How I write erotica

A few thoughts and a few links.

Kaia Bell
Erotica
3 min readJun 5, 2021

--

Licensed from DepositPhotos.

Someone recently asked me how I write erotica. Thinking he was talking about story mechanics, I launched into a whole breakdown of how I bend dramatic structure to frame a sex scene, but it turned out that wasn’t his question. He wanted to know about my process.

And it reminded me how different my process is for erotica compared to any other genre. It’s personal. I typically start with a sexual experience I want to create and work backward to set the right conditions. That sexual experience is always something I enjoy, something I’ve experienced, or something I’m craving. In other words, it’s something that turns me on.

That’s a luxury I don’t really have anywhere else, so I think that’s going to be the little rule I have for myself when I write here. I’ll continue to write stories that turn me on and maybe they’ll turn someone else on, too.

It’s a rare privilege and I’m grateful to have a platform for it.

Stories in Other Publications

Since this is my first attempt at a newsletter, I’m not entirely sure how I want to structure it but I figured it should include links to stories I’ve written elsewhere.

I have two pieces of cheating erotica in The Scarlett Letter. I love this stuff. Maybe because it’s taboo and morally grey — I don’t know. I like things that are a little bit wrong:

Cheating in a Roadside Motel

My Husband’s Asleep So We Need to be Quiet

For MyErotica, I wrote what I can only describe as a woman-directed gangbang. It’s a story of sexual excess and relentless penetration:

An Insatiable Woman

Novella

I’ve published a piece of novella-length erotica. It was originally published on Amazon (and elsewhere) and was written for readers into MFM menage. I wanted to see if it was possible to publish long-form, serial-type stories here on Medium (and I think the answer is yes?). Anyway, you can find the whole thing here.

Looking Ahead

I’ve added some navigation to this publication and for now, I’m only using it for my own stories. I’ve added a section for essays/reviews, which has a grand total of one story at the moment, but I’m leaving it there as an option for the future. Any nonfiction I write will have something to do with sex.

And I’m still working on recording some audio for you. I’m thinking of starting with stories written in second-person POV, like My Husband’s Asleep So We Need to be Quiet. I feel like that might be best suited for audio. Once I figure it out, I’ll publish the audio here and probably add it to the navigation.

I’m also going to try to write a few shorter pieces. I’m very aware that my stories are long by Medium standards, probably because once I start a sex scene, I want to follow it all the way through, but it would be good for me to try going short every once in a while.

That’s it, for now. I hope you’re enjoying your weekend, wherever you are.

Kaia xx

--

--

Kaia Bell
Erotica

Sex, history, and erotica with a touch of deeply felt kink. Site: kaiabell.com