8 Songs For My Desert Island

I want to be one of the cool kids

Joe Merkle
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Sean Oulashin on Unsplash

It’s been six decades since I’ve been one of the “cool kids.” And then, out of the blue, Ravyne Hawke wrote this article about just eight songs we could have with us on a deserted island. Pierce McIntyre and his article inspired this seemingly impossible task.

My first thought was…really? Eight songs? I would struggle to pare my list down to eighty. Then, my journey to hell began. How would I ever come up with just eight songs? Pierce is now on my naughty list.

So I racked whatever was left of my brain and thought, “H-mm. These eight songs need to be able to transport me to locations, connect emotionally, entertain, or just blow me away.” Piece of cake. Wish me luck.

Okay. Here goes. Can a 69-year-old man be cool? I guess I’ll find out.

Blue Sky by the Allman Brothers

So I’m stranded on this island and feeling lonely. I need a quick pick-me-up tune that will transport me to a nice walk among trees that aren’t palm trees.

--

--

Joe Merkle
Promptly Written

I write about love, life, loss, kindness, and gratitude. Toss in some fiction and humor and you have the meanderings of a multifarious writer.