Gospel Transformation Study Bible (ESV) — Crossway Publishing

A study Bible that makes connections to Jesus on every page

Jason Park
Park & Recommendations

--

The newest study Bible from Crossway is beautiful, simple, and life-changing. There are many resources out there to help connect the entire Bible to the gospel. The Gospel Project, a resource used by many Sunday school classes including mine, is a great one that shows gospel connections each week as you move through the Bible in two years. But I had not seen a project that literally takes almost every passage of the Bible and makes gospel connections within it. Then I started using the Gospel Transformation Study Bible. The biblical text, of course, is the transforming thing within it, but the analysis of the biblical text and the explanation it provides (for even seemingly obscure passages) is extremely helpful. As usual for these reviews (see below for my other study Bible reviews), I’ll break it down into its component features to help your buying choices.

(Disclaimer: I currently own a CSB Study Bible (leather touch) and before that I owned an ESV Study Bible (hardcover). I have also reviewed a Disciple’s Study Bible (hardcover), Spurgeon Study Bible (hardcover), Worldview Study Bible (leather touch), and Archaeology Study Bible (hardcover) so those are my points of comparison here.

--

--

Jason Park
Park & Recommendations

Book-reviewer, AP World History and AP Psychology Teacher. MAT Secondary Social Studies, University of Arkansas. Arlington, TX.