ESSAY | MONTHLY THEME | PROMPTLY WRITTEN

Grateful For The Cycles of Life

Gratitude Journal — Day 24

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written

--

Tonight I found out that an online friend passed away. She was a very kind-hearted soul, loving and giving of her time, and did a lot of charitable work. One of her favorite projects was to crochet hats that looked like wigs for cancer patients.

Her death was sudden. She had a heart birth defect that she didn’t even know she had and died suddenly in her sleep from internal bleeding. Another of my friends held a memorial for her tonight on her Youtube channel. We came together to celebrate this loving woman and how much she touched each of us. It was a beautiful, yet sad celebration of her life and commitment to her faith.

All of these deaths of late have made me grateful for this cycle of life we all must endure. I am grateful for all the lives that have touched me in their individual ways. I am grateful for the friendships I’ve made, for the deep, spiritual connections. And yet, I still cannot help but wonder why all the loving, kind, and gentle souls are going home and why I must remain. I know I shouldn’t question the Universe’s plans. So I must resolve to surrender to those plans. To be accepting of what is. And just show gratitude for lives well-lived and the small parts of their lives that I was able to know of them.

Rest peacefully with our Creator, 🌹🌹Mz Camolena Rose🌹🌹

©2021 Lori Carlson. All Rights Reserved.

This is in response to the November Monthly Theme prompt — Keep a 30-day Gratitude journal. I am aiming to commit to this. Wish me luck!

I’ve amassed a nice size list of work that leaves me in awe. I used to write appreciation lists, but I no longer have the time. I still keep the list though and it continues to grow. Check it out and maybe you will find a few awe-inspiring stories you’d like to keep too!

Lori Carlson writes Poetry, Fiction, Articles, Creative Non-Fiction, and Personal Essays. Most of her topics are centered around Relationships, Spirituality, Life Lessons, Mental Health, Nature, Loss, Death, and the LGBTQ+ community. She is the Owner/Editor of Promptly Written and Not For Bedtime Stories. Check out her personal Medium blog here.

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh