My Fact-Driven Journey

Martin Schimak ☕
Eventually Consistent
6 min readAug 19, 2018

--

2018 With this post I kick off a little series of posts. I want to shine light on commands and events, also queries and reports. I plan to describe them as flavours of domain facts driving potentially widely distributed, just semantically and loosely coupled execution flows. I feel a discussion of this mental model might improve my understanding of event-driven architectures, domain-driven design and associated patterns like event sourcing and CQRS.

Originally I thought I will write one post or article and then I’m done! :-) But now I know that I will need a series of posts, and because I do have experience with “development”, I also know that I will drive the streets based on new facts and your considerations.

I hope to get your feedback to eventually get this stuff consistent!

The current plan for my journey

In my backpack: A Little Chatbot For Schools

This little scenario will be used in some examples on my journey.

It’s Monday morning 8am and a school principal’s phone rings. One of her teachers reports to be “knocked out” and sick for up to three days. The principal looks at the teacher’s time table in order to arrange for the very first lesson…

--

--

Martin Schimak ☕
Eventually Consistent

I’m #storystorming your business 🤟 Modeling #DDDesign Collaboration 🍡 Processes, Sagas in Distributed Systems 👷‍♂️ @dddvienna @reactivevienna