The Sky is Green

Shanmuga Boopathy
Predict
Published in
3 min readDec 21, 2019
Photo by Joe Mania on Unsplash

Fred looked up towards the sky, which was clear with no clouds and the greenish-yellow streaks looked perfect.

“Beautiful, isn’t it?” Fred asked Laura, who was busy feeding the horses, getting them ready for the journey.

She paused for a moment and gazed up. “Yes. But I like the blue colored sky,” she said without taking her eyes off the sky.

“What? Blue skies? Where can you see them?” Fred asked her confused.

“Nowhere, but it is my favorite color and I wanted to see them,” she replied and continued feeding the horses.

This is an excerpt from our book, DuOrb, a sci-fi novel that explores the concept of Frequency Travel, where we show the existence of a parallel universe, that I have co-authored it with my friend.

“So, don’t they know about ‘Blue skies’? How is that even possible?” my friend asked me when I suggested that the sky looks different in the other world and not blue in color. We were discussing a few things that would differentiate the parallel world from ours.

In our eyes, there is a light-sensitive layer called Retina, that covers the back of the inner eyeball. It has two major types of light receptors: cone cells and rod cells. Out of these, cone cells are the ones that would help us perceive different colors that we see right now. We could see red since its low wavelength rays fall on the retina, and cones can identify them instantly. And the story of rod cells is different.

‘So how many colors are there?’ if someone questions me, I would say, ‘There are about sixteen million colors.’ But seriously? It is only our (humans) ability to see a wide variety of colors. Dogs have only two cone cells, whereas we have three. So we can see more colors than them and if I ever ask the same question to them, they would probably tell a few millions less. If both the dog and I look at the rainbow, we would both admire it with our own ability to see them. But the shrimps, which have 16 cone cells would tell me that they could see billions of colors, some of them we don’t even know and yet we believe only those 16 million colors ever exist.

So the same blue color will be looking different for dogs and shrimps. When being in the same world, sharing the same space, and living at the same time, we see colors differently, what if I live in parallel worlds, separated by frequency as explained here? Will I be able to see the same blue sky there, which I see here in our world? I’m able to identify the blue color, since my cone cells are able to detect the wavelength of the light in a particular frequency. But the same cone cells would detect the same wavelength of the light in another frequency as greenish-yellow. There is no wonder in that, I believe? But I had to convince her with this idea.

I was under the misconception that co-authoring a novel would be very difficult since we would have varied opinions, and I believed it would delay our overall productivity. But I was proved wrong by the time we had completed our first draft. In many places, I would suggest something like the green sky without really knowing the reason behind it. But when she questioned me, I would then study and convince her that, these were the factors that would set our book apart from the rest.

If this idea interests you, check out our book: DuOrb -https://www.amazon.in/dp/B082BJCRT4

If you do give it a read, please review us on Amazon and Goodreads. Your thoughts mean a lot to us. 😀

--

--

Shanmuga Boopathy
Predict
Writer for

Author | co-author of DuOrb, a science fiction suspense thriller