What is Good Conflict?

Conflict is not (always) abuse, but it is not up to observers to decide

Jillian Enright
Pigeon’s Peculiarities

--

Created by author on Canva

Brief disclaimer

This is another little side-quest from my usual writing. I originally wrote this as a paper for a University rhetoric course.

I have broken it into two parts and made efforts to edit it to make it easier to read, so I hope you enjoy. If you do, stay tuned for part two!

Good conflict

I’ve written a few times about the risks of conformity and compliance. I’ve written about the harms of unquestioning obedience, and of avoiding disagreement for the sake of being “nice” or easy-going. When I read Conflict is Not Abuse, I thought I might a kindred spirit.

I’m a bit late to the party, but I recently read an article written by Molly Fischer entitled Good Conflict. In a profile of Sarah Schulman which featured her book Conflict is Not Abuse, Fischer describes Schulman’s insights as viable alternatives to our current culture of hostile disagreements and perpetual victimhood.

Fischer summarizes the social issue outlined in Conflict is Not Abuse as one wherein people overstate harm when experiencing the inevitable discomfort of human misunderstanding. Rather than accept some responsibility as participants in a…

--

--

Jillian Enright
Pigeon’s Peculiarities

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.