Writing Prompt #20

The Weather Outside is Lightening

And what is inside me is brightening

Catherine Oceano
Poetry Playground
Published in
2 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Boats lie at anchor in a peaceful bay. It is evening and the sky is a shade of pinky purple and that is reflected onto the water
Photo credit: author, Catherine Oceano

The weather reflects my mood
or is it the opposite?

When I am happy
even grey skies can look beautiful

Laughter can emerge
in rain, hail, sleet

And in the dark days
after my son died

Even the sunniest ones
were not enough

The sunset that would pull me over
to stop and consider its colours

Then looked like a sad reflection
of lost days of laughter

As if the shades of pink and orange
now represented dark, not light

I’m beginning again to absorb
light in the form of sunshine

Beautiful flowers now look
like the magic of nature that they are

My mood now quickens and shimmers
with the sunrise: upwards, onwards

Then, back then, it was another day to awaken
and remember the nightmare that was true

--

--

Catherine Oceano
Poetry Playground

old but not dead, mother, partner, grandmother, writer, Canadian Become a Medium member and support great writers like me.