Kayla Cratty: Process Documentation

Packaging Design, Fall 2017

kayla cratty
Packaging Design
47 min readAug 28, 2017

--

Table of Contents:

Project 1: We Stand Together

Project 2: Open and Play

Project 3: Jolly Pumpkin

Project 4: Starpack

Project 5: Opioid Awareness

Behance

FINALS:

I’ll move these statements to their proper place later, but it’ll be easier to find here first:

Jolly Pumpkin: I’d lack to create a carrier, but as far as two more labels, I feel like this will be difficult considering the imagery the four labels make. I am hoping to replace the two labels instead with possibly a set of four coasters or somehow get the labels onto glasses? I just think two more bottles wouldn’t necessarily fit into my design.

Starpack: I will create the three required development boards for this competition.

Opioid Awareness

12/10/17: I forgot to post the revisions:

11/27/17: Class Critique: What I heard: The purple icons in the background are way too dark. Maybe a way to incorporate the red green blue on the label is by having a patterned border of it at the top and bottom. What I think: I like the border idea. And as far as the icons go, I noticed that they were too dark right away, so I completely agree. What I am going to do: I’ll definitely fix the icons, and as far as the border, I will at least try it. I hope it works.

3 things working: Icons: draw the eye, simple yet effective, Typeface: really feels on brand, bubbly, family oriented, Colors: stand out on shelves, different from typical peanut butter jars. Not working: Background is still questionable (changed it to pattern, may have been on too low of opacity)

Rationale:

Opioid use and addiction has become an increasingly dangerous epidemic sweeping our nation. This set of Jif peanut butter jars contain information on the labels to help increase awareness. Each jar is “spreading” a message, just like one would spread their peanut butter. The label is purple, the color used for opioid awareness, which allows it to stand out on the shelves. Peanut butter is often shelved low on the shelves, attracting the eyes of children. These jars will hopefully catch an eye and spread awareness to families.

Credits:
Spring 2017, Edinboro University
Art Direction: Brigette Davitt
Design/Illustration: Kayla Cratty
Dimensions: 3.25" x 3”(overall)
Typefaces:
Avenir Next, Kefa, Mobley Sans

11/20/17: Class Critique: What I heard: Not sure about the red, blue, green on top; the one paragraph is off; shit things over; epson print too soft, maybe you can find a better paper that will get the print quality you want. What I think: I think valid points were made. What I am going to do: I’ll keep working on the labels, make alterations.

11/15/17: Class Critique: What I heard: Class: BRAND:Top of creamy: most on brand, “choosy moms don’t choose opioids” Place icon in the circle/yellow shape w/ purple icon, light blue to red? Incorporate the red, blue, and green elsewhere. CONCEPT: Where symbols? No ribbon/circle. Lid: offset type, “hate background!(except purple) try texture” LAYOUT: bubble lid lit, bubble font great, maybe contrast with thinner for “spread”, give each a different paragraph, “Addiction shatters lives” maybe thinner font, watch rags gf CRAFT: scale good, maybe add a 1/4 inch, text hard to read with pill background, make all backgrounds same (I made them different to see which worked), cutting craft, velvety matte paper to play with texture of pb AESTHETIC: texture is good, have different opioid for each, purple nice, but blue is close to purple, not grabbing attention to turn Brigette: Missing icons, blue type on purple lid is best, but “the” should be all caps too, use lighter blue, same hue as stripe in logo, OR, do type on lid in three stripes, or type on lid in white with 3 colors stripes behind, “addiction shatters lives” curved at top, “shatterproof.org” curves at bottom, use circular form. What I think: Some of the feedback contradicted each other, so not entirely sure what to do with that. I’ll definitely focus on the “Brigette” feedback, I’m fine with the feedback, I’m still at a loss, but I think I may be going in the right direction, I’ll get there eventually. What I am going to do: I’m going to try and do all the feedback given, since some are just complete opposite opinions, I’ll try both. I’ll definitely change up the opioid info for each type of pb. I’ll also just do changes in general. We’ll see where it goes.

Read and Respond: I think from the articles and based on the critique from the other day, I should put focus into angles. But I do like the mention of “the same angle becomes repetitive and boring.” So I think I need to find different angles, but better one. Also the one article mentions thinking about the theme; I think it would be beneficial to at least try an environment that is theme fitting and also not a mock. Spice it up.

11/15/17: I still am riding the struggle bus. But I don’t know, these are still basically trials. The circle is for a possible sticker for the lid? I don’t know. I’m just trying to figure out things. But once again, I am sorry.

11/8/17: Class Critique: What I heard: So one thing I wanted to know was how much I could derive away from the original label, which is more than I thought, so yay. Use purple and silver for opioid awareness. The icons are okay, but they don’t necessarily say drugs. What I think: I think I am happier now that I can basically do my own thing. I like the feedback though. What I am going to do: I honestly was not liking what I had, so getting the answer that I don’t have to use the red, green, and blue is good. So this will be scratched and started anew.

I tried the one layout using my other messages and types of PB, they rough:

11/1/17: I am going to go with the Jif Peanut butter approach. This way, I am targeting families and getting the message further. The three messages I will use are “spread awareness/ hope/ love”. For the trials, I tried to keep the typical Jif label layout and incorporate facts onto it. Really I have no idea what I am doing. I’m sorry.

10/25/17:

Critique: What I heard: Windex and Jif are good ideas, Jif is something different would expect. Make sure to have three message (spread awareness/hope/love) For peanut butters: creamy, crunchy, extra crunchy. Think about connecting product with message. Demographic of Jif: FAMILIES What I think: I think I will do the peanut butter, it has a wider audience with families; I like the different messages I can use with “spread” as well. What I am going to do: I am going to focus on trying to make the brand mesh well with the message. I think the slogan works, but now I want to focus on visuals.

Boards:

10/23/17:

Read and Respond:

  1. attention: Soaps/Hand soap: Unlike other cleaning items, soaps usually are always out near the sink. With pumped soaps, the packaging is its container so the message would remain there, every time you wash your hands. Windex/Mr. Clean: The packages for both of these are usually always the same, Windex is blue. If it were to have some variation in color, it should grab attention. Peanut Butter: Most peanut butter brands are reds, blues, and greens. I think like with the Windex, if there is one that differs, like how Reese’s PB label is orange, it stands out.
  2. target: Soaps/Hand soap: This could be directed at most ages, children, teens, adults. Windex/Mr. Clean: This would be more aimed at parents/adults, sometimes teens. Peanut Butter: When I go to the store, usually peanut butter is low on the shelves, I think the main target would be to get children’s attention, who would in turn show the parents so they can get the PB.
  3. concept: Soaps/Hand soap: Clean away grim, drugs=dirty hands Windex/Mr. Clean: Windex: “give life a sparkle” make mirrors clear, un-fog, so clear vision, don’t use/abuse, you will see clearly Peanut Butter: PB is sort of sticky, doing drugs is a sticky situation, let peanut butter be sticky, also spreads on bread, spreading awareness
  4. benefit: Soaps/Hand soap: soaps are located virtually everywhere, the benefit would be info reaches numerous people Windex/Mr. Clean: anytime someone cleans, this would be in their hands, so a info would be there Peanut Butter: like I stated previously, PB is located low on shelves, I think that is the main benefit that it would attract kids’ attentions
  5. brand support: Soaps/Hand soap: Typically soaps are photographic and elegant, it would be interesting to combine awareness with Windex/Mr. Clean: Theres already warning on cleaning products, so they would pair nicely Peanut Butter: like windex, peanut butter has warnings, but for allergies, I think warnings opioids would also work
  6. call to action: Soaps/Hand soap: Clean hands is a clean life Windex/Mr. Clean: I can see clearly now that the drugs are gone Peanut Butter: ‘Spread’ awareness, not drugs

10/17/17: Read and Respond:

I don’t have any real life experiences with opioids. I knew it was bad, but I didn’t know to what extent. I know I shouldn’t, but I don’t like keeping up with news, at least the bad news. I usually find out about it sooner rather than later anyways. I do think it is important that there are awareness and preventative actions being taking though. I think this project will be good for my own awareness.

When I was a kid I was usually outside. For the most part I wasn’t highly influenced by brands and products; I could’ve cared less if my clothing brand matched my friends. If a product influenced me it had to be something that required energy and movement. So I’d say the advertising that sold me was bright, fun, and energetic. I think I just wanted a happy message.

Products are/used seen daily by children/teenagers and parents: hygiene products like toothpaste, hand soap, tissues, deodorant, etc… cleaning supplies like laundry detergent, windex, wipes, etc… kitchen supplies like napkins, zip locks, foil, etc… foods like cereals, breads, pop tarts, chips, peanut butter, etc… drinks like pop, water, milk, juices, etc… toys/games like Barbie, video games, board games, hot wheels, blocks, etc…

Starpack

I will be expanding on Starpack. (stated below table of contents)

12/6/17: Class Critique: What I heard: Good start, give more though. Put research separate. Labels and proportions together. Instead of the brief, answer the questions from it. Lovely photograph, but edit out that corner of the plexiglass. What I think: I think the critique gave me a better direction to go in. I was struggling on how much and what I should place on the boards. What I am going to do: I will make the changes and add more information as well as short reasonings or explanations.

I am attempting to make the development boards.

11/27/17: Class Critique: What I heard: The handle colors need to be altered to match the labels better. What I think: I completely agree, I did paint them in a dimly lit room, so the blame is definitely on me. What I am going to do: I will repaint the lids.

3 things working: Logo: readable and simple, Theme: getting a vintage oil can feel, Colors: relate to old oil brands, yet modern, fun and bright, will catch eyes. Not working: I think maybe with the painted handles, the orange and red could be less similar.

11/20/17: Class Critique: What I heard: No quotes needed, try highlighting the word with the color. “..IN a reusable kettle” “R’oil Tea experience” Brighten up the red and orange. Maybe make the handles a the corresponding color. What I think: I agree with the comments. I like the idea of making the handle match the label color. I think that will help connect the tin itself more to the label. What I am going to do: I will make all the changes suggested above.

Rationale:

R’oil Tea is a brand based on combining two walks of life together: the “Uptown Girl” and the “Grease Monkey.” R’oil Tea offers a variety of tea flavors in a tin that resembles the vintage cans that once were found used for oil in a garage. The design is based upon vintage oil cans and modernized for this brand. This high-end tea tin is the perfect item to pour a single cup of tea, to water your plants, or to use as a rustic or shabby chic decor.

Credits:
Spring 2017, Edinboro University
Art Direction: Brigette Davitt
Design/Illustration: Kayla Cratty
Dimensions: 7" x 3 " x 9"(overall)
Typefaces:
League Gothic, Deutschlander, Sign Painter

11/19/17:

11/12/17:Class Critique: What I heard: Does the logo need the color? Continue using circle around logo, but keep type below. Thicken line weight of it. Make everything 4TEA. 24 pouches and reusable kettle. More info: ingredients, origin, date?, etc. Backgrounds consistent: Blue? Separate color is back label, wrap over lid (cut out around handle), goes onto the front. Type on back too big. WD-4Tea bottom lines, could incorporate color there in a few lines. What I think: WD-4tea was my favorite layout out of the three, I think bringing it more into the others will help immensely. I like the thought of making the back label a continuous wrap to the front. What I am going to do: I will be trying out all the suggestions to make the set more cohesive. I’m excited to see if I can make the wrap work. We’ll see…

Read and Respond: I think their are valid points made by multiple people in the thread. In my opinion, I think mocks should be used sparingly. Using your own photography will make you stand out and show that you put time ad effort not only into the design but the craft. I think it is okay, however, to use mocks when it isn’t feasible to physically make the design. Something like a large poster may have more impact when shown in an environment rather than just a white background, so using a street poster/billboard mock might be better. It honestly depends on whats being displayed. I also think your own skills in photography/editing or craft determine if you should just mock it or not.

11/11/17: Changed some things. I like the logo better, could use something? Is type okay though? First one, on the struggle bus with layout. I’m just trying to make it through this semester without a meltdown *insert that cold sweat emoji.

11/6/17: Class Critique: What I heard: Type is a little tight, kern it. Don’t stick with the three color palette, let blue be the connector. WD-40 needs to look more like WD-40. Instead of too similar grades do SAE grade (smaller motor, less caffeine?) Logo change up, combine tea cup and oil drop? More emphasis on type of tea instead of logo. What I think: I think using the SAE grade will feel less repetitive than what I have right now. I like the logo change up idea as well. What I am going to do: I am going to look at a WD-40 canister and use elements from it. I will also develop a new logo.

I tried to base each tea off a different brand of oil but retain the same color palette and elements. Ideally this would not be a a stick and peel label but actually on the tin, with the tea cup and “R’oil Tea” embossed. But you have Black tea: 10W-4Tea for those on-the-go; Green Tea: 5W-4Tea for clean living; and Chamomile: WD-4Tea for squeaky throats. Oh and my tins are not yet here, so I made this incredibly fantastic cardboard model. Its amazing. One could say… it’s qualiTEA.

Look at this marvel

10/30/17: Class Critique: What I heard: Buy your tins, this product is connecting the upper class and the lower class. Maybe third tea can be high-mileage with kerosene ( chia tea, cinnamon tea, ginger tea) What I think: I like the thought that this product is like two world colliding. I’m still on the fence with what the third tea type should be, but the feed back there is appreciated. What I am going to do: I’m going to further investigate oils and how I can connect it to tea. I’m a little lost with where to go design wise. I’m not a fan of what I had, but there was really no feedback there. I think I’ll keep looking at vintage oil cans and try to do something with that.

Tin: I did not yet buy tins, but I like this one and would appreciate feedback. I didn’t want to spend the money and then not use the tins. I based my label format off of this also. It is 7 x 3 x 9 inches:

Initial designs: I tried to follow a similar format Mobiloil used for their oil cans for the first layout. The next one I was thinking maybe imagery (that is not my photo, it is just for testing). I like the idea of using imagery, but I think that would stray from my oil can concept. The last are just a color and pattern exploration. I think the last three are more the direction I’d like to take. It definitely needs changes, but I think it combines what oil cans used with something more seen on tea packages.

10/23/17: Class Critique: What I Heard: Find tea that relates to oil in some way. What does oil do? Keeps car running: high caffeine. WD 40 fixes squeaks: sore throat/health. Figure out the last one. Make connections oil to tea. What I think: I love the idea of connecting the types of teas to functions of oil, it makes the concept much stronger. What I am going to do: Try and think of another tea/oil connection.

10/23/18: Mood Boards

10/17/17:

I am really stuck for choosing which brief to proceed with. On one hand, I have always liked bottles and the shapes and designs they’ve adapted. I actually have a collection of older bottles that I found outside and in buildings that I explored. So I have a lot of actual references there. Also I have somewhat of a direction that I think would be interesting to pursue: apothecary-like bottle, would have a victorian style cow illustration, could be called Apothedairy. Side note, I like puns. And on the other hand, if I pursued the tea cans, I was thinking about old oil cans and finding the ones that almost resemble a teapot. I thought that would be something different, rustic, and have a luxury appeal considering the uniqueness of the shape. However, I realize for both of these either I would have to find what I have in mind or make it from cardboard or foam. (I also know either way I go I would have to have at least two separate ideas for my mood boards, but those are just my initial ideas). My mother likes the tea cans idea, so for now I will go with that as my decision. Input would be great.

Initial research: For both briefs I just began looking at normal packaging and then progressed to a few particular directions.

Brief A (L) and Brief F (R)

Jolly Pumpkin

I will be expanding Jolly Pumpkin (stated below table of contents)

11/13/17: Read and Respond: What I heard: THAT MOCK THOUGH. Just don’t do that ridiculous thing again. Photo looks shot from above, makes bottle top look like its coming towards you: bad. Watch the lighting, can be edited in photoshop. What I think: I think the feedback given to me and to the rest was valuable. What I am going to do: I will attempt the photos again and keep in mind the tips given.

11/6/17: Read and Respond: Part 1

  1. I would say judging by the dynamic shapes, this was photographed.
  2. The retro design is what caught my eye initially.
  3. I would say the design is well done, I really love the illustrations
  4. I think maybe how the display is dynamic in its layout, stacking the boxes and turning them makes them more interesting.
  1. Considering how specific the bottles are with the wood tops, I think this had to be photographed.
  2. Honestly the wood is what caught my eye.
  3. I initially thought these were drinks and not shampoos, so maybe the design fails in conveying what it is; but, I like the minimal look and hand done type.
  4. Placing the object into an environment that relates to the subject allows the image to stand out.
  1. If someone found this as a mock, they dug deep. This is photographed.
  2. The pizza is what caught my eye, because pizza.
  3. I love this concept, I think it is clever and it makes the terrible situation of killing a mouse cute.
  4. Like the previous photo, environment helps. This one give two views that I think help to show what this is. So don’t be afraid to show more parts/angles.
  1. I feel like its a mock up, but who can really say.
  2. I love the sophisticated feel that this gave off
  3. Its hard to actually see the design, so I can’t say…
  4. Make sure you can see the design, even if the photo looks good, whats the point if you don’t put your label on display.
  1. This is mocked.
  2. I like things with mustaches. What can I say. But it shows a direct shot of the label.
  3. It’s not terrible, I like the illustrations and simplicity of it though.
  4. Sometimes to direct is too boring, find a happy medium (ayyyyye).

Part 2

Photo:

Mock:

Look at this shit.
here are nicer pictures

10/16/17: Class Critique: What I heard: When presenting and commenting on the wire: makes it feel high-end, not just decorative. Also the wire needs a little straitened/nicer. With the label, rather than right angled cuts, curve them to relate to the circular shape. Watch margins (too close to edge). What I think: I agree with the margins, after cutting out my labels I did notice the still needed some breathing room from the edges. Also I love the curving the labels idea. I think its a small and subtle detail that will help the overall cohesion of the label. What I am going to do: I want to go back and redo my wire curling so it is less wonky. Also I will make sure to expand my margins and curve the labels after printed.

Rationale:

Jolly Pumpkin has many flavors; this variety pack contains four dark beers brewed by the Michigan based brewery. When I hear dark, I think of the song “Sound of Silence” by Simon and Garfunkel; so the theme of this four pack is “Hello Darkness,” the opening line to the song. Since the theme is based on a song the labels create a guitar when line properly (sound hole, fretboard, hand playing, and headstock). The color palette was limited except for a “pop” of color for each flavor. The logo also received a refresh. I wanted it simple and for it to retain the previous logo’s main components. To connect the logo with the theme, I placed it into the shape of a guitar pick. There is also a copper wire that relates to guitar strings on the neck of the bottle (high-end).

Credits:
Spring 2017, Edinboro University
Art Direction: Brigette Davitt
Design/Illustration: Kayla Cratty
Dimensions: 8" x 2.5" (overall)
Typefaces:
Amatic, Freight Sans Cmp Pro

*Note: I will eventually take more professional photos. For now, enjoy a blurred Sarah in the background.

10/9/17: Class Critique:

What I heard: I had thee concerns that I asked to be addressed: the headstock, the wire and pick, and colors. The headstock could be slightly smaller for readability, but keep the height. The wire is good, but the pick is redundant with the logo, so get rid of it (easy enough). Try adding the color to the caps and the logo’s background. Other notes: the body copy feels heavy, try a reg. style. The website is too small. What I think: I think I received good feedback on my questions. I agree with two picks and being redundant. Originally it was just going to be a hanging pick and the logo would have remained circular, I included both to see how the pick shaped logo would come across. I’m glad the headstock got addressed, I was back and forth with its appearance. What I will do: I am going to go back in to the text, increase some sizes, add some kerning or letting, change the style (all depending on which text I’m working on). I’ll also change the headstock up a bit for readability, maybe tightening up the contents. Also any other minor adjustments I can think of while fixing up the other things.

10/9/17:

10/8/17: As always, the export for online screens takes away details, but here is a flat image of the labels.

10/5/17: I worked on the changing the labels to each have a part of a guitar, now it is: sound hole, fretboard, skeleton hand, and headstock. Instead of having to turn the title away to get the image, all the info is on the front with the image. I changed the logo to be in the shape of a pick to connect more to my theme. Also rather than having a tag with the mission statement, the logo will be on a neck label and the mission statement on the other label. Also I am going to using a copper wire to wrap the neck and hang a pick.

10/2/17: Class Critique: What I heard: The image isn’t working yet, if i make it smaller and do separate parts of the guitar so the name would be on the front of each rather than turned. Instead of a tag, I would be able to put the mission statement on the label. A pick would be cool instead of a label. Mainly work on the image. What I think: I think that having the beer names on the front and making the image there rather than turning it, it a better idea. I love the pick idea as well. What I am going to do: I will look at Shelby’s and Erin’s critique points as well as Brigette’s and try to implement them all.

Critique:

  1. Typography
    Number of typefaces used:
    What are the type styles communicating, what are their purposes?
    Does the type fit comfortably in the space provided?

2. Company Branding
Size and placement of the logo:
Is cohesiveness established between the logo and other design elements? How? If not, how can this be improved?

3. Color
Number of colors:
Describe the color palette and what it communicates.
Is color cohesive throughout the four labels?
Is it used to aid the viewer in identifying any product characteristics?

4. Grid System
Is content centered? aligned left/right? Are columns used? Margins? Axial Relationships?

5. Visuals
Illustration? Photography? Pattern? Texture? Describe:
Are visuals used to assist in organizing content? Describe:
What do the visuals communicates about the product/brand?

6. Label Shape/Paper/Substrate and Bottle Form/Size/Materials
Quantity/Size/Shape/Type of labels:
Paper Stock Finish, Color, Weight:
Relationship to concept?
Aid in organization of information?
Bottle and label(s) appropriate size/fit
Bottle shape and material(s) relative to concept/product?

7. Design Elements & Principles
Identify and describe any of the following used in the design:
Elements: LINE, SHAPE, PATTERN, TEXTURE, SPACE, DEPTH, COLOR
Principles: BALANCE, CONTRAST, DIRECTION, DOMINANCE, PROPORTION , RHYTHM, UNITY
Then, identify areas of the design that could benefit from use of any of the elements/principles listed above:

8. Content
How is the content organized on the labeling system?
Where is content located (front, sides, back, lid, or bottom of packaging)?Hierarchy of Information (what do you read 1st, 2nd, 3rd…), Is it appropriate?

Read and Respond: I love the tag like labels, its looks so simple but is very detailed. I really like how the Cyan packaging is organizing the type. Also just love the idea. Its clean but everything feels connected. The last label I just really appreciate the way they are using the illustrative properties to also help the body text. They didn’t just place body copy in, they gave it a frame that connects it to the illustration.

Printed labels on a bottle:

10/1/17: I don’t know what’s going on with the image, but there is more detail in the string and it’s definitely not pixelated. I decided to give each label a pop of color so they are easier to differentiate and to not look so “black and white.” I am struggling with where to place “Hello Darkness” in the hand label. I also decided that there will be a tag with the “Our Mission” statement and Jolly Pumpkin logo. I did not want to overcrowd the labels nor place anything on the frets

Four Labels: For my labels, I wanted them to be able to line up to create the image of a guitar with a skeleton hand playing it. I thought the best approach to get that would be to have basically two different designs for the four. (So two would be the sound hole and two would be the frets and hand.)

Above is my test for how the image would work. I didn’t want to make two labels just the frets because I thought that it would lack in design.

9/29/17: Logo touch up: I altered the pumpkin and took away the little details from it. I also made the pumpkin large and moved around some time. I think it looks better, but can definitely use some help.

9/25/17: Class Questions:

  1. What issues did you identify in the existing Jolly Pumpkin logos? How did you address these issues in your logo refresh? The original seemed a little messy to me, so I took pieces from the original and tried to make it cleaner and symmetrical.
  2. Did you include all required content in your logo design (Jolly Pumpkin Artisan Ales Sour Est 2004)? Yes everything is there. I hope.
  3. How does your logo refresh incorporate existing brand style and visuals? How can you improve stylistic coherence in your next revision? I tried to keep the same feel as previous logos but with what feels like big changes. I kept the pumpkin but altered in such a way that it relates to the old but stands as new.
  4. How is your concept communicated/reinforced through the following: (you may not have considered all of these areas yet — please answer them with ideas for moving forward)
  • Content Clarity and Simplicity
    What’s this product for? What’s the brand behind it? What’s the idea you want consumers to take away? This is a label and logo for Jolly Pumpkin, a brewery company from Michigan. I want viewers to know this is a brewing company that has a focus in spooks.
  • Branding
    Is your logo refresh incorporated in a way that supports stylistic cohesion within your label designs? Is the Jolly Pumpkin brand prominent enough to aid in consumer awareness? I think the logo works well with my approach to the labels. I am trying to make Jolly Pumpkin just as important as other aspects of the labels.
  • Typographic Style and Hierarchy
    How do the chosen typefaces support the concept (the answers to the 3 questions above)? How does hierarchy create an order in which information is seen? I think my type goes well with the illustrative properties that I want on the labels. I have the name of the beer at the greatest size and as the importance goes down, as does the size.
  • Supporting Visuals
    How do visuals (illustration, photography, pattern, texture) support the concept? Do they compete with or compliment the content/typography? Is the style appropriate? I have a illustration of a skeleton with a guitar right now. For me when I think of darkness, monsters or death comes to mind. I want to have other illustrations, thinking more skeletons, with different instruments to create a band that would relate back to the theme (song lyrics). The type right now has illustrative properties to relate back to the illustration. SCRATCH THAT going with guitar label.
  • Grid System
    Does your grid assist in:
    Establishing axial relationships?
    Consistency in design/content placement across the line of bottles?
    Ability to read information on particular sides/without turning bottle…
    I have alignments with text. Most layouts in my possibilities are divided into three sections in some way. The center is typically the focus with an illustrative property and the title while the others are mainly type.
  • Color Palette
    How does your palette create cohesion across your label designs? How does color reinforce concept? I am using a very limited color palette with blacks, greys, and whites. I am considering a “pop” of color for each different beer, but I don’t know yet. I went with the palette because my theme is dark beers and what is darker than blacks and greys.
  • Label Format
    How many labels did you use and what is the purpose of each? Does the label shape correctly fit the bottle shape and size? Is the label size large enough for all required content? How does the label shape relate to the concept? I plan on having a single label with all the information and then a logo label around the neck of the bottle. In my sketches I played with multiple shapes for labels. I tend to like a shape with a square and circle combined. I already have my bottle so I used a measuring tape to see the proportions of the original label and used those to get approximate dimensions. The information fits better on some label shapes than others, so I would use the shape that allows the info to fit.
  • Paper Stock
    Will the paper adhere easily to the bottle (how)? Is the weight appropriate for the material it is being applied to? Is the color and texture related to concept? How does it affect image quality or readability? I was thinking about using sticker paper for my labels. The weight would match that of typical bottle labels I think. The paper would be a white so that the ink is vibrant.
  • Bottle Material/Design/Structure
    Is your bottle appropriate for the product? Is it the correct volume? How does the style/shape/material support your concept? The bottle I have should hold the right amount of liquid. I chose it because it was a shorter and stouter than the others and I thought the wideness of the bottle would allow more label to be visible at once.

Class critique: What I heard: The illustration is cool, however, the guitar label is different. It would be be interesting to make the bottles line up so an image appears (guitar with hand). This strongly relates to the theme and is different. Also I don’t need certain info that I have on the labels, so thanks for the heads up. The typeface on the square label is working well. The type in the square label has movement that made it feel musical. What I think: I also like the guitar label, I was just struggling with how to put the info on it and it not look poorly designed. (I will have more room now that I know I don’t need some things I put on the label) I do like the skeleton but I have no problem leaving that idea for the guitar concept. What I will do: I want to fix the type layout. That is my biggest issue with that label. I also want to start to figure out how I can make the labels turn into one image on the four bottles.

9/25/17: Printed labels on bottle

9/24/17: I wanted to stick to black, grey, and white since the theme for the four pack is Hello Darkness. I was thinking color may take away from the “dark,” however, looking at the labels, I think I could maybe have a pop of color. I also have changed lyrics to the “Sound of Silence” if I want to add them to the label, but there was already so much on the label-“Hello darkness, my old friend/I’ve come to drink with you again/Because my visions softly shrinking/Left my eyes while I was drinking/And the bottle that was planted in my hand/Still stands/Within the sound of silence” I tried to use a music as a theme, especially the guitar (reminds me of Simon and Garfunkel). I wasn’t sure how best to translate song into beer label. So this is my best go of a little bit of music and darkness. *Had a thought, each type of beer will have its own instrument, so together they are a band, which pushes the song theme.

Labels (I’m sorry about the type on the guitar one… pitiful)
Sketches of labels
Jolly Pumpkin Logo

I tried to use the sideways pumpkin in the circular logo, but it wasn’t working, so I just went back to the original circular design and touched it up.

9/18/17: Class Critique- What I heard: For the logo, the circular one is successful when considering type. The sideways pumpkin is successful when looking at creativity and different, but the type looks thrown in. Maybe find a way to use the sideways pumpkin to give more character within the circular logo. The lower jaw in the circular design resembles a bottle cap, this can be a possibility. For the variety pack theme, yes to Hello Darkness, maybe shorten it to just that. Play off of Simon and Garfunkel. Look at the lyrics to the “Sound of Silence” and play with them. Consider the beer and maybe change the lyrics. What I think: I really liked the comments. I agree that the circular logo was stronger, but I was attracted to the illustration in the sideways pumpkin. I think trying to use both is a good resolution. I also enjoy the idea of playing more with the entire song “Sound of Silence.” I think it will add a bit of humor to the set. What I will do: Right after critique I was looking at ways to use both designs for the logo in a sophisticated way. I think what I was sketching is a good start, but I would like to play with it some more. I am also going to look at the lyrics to the song and try and change them to more beer related terms. If I cannot succeed with that, I still want to emphasis the song in one way or another.

9/18/17: Research and Concept:

For the variety pack, I want to use four dark beers. The theme would be based on the opening lyrics to “Sound of Silence,” Hello Darkness My Old Friend. I particularly like the one packaging in my research that covers the the bottles except the labels. I think this could accompany the them of darkness hiding the majority of the bottle in dark. Two of the beers I selected are yet to be released, which I think is a cool opportunity to start with somewhat of a blank but able to look at the other labels for inspiration.

9/16/17: Jolly Pumpkin: Refined 3 and 20 Sketches

Open and Play

10/18/17: Class Critique: What I heard: Overall is fun and has great shelf presence. Would be a good product for local liquor store (Edinboro parties, shame on us). What I think: I am really pleased where this went. I do wish printing would go smoother than it does. What I am going to do: If or when I print again make sure the ink heads are cleaned to avoid the smudging that occurred on the inside. Also minor adjustments for folding I think I could improve on as well as adhering the outside on and avoiding wrinkles.

Rationale:

Young adults don’t always have the cash to purchase certain alcohols. Often they will resort to mini bottles to at least try different kinds. House Party is a variety pack offering six different types of minis; it also includes a fun twist on the classic party game ‘spin the bottle.’ Upon first look, House Party looks to be a tiny house with a party inside. When the pack is opened, it displays a board in which buyers can then use the minis to play one of three spin the bottle games (directions included). The design uses CMYK to give a fun, vibrant party feel and create a cohesive color palette.

Credits:
Spring 2017, Edinboro University
Art Direction: Brigette Davitt
Design/Illustration: Kayla Cratty
Dimensions: 4.5" x 3.75" x 8.5" (closed)
Typefaces:
FT Scandinavian Titan Black, Reducto Condensed

Printed on poster board to avoid wrinkling (Left) printed on paper to show color (right)

10/11/17: Class Critique:

What I heard: The long island info is a hard too read. Many titles were also hard to read. Add some kerning to certain titles. For the “this box contains:” use 3 columns of two. Tabs slightly bigger. What I think: I think for the most part, the critique was on how the box printed. I didn’t change a whole lot with the text from last time, and it printed legibly then. I agree a lot was hard to read, but I do think the was a printing error. I wanted to try out something, and it definitely failed. What I am going to do: I’m not going to give up completely on printing directly on the board. I will most likely turn in a wrapped finish, but I’m now curious on which setting would be best, so I’ll be exploring that. I will also do some of the minor touch ups I received for critique that weren’t caused by excessive ink.

10/11/17: I am sad… I tried printing straight onto the poster board, but it printed far too much ink and it went to hell. I think if the ink didn’t bleed and I didn’t get black fingerprints everywhere on it it would be okay. The inside also didn’t align. I plan on spending the weekend finding the right settings and fine tuning the printing process. But I think the board itself works better without the paper because it lays flatter now.

Don’t mind me. Just crying about this failure…

10/9/17: I added some imagery to the house, and altered certain type boxes. There were a lot of additions and tiny changes. I really love the tiny cups at the front door.

10/4/17: Class Critique: What I heard: Outside: Add more party elements to the outside (people in windows, red solo, hand out the door, back side make glass door to help type) Move certain type, different tagline to tell there is a game inside. Inside: work on type, (title, ring, directions), tighten things up, take away some confetti, pick a game and spin the bottle. Add confetti to the divider. What I think: I like the people in the window idea a lot. Most things are adjusting and tightening type, which is always an important step. What I am going to do: Like always, I will add and change all these things to hopefully come closer to a better piece.

Read and Respond: What are the strengths and weaknesses of your current packaging form and the method you are using to assemble it? I think right now, the way the packaging folds is one of the biggest strengths. The handle is still weak however. I also need to work on paper on the inside crinkling.
What did you take away from the tutorials that will assist you in improving the craft in your next revision? I think the tutorials are really good references to keep a pin in for future use. The things I think I’ll take away will be the way they handle folds by cutting the cardboard.

10/3/17: House Party printed and adhered to box. The paper crinkled a lot on the inside, so thats upsetting:

9/29/17: I changed the color scheme to CMYK, I thought that would help make it feel like a party. I also altered the game board to be three games in one. I think it feels more cohesive inside and out. The outside looks like it is busy, but I believe once it is folded it won’t feel that way.

Outside/Inside

9/27/17: Class critique- What I heard: Instead of only party on the inside, make it more cohesive inside and out. Needs a tagline (raise the roof or your favorite neighbor) and a different font. Right now it feels like a tea party. Maybe include illustrations on the inside to connect to the outside. The game is too alcohol promotional, change it to less drink, drink, drink, and more game like. What I think: I think I received good feedback. I agree that the inside and outside are too separate right now. I wanted to go for emphasis on party on the inside, but there is too much difference. What I will do: As with every critique, I try and use all the notes I receive and attempt them. I like to at least try and look to see how things are working and not working.

9/27/17: I messed up my box dimensions and so with the paper on, it looks like actually trash. I will fix this flaw. But please, ignore craft… The box itself looks fine, but with tiled paper that has backwards dimensions makes it look very very very bad. Good news is the box works without adhesives, so theres a silver lining in this heap of garbage.

As you can see, this is trash right now

9/26/17: Box designs:

Outside options, I like the third the best
Inside options, I like the first option best

9/28/17: I had research, I just hadn’t put it in a board, here is the board now

9/21/17: Class Critique: What I heard: The name is working, the packaging seems to be going in the right direction, yes to the variety. We discussed how I should approach the game since that is where I needed the most help. If I did a game board, it should be the caps that are the pieces, not the entire bottle. Another was to create a spin the bottle game which would land on drinking instruction (all girls in blue drink, all the boys drink, etc…) Also it was recommended I include a recipe for a drink/s. What I think: I really liked the spin the bottle idea. I think it plays well with the “House Party” and games that were often played. I also like the thought to include a recipe. That will help the package be more interactive with what the product is used for. What I will do: I am going to figure out some directions for the drinking game and find a recipe or two to include on the package.

9/20/17: Product/Packaging/ Mockup

Sketchy
This thing is rough… I cut too much off before I folded
Variety Minis

Content: Brand Name (House Party?), Drink/Play Responsibly. Mini alcohols are typically sold separately and since this is a variety pack, I think the packaging will only require the types of alcohol and their proofs since the bottles contain the rest of the information. Overcrowding the packaging with all the information from six bottles would be far too much.

9/18/17: Class: Reading- 9 takeaway tips for better packaging design

Questions: 1. Keep it simple: The product needs to communicate that it is a game, a variety pack, and for adults. Using design, I would give the packaging a sophisticated yet fun design that would appeal to adults. 2. Think outside the box: Most alcohols do not include the element of a game, so that alone will allow this to stand out. It allows adults to let out their inner child while doing adult like things. 3. Keep it mysterious: I think the packaging definitely needs to address the fact it contains alcohol and a game. 4. Think about longevity: I think the fact that I am including a game makes this somewhat nostalgic. Board games remind me at least of when I was younger, and that may appeal to those who like to let their inner child show. 5. Consider your customer: The packaging not only serves as a board game but also a carrying case for the samples. It allows for easy transportation of the bottles and a game. 6. Be sustainable: I want the packaging to only require folding to stay together so the board game does not end up having adhesives. 7. Tell your story: Mini alcohol bottles serve broke college students an affordable way to try different alcohols. Yes, many times it is a good way for commercial flyers to access alcohol, but I know many who get the minis. I think turning it into a game will push interest even further. 8. Go beyond your brand: Most alcohols are sold separately, this way you get a variety pack already made for you and its also fun. 9. Showcase your product: The packaging could have a window of sorts so that they can see the minis. Either that or the packaging is very easily opened and it would not harm the purchaser to look into the package that way.

9/13/17: Class Critique: What I heard: After presenting my ideas, we discussed the mini alcohols more. There was a point brought up about who purchases the product and to make it a variety pack. The game itself was also discussed. It was said maybe it shouldn’t be child-like. Another suggestion was to aim towards birthdays or business men on airplanes. What I think: I think good points were brought up. They definitely will give me something to think about while working on my project. What I will do: As always I want to consider all the suggestions made. I will look at possibilities and see which one works best.

9/13/17: Open and Play:

The crayon box combined with a coloring book would be an easy way to ‘kill to birds with one stone.’ There would be no need to buy the items separately. I want to stick to vibrant colors to keep the appeal open towards children. The coloring book would be connected to the box in someway. Some name ideas I had developed were coloring box, crayon it, and hidden colors. The crayons would be a fun interactive take and be a convenience to shoppers.

Color bummer

The mini alcohol set would be a way for adults to have some fun while drinking. The holder would look like a tiny house and unfold to create a game board. The board may resemble that of classic board games such as The Game of Life, Candyland, and other similar games. I think the game board should be vibrant and bright to create a fun atmosphere, while the outside is color limited and possibly resembles an actual house. Names for this could be House Party, ‘Risk’y Behaviors, or Shots and Ladders. The game pieces could be the bottles of alcohol themselves or the caps. The game would be a drinking game with different tasks on every square. I’m considering either there will be a spinner of sorts or just a coin required for movement of pieces.

This color thing… Its becoming a real bummer.

9/12/17: Below are my ten possible concepts and then my two strongest ideas further developed. I will put up a better photo soon, I realize these are rough. My apologies.

We Stand Together Packaging

9/11/17: Class Assignment-Read-Photographing Your Work: A Tutorial for Graphic Designers and How to shoot print work for your portfolio

Questions: 1. I wasn’t the best at keeping up with photographing my work for awhile. After taking a course in photography and purchasing a better camera, I felt more confident in taking pictures. I think my strengths lie in editing photos rather than taking them when it comes to photographing my own work. I think I struggle with proper lighting of my things. The photos always have a shaded tone to them. In photography I mainly turned my images into black and white, so I think keeping my work in color throws me off. 2. I personally liked the discussion on building a light box, considering it is my biggest struggle. I think rather than using the staging provided in Doucette, I may just make my own. 3. I think adding props is a good way for viewers to get a sense of size and allows the piece to feel less formal. Placing your work in a separate setting than just that of a white background creates a sense that the item is used and it is more than just art; it is meant to be handled

9/10/17: Mock ups:

Mocks
Final: Color is off again, the struggle is real

9/10/17: Final Box: I think it turned out better. Once again I listened to the critique and attempted to use all the advice given. I changed the red and tried to avoid blue and red on the same to avoid color clashing. I changed the font to something less “decorative” so it did not compete with the imagery. I also changed the inside to a pattern of the palm. I tried several options for the inside using variations of the print, but I felt this was most successful.

9/6/17: Class Critique for Box:

What I heard: It wasn’t only the red hand print that gave the box a horror feel, it was also the type face. The theme with the hands is simple yet strong. The red and blue create a vibrating illusion, maybe take out the red. Find a type that is simple and will not compete with the handprints. The inside of the box needs something else. Maybe try to blow up a handprint or several to create a texture for the inside. Also AIGA is pixelated, get your act together. What I think: I noticed the color was slightly harsh to the eyes once I printed, so I fully agree with that. I can see how the typeface is competing with the hand prints as well. It also does give a horror vibe. I need to escape that aspect…. What I will do: I am going to try to fix the color and find a new font. I will look for something that is simple and won’t compete with my imagery.

The Five Things Product Packaging Must Do

  1. Identify a product you believe has successful packaging (include an image!) — what qualities from the article does it embody?
Nike Shoe Box

Nike has a brand that instantly stands out when shoe shopping; its vibrant orange box sets it apart from other shoes that are normally in brown, black, or any other dulled color. It is also simple, with no imagery and just its iconic swish. Any five-year-old should be able to find the brand by the description of an orange shoe box.

2. What other qualities does the product have other than the 5 listed?

Nike’s shoe box packaging is also easy to use, there is no confusing way to open the box. This allows shoppers to easily view the product. Its very straightforward packaging. Also the Nike can be targeted to a range of ages because its packaging can appeal to any generation.

3. Review the examples below, choose two, and answer questions 1 and 2 above for each:

Playful Pasta: Playful Pasta has a very simple design. It is not overwhelming with colors and words. It also is fun and creative. Using the product to create a concept for the packaging was innovative and clever.

For Your Baby: I found this product to be really creative. Its packaging allows for multipurpose use. It functions as a shampoo bottle and a toy. It was a slick solution that has simple design and stands out from other shampoos.

9/6/17: Final printed and made into a box.

Once again the color is off, but Final Box

I think the box turned out rather well. I like where the design went from the first draft. I am slightly disappointed with my craft. Some edges did not cut smoothly and that could be my exacto blades fault which in turn would be mine for not changing it out, or it could be the paper I used. Either way I just wish the edges turned out better.

9/3/17: Edits for final finished and places in template. I tried to take the critique into consideration while working on my final edit. I added singular handprints and tried to make the box feel more unified all around. I made sure to continue with centering for every panel rather than having one centered and another aligned left.

The color looks very bright, I don’t know why, but Box layout

8/30/17: Second Day of Class

Critique: 1. What I heard- For my theme side, not quite looking like a person, try style change, add dot for head, take out red in fingers. The red hand prints are reminiscent of horror. Some sides centered, others not, work on unity there. 100 stickers side, type face feels off, same type on hashtag side is better, however. Try showing single handprint so viewers know it is hand. 2. What I think- I agree with the critique. I was hoping to leave the hand prints slightly abstracted, but I am fine if the census claimed it unreadable. Otherwise, I felt that I received good tips for improvement. 3. What I am going to do- Basically I want to touch upon everything that was suggested and see how it works out.

8/30/17: Finished trials on illustrator:

3 options per side with 6 inside pattern options/ Work Boards

8/29/17: Working on Illustrator and Photoshop. Currently a mess of handprints. I am working with red, blue, and white as a palette.

8/28/17: First day of class: Brainstorming themes… For the theme I will be working with “UNITY.” My first initial idea has a limited palette, maybe red, black, and grey. I want to keep the design simple, to allow the message stand out. I have shifted to an idea involving handprints resembling people. Sketches drawn up:

--

--