Prompt: Personifying appliances in response to ‘Relational Randomness’

An Alien on the Countertop

Encounters of a midnight kind

Raine Lore
Rainbow Salad
Published in
2 min readOct 21, 2021

--

Midnight Alien by Raine Lore

Something went BUMP in the night
I awoke with a start, and a fright!
With my heart full of dread,
I rushed from my bed
To encounter an alien light.

Legs splayed; Thing perched on my bench.
I advanced with a handy pipe wrench,
“Don’t beat me! it cried,”
(Red eye open wide)
“I’m afraid of your evil intent.”

I lowered my weapon in haste
As I studied my foe with distaste,
I asked him, “Just why
Did you think to drop by?”
He winked — “To steal power, and a mate!”

“Outer space is a big place to be
When my only companion is me.
I have loving in mind;
The sleek, metal kind,
To rub plugs with, before we make tea!”

With horror, I saw his eye rove
To my jug as it sat near the stove.
Then his head spun around,
With his eye turned compound
As he gazed at his newly betrothed!

To the toaster at end of the bench,
He winked and cried, “Hello there, wench!”
“I don’t want to boast
Would love tea, and some toast!”
So, I mated him with my pipe wrench!

Alien with a compounded eye for beauty. Photos by Raine Lore

A very silly limerick written with the intention of tagging the people below. Co-incidentally, Will Hull, pipped me at the post with his prompt request, “Got a Weird, Odd Limerick Request?” This is an answer to Wills’ prompt, and a suggestion for anybody who would like to get onboard.

Prompt: The Personification of Appliances.

Will Hull, Squeeze the Avocado, Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她), Christopher Robin, yesnodunno, Ellie Jacobson, Carlos Garbiras

--

--

Raine Lore
Rainbow Salad

Independent author, reader, graphic artist and photographer. Dabbling in illustration and animation. Top Writer in Fiction. Visit rainelore.weebly.com