Packaging Design, Fall 2017

Samantha Smith
Packaging Design
30 min readAug 28, 2017

--

Opioid Addiction Awareness Campaign

Star Pack: Tea Tins

Jolly Pumpkin

Open and Play

We Stand Together

Opioid Addiction Awareness Campaign

11/27/17

Rationale:

For the opiod awareness campaign, I decided to use hand soap because it is one of the times people stop and are not distracted in the day. The brand I chose is called “Better Life,” and I thought that the brand complimented the message I was trying to spread very well. I kept with the feeling of the brand with the bright colors and the bold icons to help draw people’s attention and unify the campaign with the brand.

Three things that are working:

I think the icons are working well with the design, and I also think the color choices help the design to help the soaps stand out from the rest of the soaps on the shelf. I also think that the heirarchy is working well within the type.

Credits:

Fall 2017, Edinboro University
Art Direction: Brigette Davitt
Design/Illustration: Sam Smith
Dimensions: 7" x 3" x 3" (overall)
Typefaces:
Futura

11/15/17

I changed how much type was on each side of the label, and I also added the shatterproof logo. I changed my icons and strengthened my grid system. I am still trying to figure out the wording for the first label so I can change the eye icon, if it’s needed.

11/1/17

I chose to run with the soap bottles because it would reach a larger audience and had a stronger concept than my other ideas.

For the content, I chose “How to spot signs of opioid use”, “How to seek treatment for opioid use”, and “How to stay clean from opioids”.

I chose to work with the brand “Better Life” because if you get clean and seek treatment, you will have a better life.

10/25/17

Read and Respond:

I have had a friend’s parent have problems with opiods after a major surgery, and the person found an outlet in alcohol after taking opiods for pain. Also, a daughter of my parent’s friend has an addiction to opiods and has been in and out of hospitals for over dosing and has run away from home multiple times.

The main campaign that stand out to me as a child was the “got milk?” campaign. Looking back on it now, the marketers involved where very smart by putting people that we, as children, looked up to drinking milk. This made me think that drinking milk was the thing to do and made it cool to drink milk.

Products that people see everyday are milk, coffee, breakfast cereals, eggs, cleaning products, laundry detergent, and dish detergent.

Idea Boards:

I was thinking about what people use everyday and usually everyone wakes up and makes a pot of coffee or makes a cup of tea to start the day. I thought that since people always talk about having a caffeine addiction, the packaging could be used to talk about opioid addiction. Coffee/tea is a common house hold item, and I think that it would be a good place to educate people about the addictive qualities of opioids.
For different items that people use regularly, I thought about cleaning products then that lead me to hand soap. People stop and take time to wash their hands, and it is one of the few times a day people aren’t distracted by their phones or anything else. I chose to showcase opioid treatments or how to “get clean” since it is on a cleaning product/soap.
For the last idea, I thought that I should inform kids the dangers of opioid drugs. Things that kids see everyday are school milk cartons, and I think it would be a good place to educate children that opioid addiction can happen to anyone. The campaign for the milk cartons will be teens and opioids to educate that even teenagers can become addicted.
  1. How does it grab attention?
    -When people brew their coffee, they have to interact with the packaging, and the statement will stand out because people are not expecting a campaign on the back of their coffee.
    -Like I mentioned before, people are not distracted when they are washing their hands, so they will take time to look at the hand soap.
    -Kids use these milk cartons everyday, and it’ll grab their attention because there are usually activities or information on the sides of the carton.
  2. How is it effectively directed at the target?
    -The target audience for the coffee is adults, and children don’t usually brew coffee. With that being said, this product reaches the target audience.
    -The target audience for the soap is anyone who can read it. Since opioid addiction can effect anyone, it is important to know how people can get help and to remind people that there is help out there.
    -The target audience for the milk cartons are kids, and the facts are based on how opioids relate to young people. This is reaching the target audience.
  3. How is the concept on strategy?
    -Like I mentioned before, caffiene has an addictive quality, so I decided it would be a good place to showcase the addictiveness of opioids.
    -Cleaning products relate to getting help for the addiction because the term for stopping drugs is “getting clean.”
    -The milk cartons are an easy way to reach kids and to warn them of different events happening in the world. Since children do not usually read the newspaper, this is a good way to reach them.
  4. How is it benefit oriented?
    -I am not quite sure what this question is trying to ask.
  5. How does it support the brand?
    -For my final idea, the “Better Life” brand will support getting opioid help and creating a better life for those people.
  6. What is the call to action?
    -The call to action is to find help if you are a user or to find ways to help people they know.

Star Pack: Tea Tins

11/27/17

Rationale:

For the tea tins, I decided to play off of teas made from succulents, so the second use of the tins is the consumer can plant succulents in the tins after the tea is used. I wanted to keep the designs fun and playful, so I made the patterns from the flavors of the tea. I also wanted to keep the colors bright to help the tea stand out when on a shelf with other teas.

Three things working well:

I think that the patterns printed on the transparency are working well to create the illusion that the tin is printed on, and I think the type is organized well on the pack pannel. One more thing I think is helping is the sticker wrap with the information. I think it helps declutter the design and helps the visibility of the pattern.

Credits:

Fall 2017, Edinboro University
Art Direction: Brigette Davitt
Design/Illustration: Sam Smith
Dimensions: 3.5" x 2.75" x 2.75" (overall)
Typefaces:
Britannic Bold

11/13/17

From last class, I updated the tea tin size, and I think this allows for a lot more space to work with type and the patterns. I like how the colors are working, and I think the patterns are working better this week.

11/6/17

Read and Respond:

This was photographed and not placed on a mackup.
I think that the packaging concept caught my eye. I think that maxing the old and the new together is very eye-catching and clever.
I think that the concept for this packaging is very strong. It’s easy to pick up on, and the concept is pulled through the design the whole way.
• What can you take away from the documentation of each piece as a potential successful strategy when photographing/documenting your own work?

11/5/17

So, I am just going to compile last week’s research and this weeks research together in one post since I forgot to post last week. (Sorry, I’m the worst.)

I chose my three teas I am going to use, and they are all made with a succulents, and there will be seeds for the consumers to grow their own succulent from that tea.

http://www.teavana.com/us/en/tea/green-tea/jade-citrus-mint-green-tea-31504.html

2.

https://www.bigelowtea.com/Shop-Teas/By-Type/Herbal/Benefits-Blueberry-and-Aloe-Herbal-Tea#.Wf_UdLaZORY

3.

https://www.amazon.com/Hunter-Hilsberg-Prickly-Pear-Cactus/dp/B000OK7UDG

I haven’t quite decided on a shape for my tin yet, but I am leaning towards the 2.5"x2.5" cubed containers. I did some research into what size of pot is best for growing succulents, and I found that pots around 2.5" give the plant enough room to grow while not being too large.

These still need a lot of work and more information, but I got done what I set out to do. I picked out a color scheme that plays through all 3 tins, and I got the bulk of the illustrations made.

10/22/17
Research:

I do not know much about tea tins, but I explored a large variety of tin designs to see what I was instrested in. I found vintage tins, patterned tins, and illustrative tins. I really like the bold, colorful patterned tins, so I chose to use that as one of my directions. I also liked the look of the tins with negative space and pastel colors, so I chose that as another one of my directions.
The bold, patterned tins are what I am currently leaning toward. I like the brightfulness and playfulness of these designs, and I think I could have a lot of fun designing these. On the other hand, the sophistication of the designs on the right is something that I have never really explored before. I like to incorporate bold, bright colors into my designs, and I think that using pastels and a lot of negetive space would be a challenge for me.

Jolly Pumpkin

11/13/17

10/16/17

Rationale:

For this project, I redesigned the Jolly Pumpkin logo and created a series of four beers selected from their beer list. I chose to work with Saisons in particular and titled the series “Tis the Saison” because Saison beers are made in the winter months. I created illustrations that relate to Christmas and the title of each beer. I wanted to keep the illustrations fun and lighthearted while also relating back to the Jolly Pumpkin logo with the line weights and hand-done feel.

Credits:

Fall 2017, Edinboro University
Art Direction: Brigette Davitt
Design/Illustration: Sam Smith
Dimensions: 9" x 2.5" x 2.5" (overall)
Typefaces:
Neuton

Critque:

I heard that the type on the back does not seem cohesive to the front panels, and to fix some type management problems. (All capitals/lowercase, sizing differences, ’Tis) Also, make the holly wrap around the frames. I think these are good comments, and I will try these in the future.

10/11/17

Critique:

I heard that I need to fix a few alignments with my type, but that my illustrations are working a lot better now! (YAY)

I also heard that the neck wraps are not working as is, and I should make it more cohesive to the rest of the bottles. I think that good points were made, and I am going to fix those alignments and few other things.

Overall, I’m happy with the progress of these bottles!

10/4/17

Read and Respond:

I really like the way that the illustration is framed, and I like the way the type relates to the boarders. The boarders are simple yet elegant, and I like the single color scheme.
I like the layering in this bottle, and the way it lays on top of the illustration works very well.
I absolutely love this illustration style, and I am kind of putting a pin in this for future projects. I love the way the bold type is working with the bold illustrations, and the blue color scheme works.

10/2/17

Sarah’s Feedback:

1. Typography
Number of typefaces used: 2
What are the type styles communicating, what are their purposes?
CHRISTMAS
Does the type fit comfortably in the space provided? I
t doesn’t feel crowded, and body copy aligns well with each other, but don’t have much relation to the titles.

2. Company Branding
Size and placement of the logo: I think it could be more prominent, maybe put it on a label on the neck?
Is cohesiveness established between the logo and other design elements? How? If not, how can this be improved?
Using one of the same typefaces from your label for your logo may help cohesiveness.

3. Color
Number of colors: 7 per bottle?
Describe the color palette and what it communicates.
It’s bizarre but good, like Christmas gone wrong.
Is color cohesive throughout the four labels?
Yepper
Is it used to aid the viewer in identifying any product characteristics?
If creepy Christmas is what you want, right on :)

4. Grid System
Is content centered? aligned left/right? Are columns used? Margins? Axial Relationships? Everything is pretty centered, maybe the illustrations could be more prominent with the text on either right or left of it.

5. Visuals
Illustration? Photography? Pattern? Texture? Describe: Illustrations, which are creepy Christmas (sorry I keep saying that!)
Are visuals used to assist in organizing content? Describe:
Like I said in #4, the text could be on one side of the illustration as opposed to on both sides making it centered.
What do the visuals communicates about the product/brand?
Distortion? Creepy? Halloween like Jolly Pumpkin brand likes.

6. Label Shape/Paper/Substrate and Bottle Form/Size/Materials
Quantity/Size/Shape/Type of labels: Right now just a body label, will you incorporate a neck label or hang-tag?
Paper Stock Finish, Color, Weight:
N/A
Relationship to concept?
N/A
Aid in organization of information?
Uses bottle space without feeling cramped.
Bottle and label(s) appropriate size/fit
Yep
Bottle shape and material(s) relative to concept/product?
Traditional like Christmas, if that’s what you want.

7. Design Elements & Principles
Identify and describe any of the following used in the design:
Elements: LINE, SHAPE, PATTERN, TEXTURE, SPACE, DEPTH, COLOR
Principles: BALANCE, CONTRAST, DIRECTION, DOMINANCE, PROPORTION , RHYTHM, UNITY
Then, identify areas of the design that could benefit from use of any of the elements/principles listed above:
(You’re strongest use of elements/principles are in bold above). I think the one principle that will really help your design is stronger contrast, maybe increase scale/prominence of illustrations.

8. Content
How is the content organized on the labeling system? Symmetrical, mix it up :)
Where is content located (front, sides, back, lid, or bottom of packaging)?
All on the body label, maybe neck label or hang-tag will help. Hierarchy of Information (what do you read 1st, 2nd, 3rd…), Is it appropriate? I think you’re hierarchy works, but could be pushed a little more (little more contrast of scale).

Kevin’s Feedback:

1. Typography
Number of typefaces used: Three
What are the type styles communicating, what are their purposes? The script font is displaying the title and a more “festive” feel. The beer/section titles are in a decorative serif, which I think matches the illustration, but I am not sure how well it works with the script font. The body copy text works well, but I feel like each font is on a “different page.” Make them work together better!
Does the type fit comfortably in the space provided? The body copy is a little small. Alignments are off so the type isn’t connecting, even though it somewhat fits.

2. Company Branding
Size and placement of the logo: Nickel sized… on the middle on the side of the label (I do not like it here! It does not seem important enough! Hieracrchy).
Is cohesiveness established between the logo and other design elements? How? If not, how can this be improved? The type color matches the body copy, but not much else. It doesn’t relate well enough which I think comes back to the idea of hierarchy! I know you mentioned make a label for the bottle neck with tis the saison, so maybe move the logo up there too and make it larger.

3. Color
Number of colors: Four Primary Colors
Describe the color palette and what it communicates. They are brighter colors which I think relates to the idea of Christmas. However, they are a little off which adds to eerie feel of it (it is Christmas, but off! Which I think is what you were going for).
Is color cohesive throughout the four labels? Yes! (one main color and then the rest are used within the illustration).
Is it used to aid the viewer in identifying any product characteristics? It helps with the section titles and drawing your eye to Tis the Saison and the illustrations.

4. Grid System
Is content centered? aligned left/right? Are columns used? Margins? Axial Relationships? The type under the illustrations are a little funky, make alignments! Same deal with the logo side of the label, distracting since htey are not connected! Maybe make more alignments throughout (horizontal and vertical!)

5. Visuals
Illustration? Photography? Pattern? Texture? Describe: Illustrations! They are sketchy, but I feel like it works. Almost reminds me of an illustrated Christmas book, but creepier!
Are visuals used to assist in organizing content? Describe: Sort of, the illustrations bring your eye to the beer title! But other than that, I’m not sure.
What do the visuals communicates about the product/brand? That they are light hearted and relate to the holidays (Saison Season, funny!). They like to stand out from other brands/labels.

6. Label Shape/Paper/Substrate and Bottle Form/Size/Materials
Quantity/Size/Shape/Type of labels: One per bottle, average size, rectangle, main label
Paper Stock Finish, Color, Weight: N/A, but I feel like a smart white will make the colors more chipper, but an off white may help with an eerie feel (whatever you want to focus on!)
Relationship to concept? N/A
Aid in organization of information? Sure, but maybe a bottle neck label would help with hierarchy and spreading out information.
Bottle and label(s) appropriate size/fit. GREAT!
Bottle shape and material(s) relative to concept/product? Sure!

7. Design Elements & Principles
Identify and describe any of the following used in the design:
Elements: LINE, SHAPE, PATTERN, TEXTURE, SPACE, DEPTH, COLOR
Principles: BALANCE, CONTRAST, DIRECTION, DOMINANCE, PROPORTION , RHYTHM, UNITY
Then, identify areas of the design that could benefit from use of any of the elements/principles listed above: You mainly use lines, texture, and color throughout your labels (in the illustrations). Maybe you could incorporate that idea in the bottle neck label or in the colored bar, so that way it connects more! Balance is a little off on the main label (since the information isn’t aligned as nicely as it could be). Maybe increase the illustration so that it has more dominance. I think once that happens contrast and unity will occur! I think I just rambled there. But focus on beefing up the illustration, organizing the type, and then bringing the eye to the Jolly Pumpkin logo.

8. Content
How is the content organized on the labeling system? Everything is on the main label! Again, a bottle neck label would help (with title and JP logo). Again, alignments are your friend. That will help organize everything!!
Where is content located (front, sides, back, lid, or bottom of packaging)? ON THE MAIN LABEL. Hierarchy of Information (what do you read 1st, 2nd, 3rd…), Is it appropriate? Tis the (turn bottle) Saison (it would be nice if you could read it all at once). Then you read the beer title. After that I am not sure where to go, I’m going to say Our Mission and Cheers!

10/1/17

I liked the bar that I had in one of my four original mockups, and I wanted to expand on that. The top type is just a placeholder for now, but I do want it to say the title of the pack. I kept with the same color scheme to give off almost a spooky, Christmas feeling. I also changed the typefaces, and I think they work better than the script I had before. For the logo, I made the type the circle around it, and I simplified the shape a lot as well.

The type for the “’Tis the Saison” didn’t transfer to print. It was just a place holder, so I’m not too concerned about it. I like the way the illustrations look on the bottles.

9/25/17

Critique notes:

I received notes to add more heirarchy and to find a new typeface or to hand-do my type. Also, to try different dicuts for the labels instead of a wrap-around band. I also got critique that the geometric shapes in the logo complimented the type and organic elements well.

I think that this is really good feedback, and I am going to try these things. I do not know why the di-cut thought did not occur to me, but I am excited to try it.

Beginning of class questions:

  1. I found that the existing Jolly Pumpkin logo was hard to read, had little hierarchy, and the design I thought had too many embellishments. I worked on simplifying the logo and making the type legible. Now that I put the logo on the bottle, the scale of some of the type got too small and is hard to read. I will be working on this issue in the next week.
  2. I have all of the required text within the logo, but the EST. 2004 can be hard to read at a small scale.
  3. I incorporated one of the embellishments from one of the existing logos, and I kept the Jack-O-Lantern feel. I also kept with the hard-done type feel, but I made the type more legible. Right now the pumpkin is a perfect circle, and I am not sure if it fits stylistically with the original logo, so I will try hand drawing the pumpkin to see if that helps with cohesion.
  4. The product is beer from the Jolly Pumpkin brewery, and the company is kind of quirky. I wanted to communicate that through the band done type and illustrations in the labels.
    Again, I think the hand done type relates back to the company. I think I need to work on the heirarchy of the type, so it is more characteristic of the brand with giving it more hierarchy than it did have.
    The illustration style will be kind of spooky which relates back to my concept on a creepy take to the holiday season. I am also taking each of the four beers’ names and making the illustrations relate the name to a specific thing from the holiday season.
    I need to work on my grid system more, and I think once I figure out the type I want to use and get my other illustrations done, the grid will flow better.
    I am keeping with four colors:
    Purple
    Orange
    Red
    Green
    All of the colors are low in intensity and they relate to the holidays being communicated in these labels (Christmas and Halloween).
    I am not sure if I want to create dicuts or keep a rectangle form.
    I would like to print on either a gray or tan-colored paper. To help mute the colors.
    I do not have my bottles picked out yet.

What I worked on:

I made the EST. 2004 thicker so it is easier to read even when the size is decreased.

I also researched dicut beer stickers and how the type is placed on each.

I think that the type is working well even with this simple illustration style, and the embellishments help create create unity between the two.

9/23/17

Critique:

I heard that I needed to work with the negative space, and I needed to work with my type placement as well. I also got another concept, which I think works better than my original concept. Someone suggested the name “‘Tis the Saison” which would be like a creepy play on winter/holiday season, and I think that was a brilliant idea.

I am going to work on my type placement in the logo, and I am going to keep the “‘Tis the Saison” theme going.

Updated logos:

I changed the pumpkin’s face from the centered version, to an off-centered, creepy pumpkin face. I am still keeping with my main goal for this logo which was to keep it minimal. I think the hand-done type works well with the original branding, and I think it helps give the whole thing an off-putting/playful theme. The circle around the logo wasn’t working, so I decided to bring in the branch-like element to help bring movement into the piece. Once I placed the branch, I had a place to put the type, and it made the pumpkin face look kind of like a moon, which is why I made the second version a yellow-orange.

For the thumbnails I tried to capture the overall look I wanted these illustartions to be, and I tried to get all of the elements I needed for the illustrations. I took each title and related it to something of the holiday season.

9/17/17

I have decided for my variety pack, I want all of the bottles to be Saison. I personally know nothing about beer, but Saisons actually have a pretty interesting past. They are usually brewed in the winter months but were consumed in the summer months, and Saisons usually have a pretty low alcohol content. Brainstorming for names I have, The Four Saisons and Keep On Saison.

I chose these four saison brews:

iO SAISON: SOUR SAISON: BAUDELAIRE BIÉRE SERIES

SAISON X: SOUR SAISON: LETTERS SERIES

LOS VIVOS Y LOS MUERTOS “THE QUICK & THE DEAD”: SOUR FRUIT SAISON

BAM DI CASTAGNA “CHESTNUT BAM”: SOUR FARMHOUSE SAISON

I chose these four because they are all a part of a bigger series, and I think it would be a fun concept to take four that are not from the same series and put them together. I really like the illustration style of all of them, but the one that stands out most for me is the BAUDELAIRE SERIES.

I like the limited color palette, and I really like the illustration style these are done in. I think that it relates really well to the logo, and I like the hand done type. What I would change about all of their existing bottle labels is that they all seem very crowded and there is hardly any heirarchy. Plus, sometimes the hand done type can get hard to read, especially when the type is distorted to fit into a shape. Those are the main points I would like to work with for this project.

Logo:

For the logo, I wanted to work on taking some of the elements already used in the current logo and simplifying them to create a better understanding of the brand.

Refined logos

Packaging Influenced by Fun

10/18/17

Rationale:

For this project, I created a pasta box that turns into a Kerplunk game in which the box has perforated holes, and the pasta becomes the game pieces. The colors used are purple, yellow, and red to keep the box feeling playful yet keeping the color palette to a minimum. The wheel shapes are repeated throughout the design to use as a repeating element throughout the piece.

Credits:

Fall 2017, Edinboro University
Art Direction: Brigette Davitt
Design/Illustration: Sam Smith
Dimensions: 10.75" x 5.75" x 2.875" (overall)
Typefaces:
Folks

Critique:

I received critique on the pattern and to simpify it’s use. Also, I should add more information for both pastas and to add more information about the pasta. Also, to have the pasta falling straight down from the top instead of from the side. I think that this is good feedback, and I am excited to try it. I like the progress I have made on this project, and I’m ready to add more.

10/10/17

I am not as confident with this project as I am with Jolly Pumpkin. I feel stuck, but I think I got some good feedback.

  • More hierarchy
  • More variation
  • More playful
  • (Maybe try different colors???)

I am not quite sure where to go with this, but I am going to mess around with these suggestions and some other things over this weekend.

10/4/17

From last critique:

I changed the type face to reflect the curves and shapes of the noddles, and it also came in different styles to create hierarchy. I made the blue darker, and I experimented with layering the different shapes.

Critique notes:

I recieved that there still needs to be more hierarchy between the text and the supporting wheel shapes. Also, I heard that it would help to add more elements which are on the original pasta packaging to help activate some of the negative space. I also heard that I should work on bringing the “Pasta Fall” title in a more coesive manner. Right now, the title seems disconnected, and I need to work on unifying it as a product. I think that this feedback was very valuable since I kind of felt stuck with this project, and I am going to try to work out those kinks with my design.

Read and Respond:

My current packaging seems kind of clunky, and I need to finalize the tab system in which I am going to assemble this product. I also need to work on an effective way to wrap this packaging, and I feel that these tutorials helped me get a better understanding for wrapping.

9/27/17

Critique notes:

I received that I need to work with the colors, add the dicut, work with the type, and let the buyer know that there is a game on the front.

I think that this is really good feedback, and I am going to work on those things over the weekend.

I used picked a few colors from the “Ker-Plunk” game as a color pallette to give it a fun, playful feel.

The type is hard to read in some places, but I like the display font to reflect the straight fettuccine noodles. The shapes reflect the different pastas in the box.

These photos turned out kind of red, but the colors printed very dark.

I changed the size of the box to be wider, so the box can stand on its own. I also changed the tabbing at the top to just a basic tab.

9/19/17

For the over all design, I wanted to keep it upbeat and light hearted. I kept to simple shapes which reflected the types of noodle in the packaging. I want the colors to be bring to reflect the playfulness of the design and to help stand out among other pasta boxes.

For the boxes, I wanted to experiment with no adhesive binding, but I had trouble getting the box to stand on its own. I will have to mess around with it some more, but I do know that the size of this box is where I want it to be. I used the store bought fettuccine box as a reference and doubled the width of it to store twice the amoung of pasta.

The store bought noodles all look vey similar in their packaging. You could tell when you got to the noddle section because 90% of the packaging for them is solid blue. I do like the transparency idea though, and I want to try to incorporate that into the design of the packaging. I think that by changing the colors up and by using basic shapes to create movement and patterns will help distinguish itself from the rest of the pack.

Content:

9/18/17

  1. I need to communicate that the contents are pasta, there is a game included in the packaging, and the theme is playful. I can communicate those by showing the pasta on the inside or using graphic elements that relate to the shapes of the pasta in the box as design elements. The game can be explained on the back, but I want the design to be playful and simple to draw people to the product.
  2. My design will stand out because while I was searching the grocery isles for the noodles, most of the pasta boxes looked the same. Most of the designs were blue and over crowded. I want my packaging to have bright, fun colors and shapes to contrast the monotoned boxes on the shelves.
  3. I need the consumer to know what the product is, but I want to keep the game as a secondary element for the buyer to find on the back.
  4. I can keep to a classic, muted color palette that ages well. I am thinking about using bold, simplified shapes and I personally don’t see simple shapes going out of style soon especially when this pasta is also geared towards a family game.
  5. The packaging holds the pasta and is also a built in game.
  6. I am currently researching boxes that do not use any adhesive, and the material being used is cardboard, which can be recycled.
  7. My product has been used for generations upon generations. People are pretty familiar with noodles, and I think by giving pasta packaging a revamp, it’ll help customers reconnect with pasta in a different way.
  8. I can keep the little see-through windows that are usually used within the packaging to let people see the product on the inside, but I would like to simplify the packaging down to just geometric shapes and lines to reflect back onto the noodles inside.
  9. This question was kind of answered in the last response, but I think I am going to keep the viewing window which exists in most pasta boxes.

9/17/17

Critique:

Moving forward with the pasta game, I recieved some informative feedback about the idea. It was suggested that I package two types of pasta in the box and possibly have different levels of difficulty depending on which box the consumer purchases.

I think that both of these ideas are really great, but I think that the different levels of difficulty is something I can expand on in the future.

9/12/17

For this assignment, I was influenced by games or activities I did as a kid. I brain stormed 10 ideas, but I believe that my cereal box toss and the Kerplunk inspired pasta packaging are the strongest ideas.

The cereal box toss is a cereal box which is perforated to pop up and create a back board and an opening. The consumer can then toss cereal into the “mouth” or opening and score points. The player can place a bowl under the opening, so they can keep the cereal in a confined space. I think this would be a fun game to play on a Saturday morning with kids or adults.

For the pasta game, it will be a similar concept to the game Kerplunk except the sticks will be pasta and there will be a bowtie pasta that you try to keep from falling through. The packaging will come with fettuccine noodles and there will be perforated holes in the box to stick the noddles through. After the noodles are placed, a bow tie pasta will be placed on top, and the players will take turned removing noodles from the slots until the bow tie noodle falls through.

We Stand Together Packaging (Example)

9/11/17

Final Product:

For the final box, I found one side that was throwing off the flow of the box. It was text over an image, so I changed the image to a full color. The stickers I used the #westandtogether along with the different languages.

Respond
1. Describe your experience(s) photographing your graphic design work. What are your strengths? What weaknesses can you improve?
2. What information from the above articles did you find the most helpful?
3. What are your opinions on the information regarding the addition of props and stylistic choices? How can you compose your images to feel both original and relevant to each project so they do not succumb to following/copying trends?

  1. I have photographed some of my work up in the design lab, but I have never professionally photographed my work. I think I am good at laying out my projects in a presentable way, but I think my downfall is lighting.
  2. I learned that soft shadows are better than harsh ones, and natural lighting is usually better.
  3. I think that using props can be convenient for showing the scale of the object, and I think props can work well if they are relevant to the function. I think that if the object is surrounded by props that are irrelevant to the function of the product, the photo can look like they are copying trends or artificial.

9/6/17

I wanted to have bold, graphic elements to help give a feeling of stability. The color palette I wanted to be bold and bright to be eye-catching.

I experimented a lot with pattern for this project, and I had trouble placing the patterns in a way that didn’t become too over whelming.

In critique, I got feedback that the patterns did become too much, and I needed to refine the overarching idea of different religions coming together.

I thought I could still keep the religion element, but take everyone’s differences to unite us. So, I created an overarching theme of “Differences Unite Us.” I added the difference of language as well. This allowed for more type and to use the type as texture.

Second Critique:

I got reviews about the patterns being close together and complications of text being hard to read over image. I also got feedback about maybe increasing the size of the clover/heart pattern to show the detail.

I agree with the image over text, and I agree with the some patterns being too close together.

I am going to try to incorporate more solid colors into my design, similar to the AIGA logo panel to help break up all of the concentrated pattern.

8/28/17

For the “We Stand Together” project I would like to use the protests at Charlottesville as a central theme. Most people who were there to spread hate believed what they were doing was correct in the eyes of God. There were many parallels with the protestors and Nazi beliefs. God is not hate though, and no matter what your religious beliefs are, Jesus stood for love and not hate. I would like to use this project as a platform to remind this select group, and other people, that religion should not be used to spread hate.

Religion includes people of different colors and backgrounds. Religion is supposed to be preaching love; it’s not supposed to be used as a platform for hate.

9/6/17: Successful Packaging

I think that Amazon does a great job of distinguishing their products from the rest of the pack.

Even though the design is simple, it gets the point across. Because it is simple, the box passes rule #2 of Forbes “Five Things Packaging Must Do.” Especially around the holiday season, this box is able to distinguish itself from the rest of the packages being delievered to your doorstep, which is rule #1, Stand Out. The box that your packages come in have the iconic arrow (or smile) across the box, which is rule #4, trigger emotional engagement.

I think that functionality for this packaging is high as well. Functionality is not listed as one of the rules, but I think functionality should play a part in packaging. Because of the box is going to get shoved around during shipping, there is not a lot of details with the design. Even after the box has been beat up, the design still stands.

I think that the “Just Laid” packaging is very clever and resourceful.

I think that the design catches the eye and stands out. I also think that the design is super simple and gets to the point of what the product is in a humorous way. I also think this could pass the “5 year old test” because you could send a child into the store and tell him/her to pick out the bos with the chicken laying an egg, and he/she would come back with these eggs. This packaging engages the customer because this is a very funny and clever use of design.

In similar ways, this “Playful Pasta” is using similar ideas as the “Just Laid” eggs. The packaging stands out because of its simple design and use of transparency to show the product through the packaging. Again, this pasta packaging could pass the “5 year old test” because there are no other pasta companies using the pasta as the hair on the illustrated packaging. The customer relates to the packaging because the packaging is clever and is easily picked up on.

--

--