I Quit My Blogs and Replaced Them with Three Simple, Free, Writing Platforms

I feel lighter already

Karen Banes
Practice in Public

--

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

My word of the year for 2024 is ‘simplify.’ And I have to say, I’m smashing it. Things in my business and personal life are getting simpler by the day, and it feels amazing.

So today I’m sharing with you how the simplification process is panning out, in terms of my content creation business. Just in case you’re on a similar journey, and you’re interested in the mechanics.

This week I quit all three of my niche blogs and stepped away from blogging, around 16 years after I first felt the thrill of hitting publish and sending my very first blog post out into the world. To start with, let’s look at the main reasons why.

I can’t compete

As Brendan Charles pointed out in this article, big corporations are spending more on SEO than many of us do on our mortgage. As a writer for a content marketing agency who provides SEO content for corporations, I know just how true this is. So how do I compete, SEO wise, with my little niche blogs? I can’t.

So what’s the alternative? If I can’t bring in organic search traffic, I have to get traffic from somewhere else. I could use paid ads, but again, I’m competing with organisations whose budget is about the same…

--

--

Karen Banes
Practice in Public

Freelance writer sharing thoughts on life, society, creativity, and productivity. https://changetheworldwithwords.substack.com