Want to Write Better? Read More Fiction.

All those weeks spent reading sci-fi and fantasy weren’t for nothing, Dad.

James Presbitero Jr.
Practice in Public
5 min readJan 20, 2024

--

My father used to hate it when I read novels.

Photo by Lucia Macedo on Unsplash

Maybe it’s because I would forget to eat at the proper times (a big deal for Filipino dads).

Maybe it’s also because I would frequently shirk my household chores (a big deal for Filipino dads and moms).

But most of all, it’s because he thinks I’m wasting time.

“Fiction won’t help you with anything! Those stupid magics and sci-fi stuff aren’t real! You should focus on earning money!”

Well, now I’m earning money.

But I’m still reading novels and mangas and things.

Best of all, I firmly believe I’m earning money from writing because I read a lot of fiction.

That’s why in this article, I’m going to attempt a defense of my reading habits.

I’ll outline how reading a lot of fiction helped me to empathize, write from other’s points of view, and become more creative — all of which have served me well in my content writing career.

Maybe they will help you, too.

Is fiction useless?

I’ve got to admit — it can be a difficult dot to connect.

Mostly, I read epic high-fantasy and sci-fi fiction novels. I love myself a good, long saga of magic/technology and character development — Wheel of Time comes to mind, and so does Kingkiller Chronicles, and Mistborn. Tons of other stuff.

I also read mangas, random online stories, and even the odd Reddit story or two (yes, recommendations would be much appreciated). Aside from that, I also watch TV series and movies online.

I was a voracious consumer. Not a day would go by without a book in my hand or on my phone. Heck, I remember during high school I would read while I walked! (note: dangerous, I don’t advise it unless you like running into poles.)

I admit that during those times I didn’t really think of it as something that could be useful. They were more like guilty pleasures. I thought the non-fiction books I read were more useful, “better for me.”

But even then, they served me well. Reading expanded my mind. It gave me friends, role models, and standards. I’m somewhat ashamed to admit that it gave me a personality.

But as I got into writing, I realized that the benefits didn’t end there. I called forward things I’ve sublimated from reading fiction just as much as the “more useful” things I’ve learned. Here’s how.

Fiction and developing empathy.

Reading fiction is done for the sole purpose of developing empathy.

Have you ever cried while reading books? It’s a magical thing. You read words on paper/screen, imagine them into reality, and then feel so much for that imagined reality that you cry in their suffering.

Your genuine tears, perhaps one of the most intimate expressions of empathy, shed for someone who isn’t even real.

When you read books, you seek a connection. You read about a character, think about them, and develop a relationship with them.

I argue that this very same skill of seeking and developing empathy will allow you to succeed in your (perhaps non-fictional) writing career. After all, all writing is done to build a connection.

Next time you read or watch something, ask yourself:

  • Why do I connect with this character?
  • What specific things did they say or do that made me feel for them?
  • How can I implement this in my writing?

You know how it is to form deep, meaningful connections over words. All that’s left is to look at your writing and try to find the same things for your audience.

Fiction and the point of view of others.

When you read, you take on the point of view of others.

The best books take you into the minds of your favorite characters. You know their strengths and weaknesses. You see what they see, hear what they hear, and think what they think.

You are intimately aware of things that they fear and things that make them happy.

Sounds familiar? It should — it’s written and said on every writing advice ever.

You do the same thing when you write: you wear other’s shoes, identify their needs, fears, and desires, and address them through your writing.

Reading and empathizing with the characters in your book gives you insights into how you can write from the POV of your target audience. What are they thinking? What are they feeling? What are they afraid of, what do they want? And most importantly, how do they express it?

Reading a lot of fiction means you get to look at the point of view of others.

This is critical as a content or copywriter of any kind — you have to put yourself in your audience’s shoes. Not just empathize with what they feel, but also to mimic all their five senses and broadcast it back to them.

Fiction and creativity.

Creativity is the weird little connections you make in your brain.

Take a thing from one domain, connect it with another, combine it with rules and best practices and guidelines — and boom, you’ve got something new and refreshing.

There are tons of research about it and many stories here about creativity, so I won’t go on and on.

But what I meant to say is that reading fiction can make you a bit more creative. Fiction plays with twists and turns. These stories always come up with a different way to twist reality to appeal to our imagination and emotions.

From the thrills of murder mysteries to the technological wonders of alien planets, reading tons of enjoyable fictional stories trains our brains to recognize those patterns of creativity, understand them, and even play with them.

Not to say that this is all you need to be more creative — but it helps you along the way.

Kind of like being exposed to good music all the time. You won’t necessarily become a world-class musician, but you’ll have a bit of an ear for it. You’ll have tastes and opinions.

It falls on you how to harness that, but it’s a seed that grows.

The importance of balance

If there’s one thing I admit that I did wrong during those arguments with my parents, it would be that I used to read far too much.

Even today, it can be a bit of an issue. Sinking my fangs into a nice good book is an addicting feeling. It makes me feel like I’m a rock sinking into the bottom of a very comfortable and highly pleasurable ocean of words, thoughts, and imaginations.

Balance is still important.

As beneficial as reading those fantasy novels might turn out to be, these alone won’t make you good at writing, or whatever your chosen career turns out to be. Fuel is useless if it doesn’t ignite.

If you want to be a writer, you have to learn the technicalities of the craft through mindful learning, daily practice, and keeping up with trends. These things, when done repeatedly, are what will create a spark and bring to life the inspiration that was inside you all along.

That said, what are you doing tonight?

You should go and read more fiction.

Hi! 👀

Uh, it’s really cold here right now. You know what sounds good? A nice cup of coffee. Don’t you think so?

Oh, you do? Lovely. If you would be so kind and get me one on this link

Thank you, kind stranger.

--

--