Possibly the best picture I ever took…

Welcome to Positives and Negatives

WoSo + Data + Photography

Nikita Taparia
Positives and Negatives
2 min readOct 15, 2016

--

There are three things I love: Data, Photography and attending NWSL games. For a long time, none of these intersected until I started attending Seattle Reign home games to improve my photography and towards the end of the fourth season, I started to explore my accumulation of data driven questions about the game. With that, Positives and Negatives was born! My goal is to introduce my data explorations to fans and share narratives through photography. Storytelling through numbers, photos, or both! This publication is open to submissions and ideas. Please see the guidelines below.

The Submission Process

Join Medium. You need an email, Facebook, or Twitter account.

Request to be a writer: Create a draft post, click ‘Share draft’ (top right), and copy and email the link to positives.negatives at gmail dot com. Medium also let’s you import your content in case you draft it elsewhere.

Once I add you as a writer: You can submit your drafts to Positives and Negatives under ‘Add to publication’ after hitting the “…”. Note, not all pieces can be published but if I find your writing wonderful, I may email back and forth with you about different ideas.

If you have pitched a data story, please have all your data and analysis organized and explained. I will provide full support on the graphics side to bring your story to life.

Editing/Publishing: We’ll communicate via notes to edit your piece for style,aesthetic, and tags. Once everything is finalized, it will be published! Note: Another article found the optimal piece is a 7 minute read.

Images: Use images under creative common licenses or your own images. Understand the differences between the creative common licenses and where attribution is necessary. Medium has a list of stock image resources and these do not require attribution. It is not hard to figure out if something is Creative Commons on various websites. My Flickr is also open for this publication only so let me know if you want to use an image. If you are a photographer and want to create a photography feature, send us an email!

License: Under Medium’s policy, you can retain all rights to your content and may remove your post at any time or you can have it under the creative commons license. If you choose to remove content, I ask you give me a little notice, so I can remove any potential links to your story in other published stories.

For more updates on Medium and new features they introduce, check out one of their publications.

--

--

Nikita Taparia
Positives and Negatives

Engineer. Scientist. Data Nerd. Cookie/Coffee Addict. Educator. Tennis/WoSo. Photographer. Musician. Artist. Whiteboards. Writer.