ESSAY | MONTHLY THEME | PROMPTLY WRITTEN

A Blessed Day of Rest

Gratitude Journal — Day 19

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written

--

I barely slept last night. I couldn’t take my usual sleep medication because I was afraid I wouldn’t wake up for my morning doctor’s appointment. So instead, I tossed and turned, turning thoughts in my head about how to approach my PCP concerning the mass on my brainstem.

The morning ended up being rushed. Maddy had to stay over for an unexpected meeting at work, so s/he came home a bit late. I had a horrid migraine and my right eye wouldn’t stop twitching. So by the time we made it to the doctor’s office, I think we were both a bit frazzled.

My appointment was supposed to be at 11:00 am, but it was nearly noon before I actually saw the doctor. I explained to him about the increased migraines, vertigo, and spaciness. When it appeared that he was going to be dismissive again, Maddy spoke up. S/he said that if the doctor wouldn’t give us a referral for the MRI and a Neurologist, we’d just seek them on our own. The doctor finally agreed. Guess he didn’t want us badmouthing him to a Neurologist.

Since I hadn’t eaten anything since the night before, we stopped at a deli and got sandwiches and salads to bring home. By then, it was just past one pm, and I felt nauseous and my head and eyes were hurting so badly, that I could barely eat my salad. I took some aspirin and my sleep medication and crawled into bed. I didn’t wake up again until the alarm went off for Maddy to get ready for work.

I am so grateful that I was able to sleep for nearly eight hours. It was a blessed sleep, a dreamless sleep. There is nothing like drifting off into oblivion to make one appreciate sleep that deep.

©2021 Lori Carlson. All Rights Reserved.

A big thanks to Katrina D. for editing some of the stories today. Thanks for lightening my load.

This is in response to the November Monthly Theme prompt — Keep a 30-day Gratitude journal. I am aiming to commit to this. Wish me luck!

I’ve amassed a nice size list of work that leaves me in awe. I used to write appreciation lists, but I no longer have the time. I still keep the list though and it continues to grow. Check it out and maybe you will find a few awe-inspiring stories you’d like to keep too!

Lori Carlson writes Poetry, Fiction, Articles, Creative Non-Fiction, and Personal Essays. Most of her topics are centered around Relationships, Spirituality, Life Lessons, Mental Health, Nature, Loss, Death, and the LGBTQ+ community. She is the Owner/Editor of Promptly Written and Not For Bedtime Stories. Check out her personal Medium blog here.

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh