The Ugly Duckling in the Streets of Africa

When I lived in the streets like the Nazarene Jesus

Dominic Onyeji
Poetry Publication
2 min readFeb 29, 2024

--

Photo taken from Google Image

People knew Jesus as a wanderer in the land.
The Jew rejected him since he was a vagabond.
Who did not know the Nazarene Jesus as a hobo?
Why do Christians keep celebrating him as a hero?

Jesus of Nazareth lived in the streets like herdsmen.
Humankind knew that he had no wife and children.
The Jewish history has repeated itself in the East.
People knew that I was living like Jesus in the past.

I remember I was a replica of Jesus.
He was a son of a Jewish woman,
But he did not have home like us.
People knew him as a ghetto man.

I remember that Jesus and I were the same.
I lived in the streets of Africa long time ago.
How come the Nazarene Jesus had no home?
Did Christians know he lived in the ghetto?

H. C. Andersen saw me living in the street;
He saw that I was then an ugly duckling.
Nobody knew I would become elegant.
Did you know why I was sent me parking?

Remember, the Nazarene Jesus had siblings.
My mother and siblings took me as the Devil.
That was why they decided to send me packing.
The Bible did not say that Jesus Christ did evil.

Jesus in the Bible was a Rabi, the master.
Humankind knew the master had no home.
I lived like him before I became a Superstar.
We both lived in the ghetto and had no shame.

The Nazarene Jesus was an ugly duckling.
Anderson saw the vision clearly in the Garden.
He saw that I was equally ugly in the beginning.
Jesus latter became an elegant swan in the heaven.

What and what do you know about the heaven?
I am the elegant swan ruling in the eastern Eden.

--

--

Dominic Onyeji
Poetry Publication

I am a Nigerian contractor. Writing is my calling. I bear philosophic pen power, serving as an explicator, poet and songwriter. https://sweet.pub/@onyeji.dsage