Poem: You Vs Me

It was never supposed to happen who can challenge fate?

Uzaifa Memon
Rainbow Salad
1 min readNov 20, 2023

--

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

I pour my heart into you,
You keep stomping over it

I burn in the blazing sun to shelter you,
You bask in the calming moonlight alone

I crawl through the darkness alone,
You keep enjoying your oblivion bliss

Is it my fault that my heart is tender
My soul is mushy
My emotions are intense
And I am confined to them?

Or is it you?
Your self-centredness
Your family
And the way you are tied to it?

It was supposed to be us
Our ecstasies
And our happily ever after
Oh, but now it’s you vs me…

It’s exhilarating and unnerving to think about (and write) an unbalanced story where one character would always love the other more. It’s the heartache, the helplessness and the raw agitation that guts me and of course, the character who’s suffering through this.

When I penned this poem, A Symphony of Contradictions, I knew the turmoil my characters had to endure in the upcoming chapters. But now, it’s getting way too steamy and intense.

If you enjoyed this poem, please head here to read more such intriguing poems.

Of course, thank you for reading this far!

--

--

Uzaifa Memon
Rainbow Salad

Content Creator. Data Analyst. I'm open to experiments but bounce back to writing about tech and writing itself. I ask and answer weird (but helpful) questions!