Poetry

I come from a place

Tanka chain poem for Poetry Playground writing prompt #24

Iban Van der Zeyp
Poetry Playground
Published in
2 min readMay 31, 2024

--

Photo by Gabe on Unsplash

I come from a place
where days never seem to end
and darkness is lost
A place not that far away
but another world, my friend

It’s now lost in light
eternal, the stars have gone
I left many souls
And I still hear their echoes
they want darkness but get none

And I cannot help
thinking of what’s left back there
friends and family
my whole life and so much more
The things about which I care

Yet I had to go
make a new start, a clean slate
away from this place
so familiar but somehow
I had deeply come to hate

My new home has both
night and day, as it should be
and I see the stars,
the moon and nocturnal clouds
unlike before, I feel free

--

--

Iban Van der Zeyp
Poetry Playground

I was born in the year of the first moon landing. I'm a visual artist, writer and photographer. That's it.