How Writing Consistently Could Change Your Life

Sinem Günel
Personal Growth
Published in
6 min readNov 28, 2022

--

Photo by Ketut Subiyanto

When I say writing has changed my life, most people think I’m exaggerating or being too romantic. But I’m not.

Over the last five years, I’ve practiced various forms of writing:

And I can confidently tell writing can change your life in ways you might’ve never expected. Here are some of them:

Writing = Communicating with yourself.

When I encourage aspiring writers to finally start publishing their work, they often feel intimidated because they believe they “don’t have anything interesting to say.”

When I tell them they can just write in a personal journal, they say, “my life is boring. I don’t even experience enough stuff to write it down.”

But writing isn’t about “having something to say.”

It’s about finding out what you want to say.

By writing, you gain clarity about your thinking, which allows you to dive deeper and find more topics to talk and write about.

--

--