As I walk down this road

A poem talking about loving the sun

K-kun Writes!
Promptly Written
3 min readFeb 4, 2022

--

Photo by Maxime Bhm you can find it on Unsplash

As I walked down this road; I remember the first time I saw you. Glistening so bright in the golden hour, a watcher undisturbed looming down the horizon. A gleaming god sat upon its throne, with its radiance dancing upon my skin like a little porcelain dancer tipping across my flesh.

I remember the first time I felt you, the way you beamed down your rays at me as if telling me I am yours.

They called you Amaterasu. Because of the way your light reflects on their eyes, you are as graceful as a goddess robed in whitened silk with eyes slanted like the peak on the mountain cave you hid in. Komorebi is a Japanese word tailored to the way you flicker across the canopy of trees, embracing all that is life.

As I walk down this road; I feel your eyes gazing at the back of my neck, watching every step I move. I have become your idol, a stone servant, worshipping your golden glory. Every step I took along this path, I have been making myself a sunflower, head outstretched, gazing into the now setting sun, looking for home.

They called you Tonatiuh “The fifth sun”, because of the way your bravery shines on their bodies like electricity coiling them; remembering the ways their hearts stood still, looking at you rise from the east and fall to west. Emblazoned with the eyes of an eagle, you became their saviour, a fury adorned with a sun-shaped shield.

As I will walk this road, I will have become a prism: transparent, triangular, and hollow, always diffusing your light into a multitude of colours. I will become the red in roses, the orange of setting skies, the yellow of fleeting marigolds, the blue of still lakes, the indigo of mid-mornings, and the violet of sweet mangosteens. My thoughts will have become obsessed with the idea of becoming the sun, romanticizing glory in trade for meekness, idolizing brightness but forgetting the softness of a bitter, icy touch. I want to shine so people don’t look that way at me anymore. It’s funny, isn’t it? The way light travels across space; how stars, far away from earth, are already extinguished and dead, but their light still reaches here only in the night sky, as if the sun is beckoning to those twinkling lights.

And so, as I will walk this road, I will have a place amongst the celestials with my light reaching all the four corners of the earth, leaving me extinguished.

___
I would like to say thanks to both Ravyne Hawke and Christine Graves of Promptly Written for both the space and the prompt “The horizon at sunset.” which inspired my writing. Which BTW you can find here!

Thanks to Charlie Cole, for helping me with the subtitles and tags. :D

--

--

K-kun Writes!
Promptly Written

A fledgling writer, who hopes to tell great stories. Usually writes sci-fi and horror stuff. Wants to get hit by a truck!