But first, an intro

Who am I and what will Product In Progress be about?

Claire Ha
Product In Progress
2 min readAug 30, 2020

--

👋 Hello world! I am a Product Manager at Walmart (formerly Jet.com) aspiring to become a product leader, and eventually a startup founder.

As any great Product Manager should, I recently dug deep into myself to evaluate my areas of improvement and how I can develop my talent stack. After all, we are all our own work-in-progress products, aren’t we?

Last year I focused on technical skills, product discovery and execution — synthesizing inputs and empowering my scrum team to deliver. This year, I will focus on improving:

  • Business principles and product acumen
  • Thought leadership and influence
  • Confidence and assertiveness
  • Strong and concise communication

What it ultimately boils down to is: I’d like to improve my content and delivery in order to establish myself as an intrinsic thought leader within the company, and especially in meetings with senior leadership.

Onward & Forward

And this is how I plan on doing it:

  • Feed the mind! → Read more books and blogs; listen to more podcasts; follow thought leaders on Twitter and Medium
  • Practice! → Join Toastmasters again to focus on delivery and brevity
  • Don’t be afraid! → Share my opinions, even when I’m afraid that they could be wrong, whether on Medium or IRL. Learn to trust my gut. (Thank you Briana Lauren for this piece of advice)
Image Credit: Unsplash

🤦‍♀️ Oh wait, the intro

Before I say goodbye and publish my first ever Medium article (!), let me tell you some more about myself:

My mission as a Product Manager is to bridge the gap between business and user problems with innovative digital solutions. Personally and professionally, I’m passionate about driving impact, empowering those around me, and sparking joy.

Outside of work, I’m probably taking photos of my dog or going down a rabbit hole to feed my endless curiosity. (I often find myself in the “weird part of the internet” like watching AntsCanada or on /r/UnsolvedMysteries 😅.)

My past lives include brand strategy and e-commerce business management, but no matter what hat I’m wearing, I’m always solving problems.

--

--

Claire Ha
Product In Progress

Product @ HubSpot. Passionate about personal and professional growth.