Day 17 of #productidea — Gamify hiking

Javier Escribano
#productidea 30 day challenge
1 min readMar 23, 2016

--

This is part of my #productidea 30 day challenge on which each day I write about a new product idea.

I love hiking, in fact last September I hiked 800km in 26 days doing the Camino de Santiago. I didn’t need any extra motivation neither gamification back then. Doing an historical hike like that one was enough.

However, I would have loved to get some stats easily. Which was the longest day? Which has the steepest climb? Which was my fastest average for 5km? Did it matter that it rained to my performance? People who hike would love to get that info too from their hikes on weekends. Which are the hikes that I’ve already done? Which peaks are left for me? How was my performance going up? There are a ton of stats that can be compared against myself and others. And of course, a lot of badges to be earned!

Researching this idea I’ve found MapToHike, which seems to go on this direction although they don’t have enough hikes yet; and Japan’s Yamap which just a few days ago raised $1.5 million. Both of them have different executions though.

--

--

Javier Escribano
#productidea 30 day challenge

CPO at Ontruck. Co-founder of TouristEye (acquired by LonelyPlanet). 500Startups alumni