Sara Moose-Torres: Process Documentation

Packaging Design, Fall 2017

Sara Moose-Torres
Packaging Design
28 min readAug 28, 2017

--

Table of Contents

Project One: We Stand Together

Project Two: Open & Play

Project Three: Jolly Pumpkin

Project Four: Starpack

Project Five: Opioid Awareness

Project Five: Opioid Awareness

November 27, 2017

OPIOID AWARENESS

The objective of this project was to integrate the opioid awareness campaign from shatterproof and a everyday product, in this case a face product trio from Clean & Clear. I wanted to focus on women for my demographic, and since historically this wasn’t the first time that women have suffered disproportionately from prescription opioid abuse, and I felt it would be helpful to try and dispel the stigma and feelings of isolation that accompany addiction. I’m very happy with how my labels turned out, especially the opulent hand done front labels. My only issue was how the sticker paper I used wasn’t fully transparent, but that is simply an issue of finding a different paper stock.

Art Direction: Brigette Davitt, Edinboro University

Typefaces: Garamond, Brim Narrow, Birch Std, Collona MT

Dimensions:

Paper: Epson Premium Presentation Matte, Avery Sticker Project Paper

November 15, 2017

First Finish

November 8, 2017

Critique

What I Heard: I need to incorporate the the brand name into the front label, and use the brand colors instead of the old colors. And maybe use a transparency with purple or white text instead of a solid background.

What I Think: This is all good advice, and it definitely is more coherent than my original color scheme plan.

What I’m Going to Do: I’m going to finish the set of three labels and experiment with transparency.

October 25, 2017

Idea Boards

Read & Respond

  1. How does it grab attention? The main way that any of my ideas grab attention is that they spread their message from an unexpected platform. No one expects opioid awareness from soda, face care products, or exercise equipment, so I feel that that would make people take a second look.
  2. How is it effectively directed at the target? I based each idea around a different at risk demographic, and each message would be tailored to the individual needs. For example, women suffering from opioid addiction suffer from a lot of social stigma, especially if they have children, and feel isolated in their problems, so this line would bring awareness to the issue, and the issues of historical cases of addiction among women and prescription painkillers.
  3. How is the concept on strategy? My products all target different ways that people may arrive at painkiller addictions, and focus on prevention through awareness and where ad how someone can receive help. For example, my face care products would be made to look like old fashioned glass medicine bottles, as most female opioid addictions stem from legitimate medical prescriptions, though often for under researched conditions.
  4. How is it benefit oriented? The benefit is mostly in the information on the packages, though I all picture them as parts of campaigns the donate to the specific cause that they are trying to address.
  5. How does it support the brand? My brand for each idea is not exactly based around real life, but is more focused around getting the message of the dangers of opioid addiction across and hopefully investing people int the issue.
  6. What is the call to action? The general call to action of any of my ideas is to bring awareness to the epidemic of opioid abuse.

Project Four: Starpack

November 27, 2017

STARPACK

The objective of the Starpack project was to create a new container form for a pint of Milk, and to have a concept to our design that fits our idea. I focused on the concept of milk that is not dairy, or milk with a twist and a lot of the design plays off of this idea. However, I feel that this project is far from my best work, and really struggled with the product. The form conveys the idea I want, and I like the color scheme and pattern, but I feel that I missed the mark on integrating the graphic and photographic elements in a way that feels cohesive. Any advice I can get would be helpful.

Art Direction: Brigette Davitt, Edinboro University

Typefaces: Pasta Simpla, Moon

Dimensions: 4.5 x 4.5 x 9

Paper: Epson Premium Presentation Matte

November 14, 2017

Read & Respond

Personally, I don’t like to use a lot of mock ups, because I take a lot of pride in my craft, and it is one of my strong points, so photographs of the actual product really showcase my abilities better than a mock up would. Also, mock ups tend to be rather generic, and once you know how to spot one, you can spot them all. The only time I like to use mock ups is when it puts it into the context that a product will be used in.

Second Finish

November 6, 2017

Read & Respond

  • Was it photographed, was the design placed on a mock up, or is it too hard to tell (take a guess!)?

This “Clean Break” series looks to be a mock up, mostly due to how the patterns in the product almost but not quite recede into space properly, so it’s off enough that it enters the uncanny valley of almost real but not real enough to convince.

This altoids based skincare project looks to be an actual photo, as the studio lighting isn’t as crisp or glossy as mock ups tend to be.

This is definitely a photograph , mostly because it keeps the rougher edges of book pages and the lighting is softer that you expect from mockups.

This is definitely a mock up.

Definitely another mockup.

• What do you think initially caught your eye?

The humor of these “Clean Break” pieces were a draw for me, because they really focus on the absurdism of a situation that is always awkward, so might as well make it memorable. The others tended to catch my attention with the illustrative qualities, or in the case of the world fair notebook the fact that it was obviously handmade, which gave it a charm that made it stand out.

• Is the actual design/concept as strong as the ‘image’ of the work?

I think that the concepts overall tend to be rather strong, though the mock ups definitely help the beers and water products by ensuring clean craft and consistency.

• What can you take away from the documentation of each piece as a potential successful strategy when photographing/documenting your own work?

The whole focus should be on the product, and the less distractions the better.

First Finish

October 30, 2017

What I Heard: Focus more on something that complements the shape. Think milk with a twist aka. not milk (soy, almond, etc.) and make the container smaller, it only has to be one quart. Maybe do a hand drawn type instead of a digital font.

What I Think: This is helpful, as I was pretty stuck on what direction to take and this was a great start.

What I’m Going to Do: I’m going back to the drawing board design wise, and exploring the ideas that were given above.

Rough Milk Carton Design

October 23, 2017

Idea Boards for the Milk Carton

Research: Milk packaging is not particularly exciting, though you can tell that it is trying to be. The containers themselves are fairly standardized, and while the design has been given more thought with the advent of soy milk and other milk alternatives, there is more sophistication beyond trying to be the loudest, brightest container on the shelf.

This idea is geared more towards a family with younger kids, demographic wise, and relies more on an interesting shape to grab attention.

This idea is aimed at the organic living adult demographic, and mostly based around the idea of an artisan brand of milk, which I find kind of amusing.

October 19, 2017

The main demographic for real milk companies seems aimed at families in general, and pulls for attention through bright colors and cartoonish shapes and typefaces. A lot of the current containers are don’t show a lot of variety, and the design is meant to stand out and scream among other designs, and none of it actually works. The design aspect of things has gotten slightly better since soy milk and other milk alternatives have gotten more popular, especially since it’s aimed an older demographic, there still haven’t been really any progress made by actual companies design or form wise. This could be a really fun challenge to work with, and I have more ideas for this brief.

Tea is mostly aimed at an adult demographic, and has a huge variety of tea and history to draw on. Tea has also gained a lot popularity among the younger demographic, which could be a fun challenge to work with.

Project Three: Jolly Pumpkin

October 16, 2017

Rationale: In this redesign for the Jolly Pumpkin Artisan Ale company I wanted to focus on the idea of death, and decided to play on the names using the skeletons to personify them. I also didn’t want to lose the hand done aspect that the company prizes itself on, so I incorporated hand drawn type and illustrations.

Fall 2017, Edinboro University

Art Direction: Bridgette Davitt

Dimensions: 9 in x 2.5 in x 2.5 in

Font Used: P22 Stickley Pro

October 11, 2017

October 2, 2017

Read & Respond

Brigette Feedback

The logo type is still pretty crowded, push up the scale of the “jolly pumpkin” along the top and wrap it the way it was done on the bottle notes, and then keep the spacing as shown in “artisan ales”, and bump up the date and word sour in scale. Also, make the lines in the pumpkin itself a bit thicker. The back label is also too aesthetically separate from the front, so maybe add the hand drawn type and the die cut corners to invoke the relation. The front labels also need more size consistency, so push the skeletons to be the same size, and then work the text accordingly. Also, work on the consistency of the weight of the hand drawn text, so it is the same from word to word, and use the same size text for each sub title. Also, change the style of the label so that there can be more white space to work with on the front label.

Partner Critique Comments

Tristen Miller’s Feedback

1. Typography
Number of typefaces used: 1 hand drawn and 1 regular
What are the type styles communicating, what are their purposes? I’m getting a somewhat decorative feel, but not quite from the hand drawn type. More like a title font. The other typeface is giving a more narrative vibe
Does the type fit comfortably in the space provided? Yes

2. Company Branding
Size and placement of the logo: The logo is decently sized for the space and placed on the back of the bottle.
Is cohesiveness established between the logo and other design elements?
How? If not, how can this be improved? With the majority of the design of the labels hand drawn, there is a cohesiveness there in that respect.

3. Color
Number of colors: 3 color
Describe the color palette and what it communicates. Tricolor: red, blue and yellow. I don’t know what it’s communicating to me. Maybe a day of the dead vibe of some sorts?
Is color cohesive throughout the four labels? Yes
Is it used to aid the viewer in identifying any product characteristics? Yes

4. Grid System
Is content centered? aligned left/right? Are columns used? Margins? Axial Relationships? The content is centered within the labels and the margins look to be all the same.

5. Visuals
Illustration? Photography? Pattern? Texture? Describe: The imagery is of skeletons each with a respective visual relating to the beer.
Are visuals used to assist in organizing content? Describe: The illustrations are used on the front to create a column for the name of the beer, type and alcohol content.
What do the visuals communicates about the product/brand? I’m getting a creepy vibe from the skeletons but also a light hearted vibe from the style they were done in along with their props.

6. Label Shape/Paper/Substrate and Bottle Form/Size/Materials
Quantity/Size/Shape/Type of labels: 2 small labels; one on the front and one on the back.
Paper Stock Finish, Color, Weight: Kraft tone
Relationship to concept? Not sure. (can’t think)
Aid in organization of information? Yes
Bottle and label(s) appropriate size/fit: yes
Bottle shape and material(s) relative to concept/product? Yes

7. Design Elements & Principles
Identify and describe any of the following used in the design:
Elements: LINE, SHAPE, PATTERN, TEXTURE, SPACE, DEPTH, COLOR
Principles: BALANCE, CONTRAST, DIRECTION, DOMINANCE, PROPORTION , RHYTHM, UNITY
Then, identify areas of the design that could benefit from use of any of the elements/principles listed above: Each of the bottles has a vertical structure to the labeling. Contrast comes from the different positions each of the skeletons is in with their props. The style and colors give unity to each of the bottles.
Each of the skeletons is a different size and I would like to see them the same.

8. Content
How is the content organized on the labeling system?
Where is content located (front, sides, back, lid, or bottom of packaging)?Hierarchy of Information (what do you read 1st, 2nd, 3rd…), Is it appropriate? The name, type of beer and alcohol content is on the front, while the description of the beer, and mission statement is on the back. On the front label I read the name first, type second and the alcohol content last. On the back, I read the description first, the mission statement second and the logo last. I believe the information is appropriately located and in the correct hierarchy

Kristen’s Feedback

First Finish Labels

September 25, 2017

Critique Notes

What I heard: The color scheme is a bit Easter like, and needs a few darker/ richer values to help with the contrast. The text is a bit awkward, and the hierarchy needs work, especially in the title label. Hand writing the label title may help. The word “pumpkin” in the logo is hard to read from a smaller scale, and needs to be separated a bit from the image. The skeleton with the trumpet is the illustration to keep, since it’s more dynamic and easier to read.

What I think: These comments are very useful, since they were issues that I noticed but wasn’t sure what to do about them, or that I hadn’t noticed.

What I’m going to do: I’m going to fix the issues pointed out in the critique, and clean up the the line work of the illustration before completing the other three.

Read & Respond

  1. The issues that I identified with the current Jolly Pumpkin logo was that it was very old fashioned, and didn’t seem to go well with the overall vibe with the company itself. I modernized the logo a bit, but I tried to keep the quirkiness of the original idea of the logo by incorporating handwritten type and the expression of the pumpkin.
  2. Yes, I included the all of the information of the logo.
  3. My logo design incorporates the current brand style and visuals of the pumpkin and hops, but unfortunately doesn’t currently mesh well with the visual of the label yet. I think my plan to clean up the illustration will help a lot with the cohesion.
  4. My product is a craft beer from Jolly Pumpkin, and what i want consumers to take away is a general feeling of handcrafted individuality through the illustration and craft of the labels. I’ll be the first to admit that the current integration between the label and the logo needs a lot of work, as they are different stylistically, but the same can also be said of my typefaces and hierarchy, as I have yet to find a typeface that I actually feel works well with the illustration and intended layout. I feel that the hand drawn type that I have in mind would help a lot in the matters of cohesion and hierarchy, especially between the logo and the label itself. I have chosen not to implement a grid system, in order to keep with the organic style I am working with, but I do utilize visual alignments, and intend for the labels to be consistent in both style and position. I’m planning on utilizing at least two labels per bottle, so as to keep a level of organization in my visuals, and so as to have room for all of the required content without making things crowded or affecting readability. I also intend to use a 70lb off white craftone paper, applied to the bottle with a spray on adhesive in all likelihood, which would enhance the impression of the ink and water color illustrations, but still display the text and colors nicely. The bottle itself I have yet to find, but I do want to use a tall, dark bottle, because I feel that it contrasts my labels nicely, and that dark bottles are just more elegant than a light bottle.

Label Roughs

Thumbnails & sketches

Digitized Logo

September 18, 2017

Jolly Pumpkin Logo Sketches

Critique of Logo

What I heard: The elongated pumpkin logo is the one to go with, but the type is too small and the vertical text is awkward, so either find a way to incorporate it into the vines or just place it horizontally below.

What I Think: These are definitely valid, and I will definitely work with the logo to see what i can fix with it and improve.

What I’m Going to Do: I’m going to make the suggested changes and see where to go from there.

These are really sketchy, but I was mostly focused on cleaning up the general logo idea. I wanted to use a more realistic pumpkin, and I was looking at combining both the text and the Hops motifs while keeping both text and image condensed around each other.

September 13, 2017

Jolly Pumpkin Research & Idea Board

Project Two: Open & Play

October 18, 2017

Final Rationale

For this project, the challenge was to create a container that acts as a secondary function to the product. In this case, a cookie container that becomes a tea mug. I wanted to create a sense of elegance in an almost ironic way, and I related it a lot to the tradition of afternoon tea.

Fall 2017, Edinboro University

Art Direction: Bridgette Davitt

Dimensions: 6in x 3.25 in x 3.25 in

Font Used: Butler

October 4, 2017

Critique Notes

The structure is still to big to be held comfortably, but the lighter material has helped with the over all look and feel of it. The color is still too bright and garish, so lighten it up and/or incorporate a subtle gradient. Less is more for the elegant feel that this packaging is going for, so increase self presence by making sure that the full logo/illustration is completely viewable from the front. Also, use the cookie bike illustration as the o’s in afternoon for the visual substitution, along with scaling it down on the history frame. The frames themselves are a nice touch, but be sure to use them as for the nutrition facts (also, include tea in the nutrition facts) and possibly in the lid itself, along with some micro illustrations and some minimalistic gold flourishes around the title. Also, work the structure to more of a taper to hold onto the cup easier.

September 27, 2017

Critique Notes

What I heard: the structure is too bulky, the correlated cardboard just makes it too heavy. There should be more rear chat done into Starbucks cups and using that for the inside layer, and a sleeve of sorts for the outside. The color pallet is not working, use the light green or purple scheme instead. Focus more on the cookies, since they are the actual product, and find a more cohesive folding method for the tea bag holder in the lid. Maybe use visual substitution of the o’s in afternoon for cookies. Also, there should possibly be a tilt for the cup itself so Astro make it easier to hold.

What I think: I have a lot of stuff to fix structure and visual wise, but I do think that I’m going in the right direction concept wise. I think that I’m going to have to experiment with products lighter than cardboard, possibly a poster board material. And I may also need to do more research into the different tea and cookie brands.

What I’m going to do: I definitely going to work on streamlining the structure of the container itself, and fine tune the visuals as suggested by today’s critique. I’m also going to work on fine tuning the structure itself.

Open & Play Layout Roughs

September 20, 2017

Open & Play Rough Mock Ups

This was my first attempt for the structure, and the most complete in terms of layering and usability. The main purpose of this structure was to get a feel for working with corrugated cardboard, which didn’t really work well with the original rounded shape I had in mind. It is also based around a Pringles can for visuals sake, until I could figure out an entirely cardboard based solution for a container meant to hold hot liquid.

These were all the poster board mockups I used to work out the ideal scale for my structure. I decided to go with an octagonal shape, because it’s both a reasonable shape meant to hold foodstuff, but it’s also something that can set my structure apart a bit from other ‘to-go’ containers. The main purpose of these mock ups was to find a scale that was comfortable to hold for the average person, and didn’t feel awkward, as the secondary function of the container is a mug.

This was the scale I found to be the most agreeable, at “4.5 high and with each panel “1 5/16 wide. It is also the version where I figured out my water holding solution for the final, which would be made of waterproofed cardboard, but the by using an overlapping fold at the bottom, which also helps insulate that part as it would not have the extra layer of corrugated cardboard that the side would.

This was my solution to the cookies that are the product that the packaging is for, but would otherwise get in the way of the secondary function otherwise. So I decided the best solution was to just create a paper holder for cookies that could be used as a plate of sorts so that someone could enjoy tea and cookies at the same time.

Open & Play Packaging Sketches

The actual products used

September 18, 2017

Open & Play: Read & Respond

  1. For my project, I want to communicate utility, but still have a bit of bit of fun and whimsy by styling it after a tea party and poking fun at history of tea as a sophisticated drink.
  2. My structure is pretty straightforward, and is mostly going to be set off by the labels and the more geometric styled container.
  3. I’m honestly not sure how I can make my packaging more minimized or mysterious, as it’s very straightforward and the play aspect is based more in the consumption of the product than anything else.
  4. I am definitely playing into the individualized grab and go aspect of packaging, but I am looking to try and play with an old fashioned tea company aesthetic for the imagery for the labeling.
  5. My packaging is for cookies, and the container itself doubles as a mug with a tea bag included, which I feel would be nice as a break snack of some sort.
  6. The entirety of my packaging is made out of cardboard, and I try to use as little adhesive as possible in the building of it.
  7. The product I’m doing is tea and cookies, and I’m playing into the concept of afternoon tea and the feeling of bringing the sense of relaxation of afternoon tea to a to go product.
  8. My product is not really based around any existing brands, so I’m not sure how to extend it in this way.
  9. The box itself would be sealed, so I would be using illustration to convey what is inside the package.

September 13, 2017

Open & Play Mood Boards

The idea behind imaginative steps is basically creating a line of children’s shoes where the inside of the box has a game or scene inside of it that be played with. The figures or games would be perforated so that younger kids would have no trouble cutting out figures/games (this was inspired by several childhood mishaps in my own cardboard creations) and sections of each play set would also act as a coloring book. The major goal behind this idea would be to create a new avenue of playing that would be more flexible to changes made by children without it being a big deal if something gets broken.

The driving force behind this idea is that everything about the packaging can be used. The box that hold the cookies and tea can be used as a loose leaf tea mug, and the wrapping that surrounds the cookies would be parchment paper that could be reused for the buyers own baking projects and would have a recipe for cookies printed on it. I really like the idea of a product doing as many different jobs as possible, but still being aesthetically pleasing, which is what I would try to accomplish with this.

September 12, 2017

Open & Play Brainstorming

Project One: We Stand Together

September 11, 2017

Mockups

Read & Respond

  1. My experience with shooting my work is fairly limited. I am not a particularly talented photographer, and honestly could stand to improve at everything that was noted in the article.
  2. Setting the scene and using a complimentary background with my work was something that I honestly didn’t think about. I’ve always seen work photographed in more sterile studio environments, and I feel that that would be more interesting than just a plain white background.
  3. The idea of using props is interesting and could really sell what you’ve designed by putting it in context, but I also think that it would be very easy to go overboard with it. I feel that it also depends on how a designer works, and what they feel will really highlight their work and not overwhelm it. It is definitely something a skilled photographer could pull off, but not a novice.

September 7, 2017

Critique#2 of “We Stand Together”

What I heard: It’s a little dark, and could use more variation in value, especially in the positive protesters. The ripped paper should show more of what is underneath, and I should consider doing an all yellow section on the box. Actually, overall add more yellow to brighten the look. Also, the figure on the top of the box and for the stickers needs to be more prominent. The type also needs more contrast in size and placement overall.

What I think: I feel like I’m finally going in the right direction with this project, and I’m more than happy to make improvements to my design.

What I’m Going to Do: I’m going to make the some changes and improvements to my box, tweak some of the details, and then happily turn in this project.

September 6, 2017

So this turned out completely different than any of my previous ideas, and was mostly the result of how I translated the critique I received last class. I feel that this is much more successful and interesting than my previous ideas, and has a lot more potential for expansion.

Read & Respond: “The Five Things Packaging Must Do”

A product that I really love the packaging of is the Farmacy line of skincare products, specifically the lip balm.

  1. I believe that it embodies all of the things that a product should have. It stands out through simplicity, and, I feel, elegance. It’s combination of white space and illustration makes it stand out against other make up products in Sephora. I feel that it also pretty easy to find, because saying the white box with the flowers on it is pretty easy to find within the store. I also have an emotional attachment because I enjoy gardening and the fact that the products are derived from natural sources and ideas is important to me. I think that all of the above make the packaging iconic.
  2. One quality I really liked about this product was how it could be interacted with. The box was layered, and when unfolded could be read and then refolded. It was a nice touch that I think that really brought the packaging to another level for me.

Puma Clever Little Bag

  1. I feel that this packaging is successful visually because of the bold coloring and simple layout. I also think that I could tell a child “Get the shoes in the bag with cat on it” and they would immediately know what i was referring to. I also really appreciate what they did by cutting down on their corporate waste.
  2. What I really like about this product that wasn’t mentioned on the list is the reusability of the bag. I personally have no less than ten reusable shopping bags, and they are all used on a regular basis. The idea that packaging can pull a double purpose is refreshing to me, and I like that it is becoming popular among a large company.

Playful Pasta

  1. What really makes this packaging stand out is the white space. Most pasta packaging is very dark and old fashioned, so the fact that the boxes are so modern and playful is refreshing. I think the making the pasta hair texture is very clever, and iconic in its own right.
  2. What I think is a major aspect of this packaging for me is that it made me laugh and admit it was clever out loud. A lot of packaging is pretty, but to make it clever is something entirely different, and much harder to do.

August 31, 2017

Take away from last classes critique:

What I heard: A good idea for a pattern for the inside of the box would be the headlines of the years worst events, of which there are many, instead of trying to fit them all on one part of the box. Also, instead of the previous theme, focus more on the line “Act right– Not Alt-Right” and design more with that in mind. The current hand written elements are currently too chalkboard-esque, and perhaps try a different color scheme, but still use it as a unifying device.

What I think: I feel that there is going to be a lot of back to the drawing board for me, especially imagery wise. I do like the shift of focus and the using of the new phrase as the new driving force of the design, but I’m currently not how I’m going to create a new direction out it.

What I’m Going to Do: I’m going to definitely go back and do more research for imagery and type. I would still like the design to mostly be focused around a hand written style of type, possibly in the style of protest signs, but that is not a final decision and is subject to change.

August 30, 2017

Rough Draft of “We Stand Together”

This is my favorite attempt just because it presents a lot of flexibility in tweaking the design. I also like how graphic and eye catching it ended up being. It feels a lot like a band album cover, and I like the in your face youthfulness that it portrays, because a lot of equality movements and pushes for change are made up and brought forward by the younger generations. I feel that the hand drawn quality also adds to the on the fly attitude to it, which I feel also pushes the idea.

This is a close second for me design wise, at least for concept, but it was much busier at the small scale I have to work with than I intended. Also, the type feels rather static, and I feel that it fights too much with the background images.

This was the least successful attempt of the three. I wanted to bring to mind old superhero comics, but it fell flat, and I’m not sure what direction I would take it in even if I kept working with the idea.

We Stand Together Packaging

August 29, 2017

Had the thought that if there was ever a time for superheroes this year would be it. Going to explore this further, possibly by doing a pastiche of old fashioned comic book elements. Still exploring the theme of love overcoming hate.

August 29, 2017

Class One: August 28, 2017

Picking an Idea

I’m between doing something typographic focusing on love, maybe having it forcibly blotting out hate, or creating in covering an icon or possibly even breaking the icon, possibly those god forsaken tiki torches, that represents the current hatefulness that is happening. I also could possibly do a collage off all the headlines terrible events that have been happening around the world this year and then literally overwriting it with a message of love. I also like the idea of finding a way to literally snuff out hate, maybe using the tiki torch icon idea. Possibly using the line love snuffs hate.

--

--