 years? Maybe it sounds dumb, but the packaging really makes this product memorable. I think people are going to remember the time they used a butter pack that included the knife for spreading. Very exciting stuff.

We Stand Together Packaging

8/6/17 — Third Class

Final #WeStandTogether Mock Ups

Box
Sticker

Second We Stand Together Packaging Critique:

This is what I heard: The gradient is okay. I might consider following the icon and putting my type on a diagonal. The icon should be smaller so the whole thing and the lines within have more space/room to breathe. I need “Together we are whole” instead of “Together we’re whole”. I also need to regulate type placement, as in right align everything. Not have some right aligned some centered…

This is what I think: I’m glad the gradient is okay. I felt like I was taking a risk with that one. I’m not sold on diagonal typography…I may be misremembering that critique though? I think the icon could stand to be a bit smaller, but not too much. I think it would look nice with some more room though. I definitely feel that “Together we are whole” sounds/looks/reads better than we’re, so I’m not sure what I was thinking in the first place with that one. I’m not sure if having the type on top of my box centered while the rest is right aligned bothers me…But maybe it is a type crime? I think it doesn’t bother me because they are on different planes.

This is what I am going to do: I will definitely try the diagonal type, thought I am not sure if I am going to stick with it. I will make the icon smaller, and use it for my sticker. The negative space will look cool on a sticker. I will most definitely change we’re to we are. And I will try to eliminate the centered type…but no guarantees.

September 6, 2017 — Final Critique

August 30, 2017 — First Critique

Box trials:

I think I will go with the white option, as I feel like it gives me the most to work with. Additionally, it’s different than the colors I usually work with.

This is what I heard:

Good colors — calming, Unclear prism/icon,Gradient background?, Lacks contrast, Too much negative space, Everything is centered, Suggestion: “Together we’re whole.”

This is what I think:

I hadn’t thought of or meant for the colors to be calming, but I like that they are. I am hoping the ‘slogan’ of sorts will provide clarity for the icon. I definitely agree that it lacks contrast and that there is too much negative space. I knew everything was centered as I was making these, but I didn’t change them…not sure why.

This is what I’m going to do:

I am going to add some colored panels, though I think I would like to leave some white. I might incorporate a gradient, but I am not sure. I think I will fix the centering by first adjusting the icon and then go from there. I would like to loosen up the icon so that all of the lines are not touching.

Square Trials

August 28, 2017 — First Class

Initial “sketches”

I am thinking about using solidarity for my theme. I’m seeing a lot of red, which makes sense, but I’m thinking about maybe purple, teal, green…

Maybe something linear with points that would show a connectedness. I think I want it to appear strong and unbreakable. The points could be different sizes, shapes, colors, etc to show that solidarity can exist amongst different people.

Maybe black as the primary color with the colors mentioned above as secondary for the points…white lines…

MAYBE just a mish mash of overlapping shapes of varying shapes and sizes. I still like those colors though. Or maybe yellow, blue, red, and green. Or is that #basic

TO THE TOP

--

--