Whispers of War

Ashlin S Biju
PaperKin
Published in
4 min readNov 28, 2023

Even the smallest sounds heard from outside made Zaem tremble with fear. His fingers traced the cold, chipped window frames, feeling the vibrations as the distant echoes of bombings reverberated through the glass. Yes, the house could fall off anytime. Nights are the most terrifying for him. The air, heavy with the scent of fear and uncertainty, clung to his skin. There are sounds of bombing heard from all sides. It is as if you are waiting for your turn. Nights, once cozy, now felt cold and lonely. Despite being alive, an insidious fear slowly consumed him.

“Well, what’s left to live for in this world anyway?” he thought. Zaem is just twelve but has already gone through what the majority of the world population has never experienced. He has experienced a real war, which most people barely know about through Instagram posts and television news. “What next? Until two days ago, I had my mother who would hug me whenever a loud noise echoed from outside. I had my sister holding my hand. I had my father who would protect my family at any cost. What do I have now? No one who had been there for me until last night remains.” Zaem couldn’t stop himself from thinking about his family. How can he? His pleasant smile had disappeared from his face.

Before the war erupted, Zaem’s family shared countless moments of joy and laughter. Baba, with his warm smile, used to tell Zaem and his sister bedtime stories that transported them to magical realms. Yumma, the heart of the house, would make delicious meals, filling the air with the comforting aroma of home-cooked food. Family outings to the nearby park were a cherished tradition, with Baba pushing Zaem on the swing while Yumma and his sister watched with gleaming eyes. These memories, now like faded photographs in Zaem’s mind, intensified the ache in his heart. The world outside had brutally transformed, but the echo of those joyful days lingered in the corners of his thoughts, making the present agony even more unbearable.

What’s more devastating than losing your entire family on your birthday night while sleeping at your home? Nothing can replace his loss. “How I wish I could have met them one last time, told them how much I love them, and given them a tight hug.” His father’s frightened face as he was looking out through the window when they heard the first blast, came to his mind suddenly.

“Everything’s fine… just go back to sleep,” Abba’s soothing words echoed in his head. “Oh, how I wish it was me instead of him”, Zaem couldn’t hold back his tears. “No, this is not real. They are still alive, just like I am, somewhere in between the rubble. Allah will protect them.” Zaem couldn’t accept the truth even after seeing his sister’s lifeless body.

Zaem was the only survivor in his family. “Why, God, did you take them away from me? I’ve been a good boy my entire life. You know I can’t live without them. I want to see them. I don’t have anyone else.” Zaem wanted things to go back to the time when there were no big noises heard from anywhere. When they didn’t have to fear the bombing. When the skies were bright and when he got to see his Baba, Yumma, and his sister around. Now, it felt like there was nothing left to keep him connected to his world. He is too young to be alone in this world. And there’s nothing that can be changed about it.

Zaem was exhausted from the tears that had consumed him the previous night. He couldn’t remember when he slept off. How he wished to see his mother by his side when he woke up. However, deep down, he had acknowledged the harsh reality that he would never see them again. He knew he would be alone in his journey ahead, whether he survived this war or not. Deep down, he had a different story written for himself, which ended before it even began.

Enjoyed reading this story? Here is an interesting article from our side:

The Witness. Alice got inside her Mustang and drove… | by Anandu Kishor Kumar | PaperKin | Nov, 2023 | Medium

Follow us on Medium (PaperKin) for more fun and exciting content. For more updates find us on Instagram, Twitter and LinkedIn.

Are you an aspiring writer and want to publish with us? Leave a message at paperkinsocial@gmail.com or let us know on any of our social media. We will reach out to you soon!

--

--

Ashlin S Biju
PaperKin
Writer for

Exploring life's wonders through words. Join me on this adventure!