Introducing PostMoji — The Millennial Postcard

Laksh Fomra
PostMoji
Published in
3 min readJul 17, 2017

Today, the 17th of July is World Emoji Day & as unrelated as it might seem at the moment I am very excited to announce my new project: PostMoji.

Sometime in late May, I had written a small piece about The Art of Millennial Expression as a prologue to the project and while I was hoping to launch today some logistical glitches have me bound; so not wanting to let the occasion pass here is a little announcement post :)

Building some context, what I started with was how ‘expression’ has evolved over time, and how today we value everything that’s effortless including expression. But something about the Millennial way of expressing (a status, a message, a caption) was just not fulfilling enough.

While thinking about how we could possibly bridge that gap, and what us Millennials associate with it dawned upon me: the importance of an Emoji in our lives.

The emoji is a lot more than an icon. It’s an emotion, an expression, an identity. It says everything you want to say, without having to say it and for us Millennials it’s been empowering, to say the least.

Remove the emoji, and a lot of our expression would lose it’s essence. And that’s when it all came together, was there a way for the emoji to transcend into the physical world (not in the merchandising sense, but in the expression sense.)

Postcard + Emoji = PostMoji

I have always been a sucker for Postcards, the idea of receiving one has been romanticised in my head. It was a beautiful form of expression, said very little but meant a lot. While I might have sent or received only a handful, it always had this charm I never quite got over.

So, the idea of PostMoji is turning the emoji into a giant postcard which you can send to a friend, a lover, family or somebody you want to reconnect with. It’s simple, but for me it brings expression back in it’s little way.

Pick an emoji -> Write a 250 character message -> Ship.

It’s going to be that simple. That effortless, but all that magical.

The way it’s designed, the person receiving it could use it as decor. Hang it on their wall, place it on their desk or stick it on their wardrobe. It’s not meant to be snuck away in a little box, to grow old with you (there will be an actual postcard in it for that 😛 ) but it’s something that will brighten up their space. It’s durable. It’s washable and it’s unforgettably cute.

With PostMoji I wanted to bring together two worlds. One that belonged to the generation gone-by where expression meant real gratitude, or real apology and ours which values technology & convenience. And I’ve tried to capture that in every little element of the brand from the packaging to the logo. And thus the slightly oxymoronic tagline: The Millennial Postcard.

The Logo

I am hoping for the store to go live by the end of July/first week August and that’s when I’ll unveil the rest of the Moji designs + packaging. We’ve also worked on some custom designs not in the current set of emojis 😎

But in the meanwhile I’d love to hear from you about what you think of the idea because any suggestions or feedback is valuable at this point.

Also in case you’d like to receive a PostMoji at launch, just drop in your email id on: www.postmoji.in & I’d reach out personally 😁

Cheers!

Laksh
Founder & Chief Emoji Officer ;)

P.S: The child in me is really eager to give everybody a sneak-peek of the Mojis right away, but I guess I’ll have to save something for the actual launch? 🙈

--

--