“Lion”-ess

A Word A Day Prompt Response

Rayna Pummel
Promptly Written
2 min readMar 2, 2022

--

Photo Created by Auth orS— via Canva

I can feel the vibrations deep inside me,

Over and over, the latches are weakening.

I know she’s angry,

COME ON, UNCAGE ME!

But I shouldn’t, no matter how much she pleads.

At least that’s what they’ve taught me.

She’s too intimidating, well, that’s what they say.

In reality, she’s just been tied up for so long she doesn’t remember how to play.

She’s abrasive, easily hurts other’s feelings.

They think she is just an inconsiderate bully.

The reality of it is,

People just aren’t use to hearing honesty,

Instead we have learned to sugarcoat everything.

It’s sad really,

Cause she use to be me.

Those youthful days, in innocence, friendly, smiling, loyal, and caring.

As time passed by, more time with society I learned quickly that she had to be

SILENCED.

The grimaces stained many facial expressions when she would give honest feedback that a friend, co-worker, or even family had

ASKED FOR.

I saw the consequences resting behind the enraged eyes when an answer she had given was not the one on their mind.

It took me many of these encounters before I discovered

It was never her words they feared

It was Her Power.

Now, She Is Free.

A Word A Day Challenge for the month of March!!! Day One complete!!

Thank you Christine Graves for the inspiration!!! Hope everyone enjoys!

--

--

Rayna Pummel
Promptly Written

A Recovering Addict, Mother of 2, 27 year old ♒ This is my experience, strength, and truth about my journey to untangling my mind. unscriptedwaywithwords.com