Poemorama at Paper Poetry

Making My Peace

and my bed with a zeugma sonnet

Carolyn Hastings
Paper Poetry
Published in
6 min readApr 20, 2024

--

A white bed frame under construction. The words from Psalm 4:8 (In peace I will lie down and sleep: for you alone, Lord, make me dwell in safety) are overlaid at the top of the image.
My bed in the making! Psalm 4:8 added to author’s photo using PowerPoint

I made my bed and peace with my Maker
I followed all the steps in the manual
assembling head and foot boards together
while contemplating words from the Bible

I thought about the path I had taken
Is this the bed I have made for myself
or is it Him who’s finally spoken?
If so, why now does He reveal Himself?

The slats lay criss-crossed like a crucifix
reminding me that He died for us all
I knew then I had been as thick as bricks
by locking Him out and building a wall

I had let pride control my happiness
Now He would lie with me in the darkness.

© Carolyn Hastings 2024

In peace I will lie down and sleep:
for you alone, Lord, make me dwell in safety.
Psalm 4:8

The seed for this sonnet started when I was researching the literary device, zeugma, for Poemorama Part 1. I figured the best way to get my head around a device I’d never heard…

--

--

Carolyn Hastings
Paper Poetry

Well-practiced speech pathologist now practicing to be a children’s book writer — emphasis on practicing.