Taken during the 2015 Women’s World Cup Final

Women’s Soccer Inspired Me To Learn How To Use My DSLR

As the love of women’s soccer increased in this country, so did my knowledge and experience with photography.

Nikita Taparia
Positives and Negatives
8 min readDec 18, 2016

--

On July 27th, 2014, I attended my first National Women’s Soccer League [NWSL] game at Memorial Stadium, home of Seattle Reign FC. They faced their rival, Portland Thorns FC. Tickets were $24 dollars, which I picked up the day of the game. Because it was my first time, I came early in case there was some ‘protocol’. It turned out I could sit anywhere I chose so I went to the front of the stands, but not the very first row. I brought my camera with me because I figured, this is my chance to see some incredibly big stars between both teams. I was even more starstruck at the fact I could watch all these players so close to the field.

At this point, I did not own Lightroom and I had never used any control on my ISO, aperture, or shutter speed. I also became a huge fan of Naho, who scored two goals and assisted Rapinoe’s goal in her first game back from injury. The fourth picture is their celebration.

The game and atmosphere was incredible. It ended up being the highest attendance that season — 5,957 — and we shutout Portland 5–0. Apparently, I took 1188 photos but barely any of them were very good mostly because up until that point, the only thing I really took pictures of were stationary scenes (landscapes). This was a whole new challenge. And while I thought this first game was a challenge, the next game was even worse. Seattle faced Washington Spirit on August 9th, 2014. I sat in the front this time but it did not make a difference. It got dark very quickly and I soon learned, it is incredibly difficult to take pictures of action shots in the dark without a tripod and with the lowest aperture of f/4.5. Seattle went on to win the regular season and host the Spirit in a playoff game again. I could not attend.

The last picture of this set was the very first time I took a backline shot and immediately found a beauty in it. Since then, I have not changed my seat. My goal is to capture this for every single team.

The season ended and the Women’s World Cup was looming. Because a group game and the final were in Vancouver, I knew I had to go. This was a once in a lifetime experience. With my tickets bought, I also knew this would most likely prevent me from attending any of the 2015 NWSL season. On July 16, 2015, I drove north to my first World Cup game.

The Department of Defense — the USWNT backline and Hope Solo always huddle before the game. It just so happen, the light was hitting them perfectly. They also were seconds away from holding the shutout record during the World Cup (539 minutes vs. 540 minute record by Germany 2007).

The World Cup was a very different experience — there is just something about 55k+ fans in attendance that just cannot compare to the small intimate atmosphere of Memorial Stadium.

The women were forced to play on turf and the crowd was mostly American so it felt like a home field even though I was in Canada.

I sat in the front row corner for my first US Women’s National Team game, the last part of the group stage, against Nigeria.

The second photo was an offsides goal from Julie Johnston. The fourth photo ended up being Abby Wambach’s last World Cup goal.

Of all the photos I took, I think my favorite sequence was watching one of my favorite players, Becky Sauerbrunn defend for her life.

Her eyes never leave sight of the ball, even as she goes down.

On July 7th, 2015, I sat at the top of the stadium for the World Cup Final.

The last huddle.

I could see the American Outlaws on the other side of BC Place.

To be honest, I took thousands of photos but have no memory of it because of how quickly the score escalated in the first sixteen minutes. The first goal was in the 2nd minute.

Megan Rapinoe, on her birthday, assists the first goal to Carli Lloyd, right in front of the American Outlaws!

The second goal was in the 3rd minute.

“No one is marking Lloyd!” Probably the most iconic commentary. I think the only reason I caught this sequence before the goal was because of how quickly it came after the first goal. I did not actually get the ball in the net because I was too busy jumping up and down.

The third goal was in the 14th minute.

Lauren Holiday scored an incredible volley and sends a kiss to her family. This would be the last time I get to see her play because she retired afterwards.

The fourth goal was in the 16th minute.

“Hat trick for Lloyd!” It was the shot from midfield that stunned the nation and it was the first time Hope Solo could get into the celebration!

The fifth goal was in the 54th minute.

Tobin Heath, 2016 USWNT Player of the Year, scores her first World Cup goal, assisted by Morgan Brian.

Those first 20 minutes were a blur and the next 70 minutes were the slowest moments of my life. Everyone around me was ready to celebrate.

The only time I took a video and I was not very good at it because I could not stop shaking in excitement! I kind of wish I took pictures instead of this moment but I figure video would allow me to have this memory forever.

While I promised myself I would not attend any more games this year, I was hooked. It is this adrenaline rush I cannot describe. This feeling I get as I try to capture something so fast-paced that anything can change in a split second. I attended the Seattle Reign semifinal against Washington Spirit on September 13th, 2015.

When the 2016 season started, I did not buy season tickets because I seriously thought I would not attend all the games. This ended up being mostly untrue. Lighting was never an issue during the World Cup. However, in Memorial Stadium, I still needed to figure out how to take pictures in a low-light setting without a tripod. Anticipation of movement was important.

I think almost every single picture taken during this game against Portland was blurry.

However, learning how to use Lightroom became a big part of this process.

Arsenal Ladies flew over to face Seattle Reign in a night game. I tried to solve the low light problem with Lightroom.

So I did.

Chicago Red Stars against Seattle Reign had some pretty interesting lighting because of the time of the game. It also gave me a chance to explore Lightroom more.

I do not know what came first: my addiction to the atmosphere at Memorial Stadium or my obsession to improve my photography of the scenes unfolding in front of me.

I call the sequence of shots related to this picture, “Bench Life”. The beauty of the Portland-Seattle rivalry is the Portland fans sit right across from me and get fired up when there is a call against them…

I also fell in love with backline shots.

Defense is my favorite part of the game. You can tell a lot about a team based on the organization of the backline (and how easy it is to capture it).

Of all the pictures I have taken in the last few years, the most bittersweet moment came while watching our captain, Keelin Winters, score a goal in her last home game at Memorial Stadium.

The midfield trio in the second picture has been together since I started attending games. Keelin ended up contacting me for the goal celebration pictures and I was incredibly happy to give them to her.

At this point, I still believe I can get better and I cannot wait for the fifth season of the National Women’s Soccer League. Between the excitement of the game, the atmosphere of the stadium, and the anticipation to take the next shot, I am ready. And this time, I did purchase season tickets.

This is part of Positives and Negatives, a blog that bridges data and photography together to tell stories about women’s football! If you are interested in contributing, please check out our submission guidelines! Don’t forgot to like this post, follow this publication, and share on your social media app of preference!

--

--

Nikita Taparia
Positives and Negatives

Engineer. Scientist. Data Nerd. Cookie/Coffee Addict. Educator. Tennis/WoSo. Photographer. Musician. Artist. Whiteboards. Writer.