CREATIVE NON-FICTION

I Was a Drag Queen at My Own Wedding

An awkward experience of the late transitioner

Logan Silkwood
Prism & Pen
Published in
6 min readApr 15, 2022

--

Logan Silkwood rocking the drag queen look at his own wedding; photo purchased by Author

I looked good in drag, didn’t I?

It’s okay. You can admit it. I was kind of pretty in drag.

Are you squirming in your seat yet? If not, you probably should be. It’s a risky business telling a trans man that he was pretty before he transitioned. It can be invalidating, especially if the implication is that we looked better before.

I won’t tell anyone if you say it just this once, though. I’m okay with having been a pretty boy back in the day. I didn’t transition because I thought I was ugly or that I’d be hotter with some rocking biceps and abs. I transitioned because I was (and am) way too cute to die and gender dysphoria was killing me slowly over a period of decades.

And if I don’t turn out cute in the end? I’m of the apparently controversial opinion that I deserve to exist, even if I’m not deemed cute by everyone.

It makes me laugh though, looking at this picture

I was a drag queen at my own wedding and nobody even noticed! I was wearing glittery gold eyeshadow with heavy eyeliner and mascara. The picture you see is a caricature of a…

--

--

Logan Silkwood
Prism & Pen

I’m a polyamorous, non-binary trans man (he/him). I edit for Queerly Trans, Prism & Pen, Enbyous, and Trans Love & (A)Sexuality. Twitter: @logan_silkwood.