Day 29 of #productidea — Quality score of city streets

Javier Escribano
#productidea 30 day challenge
2 min readApr 5, 2016

--

This is part of my #productidea 30 day challenge on which each day I write about a new product idea.

Many years ago when I moved to Chicago, I had to search for apartments. Everyone was telling us to be really careful on which street we were choosing to live. Don’t go further than 2 streets from the university campus they said! One of the websites that we used had a crime rate for each street, showing you how many incidents (deaths, robberies…) had happened in the last months.

When I moved to a new apartment in Madrid, I started to search for the same kind of website but it didn’t exist. I wanted to choose an apartment based on the closeness of grocery stores, transport stations and parks, low noise and 5-10 minutes walking from a pub area. I’m sure families would also take into account schools, hospitals or safety.

The idea is to make a quality score for each stretch or building of city streets. It could be integrated into many real states portals to help future owners and tenants decide. The challenge is to integrate many different sources, which most of them don’t currently exist in a easy way to integrate.

Which websites like this have you used? Share them please!

--

--

Javier Escribano
#productidea 30 day challenge

CPO at Ontruck. Co-founder of TouristEye (acquired by LonelyPlanet). 500Startups alumni