I’m Moving to Medium

Christine Mohan
Platform Agnostic
Published in
4 min readJul 23, 2016

My reading list is piling up faster than I can keep up. Not the bedside stack of books, not the NYT pile of papers (yes I still get home delivery. Sunday Styles online just isn’t the same).

Nope, it’s the “CM must read” link list in my Gmail (see below). And let’s not even get started with my daily email from Medium. Can’t stop clicking; it’s the best browsing around. Let’s hear it for serendipity!

I’ve been fascinated by Medium…the quality, the ease of discovery and the simplicity of the interface. Plus I love white space.

And I’ve been yearning/dreading/knowing I need to get back to writing. My last Mohan Media blog post was June 2013…not surprisingly, the start of a rough three years of death, dying and illness. More on that later.

So I decided it was time to pack ’em up and move over to Medium. Surprisingly easy to do, XML is a wonderful thing. A little cleanup of captions, still some work to do on the photos, but now about 30 posts from my 2 blogs are all in one place. Yay!

And what better way to spend a 96-degree day in Queens. It was an enjoyable trip down memory lane — reading about the first days of my solo PR/web ops/product marketing gig, working from my kitchen table then the basement (until the flood…what is it about Queens and flooding?)

Now I’m off to gather the notebooks I’ve been keeping, and the scribbles, and the draft Gmails with subject lines “Blog This” (disclaimer: often written from the back of a cab, sometimes after a few glasses of wine). Can’t wait to get started.

P.S. Here’s my to-read list from the past few weeks:

How Google is Remaking Itself as a “Machine Learning First” Company

My Four Months as a Private Prison Guard

How QuarkExpress Became a Mere Afterthought in Publishing

Why Too Much Ad Tech at Cannes Actually Fuels Creativity’s Future

Tronc Talk: A Q&A with the Company’s Digital Bosses

Netflix Culture: Freedom & Responsibility

--

--

Christine Mohan
Platform Agnostic

KILT Protocol in Berlin. Priors: Web3 Foundation & Polkadot in Zurich; @Civil Media in Brooklyn; digital ops & PR for the NYT, WSJ and startups.