Being Open About Being Open: Coming Out as Polyamorous

All about the pros and cons of sharing your relationship orientation and tips for a smooth transition.

Rachael Hope
Polyamory Today

--

Photo by Mayank Baranwal on Unsplash

When people ask me who practices polyamory, my answer is that all kinds of people do; in fact, they probably already know someone who’s polyamorous! I feel lucky that I had the privilege and security to be open with my relationship orientation pretty early on when I figured it out. I’d just come out of a marriage, was single, didn’t have a job that would be put in jeopardy or family who would turn their backs.

Coming out as polyamorous was important to me for many reasons.

I made a post on my Facebook page, and to my surprised delight, received multiple private messages from friends I’d had no idea were on the non-monogamy side of the relationship spectrum. As a writer with strong convictions, I’ve chosen to use my voice to talk about things many people won’t (or can’t) talk about. It’s one of the reasons I write about polyamory, and a big reason for the creation of Polyamory Today.

Coming out as polyamorous was important to me for many reasons. I spent so much time living in a way that was not fulfilling or vivid, and I was ready to open my heart in every way…

--

--

Rachael Hope
Polyamory Today

Polyamorous, loud laughing unapologetic feminist, rad fatty, and epic sweet tooth.