A Pigeon, My Unexpected Guest

Love for Freedom, Love for Nature, Love for Life!

Free Spirit
Promptly Written
4 min readSep 19, 2023

--

“You are not meant for crawling, so don’t. You have wings. Learn to use them and fly.” – Rumi

Photo by Amin Hasani on Unsplash

Saturday afternoon.

It was a Saturday afternoon with weather warnings for thunderstorms.

The sky was overcast with dark clouds since the morning; these kinds of rain clouds make the sky look very dark and the surroundings bright.

I sat in the armchair next to the window with freshly brewed filtered coffee and one of my favourite books to spend a leisurely afternoon.

Do I have company?

I got engrossed in my reading when the thunder struck somewhere close.
It had not started to rain yet, but the scent of fresh, wet soil filled my room, perhaps from a rain nearby.

I thought the windows were closed in all the rooms, but if the fresh air entered, there must be an open window. So, I just got up to check.

Preliminary check.

As I stepped inside the guest room, a loud sound shocked me. It was an unfamiliar sound and considerably loud. My reflexes alerted me to leave the room A.S.A.P.

I closed the room door and entered the hallway when the sound repeated.

It was like a loud grunt combined with flapping wings.
I could tell that a bird got stuck behind the Roman Blind, which was down to the bottom.

It was a humble pigeon.

With some assurance, I could control the situation and headed towards the balcony, which gave a clearer view of the guest room’s window as my apartment is luckily a corner plot in an L-shape.

As expected, it was a bird stuck on the window sill and was a humble pigeon, frantic, nervous, and its feathers all fluffed up.

Assess the situation.

The window was open, but not much, so I was unsure how it came through. It probably came looking for a shelter, anticipating bad weather, and then lost its way out.

I made a sound, drawing attention, and gestured toward the window opening. The pigeon became alert and craned her neck to look at the source of the sound. That was me.

I might have appeared to her confined behind my balcony doors, just like her!

It had a graceful curve in the neck; it could be a female pigeon.

Rescue operation.

I needed to think fast about releasing the pigeon from my window, as her scared eyes were unbearable.

So I quickly got the mop, extended the telescopic handle to the maximum length, and slowly slid it through the small opening at the top of the guest room window. The idea was to open the window a little bit wider to allow her to escape.

Contrary to my expectations, I ended up scaring her more by moving an unfamiliar stick toward her temporary shelter.

Photo by Mykyta Martynenko on Unsplash; the actual situation had a pigeon stuck on the window sill and its partner watching it from my neighbor’s balcony.

Time to calm the nerves.

I allowed her to calm down while I caught my breath, too.

All I wanted to do was show her how to escape, but I failed drastically. She moved further away from the window opening, to my dismay, and settled there.

I could tell the poor thing perhaps lost all her hopes. I knew I did!

Was there a partner involved, too?

I was so focused on trying to help the troubled pigeon that I overlooked another pigeon, a little bigger, seated on a neighbor’s balcony opposite mine.

I knew that pigeons are known to be lifetime partners. Could it be her partner already involved in rescuing her?

They were lovers.

The bigger male pigeon in my neighbour’s balcony did nothing for quite a while. Then he started pacing on the railings back and forth, occasionally observing his partner in my window and making a soft cooing sound.

It seemed like an affectionate communion between two lovers who were in pain of separation.

A true bonding in play.

I may have missed observing them for a few minutes as I got lost in my thoughts before I heard the wings flapping.

To my surprise, the pigeon was free from her captivity!

I saw her fly up to the railing where her partner was perched, and then, in no time, the pair circled up in the sky before they flew away together, leaving me awestruck.

I got emotionally moved to see them free again and wished to fly and touch the sky.

Epilogue.

Oh, Soul, do not envy the birds; they can fly but return to their nests.
I will take you to greater heights, and you will never touch down again.

P.S.

I loved the prompts shared by Bella Smith ⭐ and would like you to know that it got me inspired to narrate this true story.

Friday Fiction

Promptly Written

--

--

Free Spirit
Promptly Written

Deep thinker, aspiring writer, spiritualist and nature lover 🦋