Writing Prompts | Poetry

Poetry Playground Writing Prompt #27

Heights and Spiders

Jonny Masters
Poetry Playground
Published in
5 min readJun 21, 2024

--

man abseiling down a rock face
Photo by Nico Smit on Unsplash

Include a link to a poem by another Poetry Playground author that you’ve clapped and commented on in your story. This is a Playground where we support each other, and this will help everyone.

NOTE: Remember to include ‘Poetry Playground’ as one of your tags.

It is time for another Poetry Playground Prompt! Last week’s prompt received beautifully varied and thoughtful responses. This week the prompt is a theme.

I am going away this weekend with work. I will be spending the weekend at an outdoor centre with amazing young people. It is likely I will come back very tired!

Whilst I am there I will be taking part in activities. I have been on many residentials over the years. I have abseiled, zipwired, tried the ‘Leap of Faith’ and completed high ropes courses. I am not a fan of heights, but when I am in a harness I embrace the experience. I have also kayaked, built rafts and shot arrows.

This weekend, however, will be different. I have the opportunity to try something I have never done before; caving.

I don’t know how I feel about it. I get claustrophobic, so if we go through very tight spaces I will struggle. We might also go abseiling…

--

--

Jonny Masters
Poetry Playground

Gay Christian. Editor of Poetry Playground, Inclusive Christianity, Prism & Pen. I write a daily drabble with themes such as pets, tourism, humour and politics.