ESSAY | MONTHLY THEME | PROMPTLY WRITTEN

Shine A Little Light

Gratitude Journal — Day 18

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written

--

Tomorrow is going to be a very stressful day. I have to convince my PCP to have me tested for a couple of things that just aren’t part of his concern at the moment, but are keeping me constantly concerned.

He has been more worried about my diabetes, high cholesterol, and my heart, and I am grateful that he is worried about these things. I’ve been dealing with diabetes for the last fifty years; it is what it is. High cholesterol runs in my family and even though I am a Pescatarian, my diet doesn’t seem to help the situation any. And we’ve now confirmed through various tests that my heart is sound with no blockages. I only have one block in the carotid artery on the right side of my neck. I will have surgery done to correct that in December.

What’s really got me worried are the constant migraines, vertigo, spacing out for up to 20–30 minutes (my sister, who is a nurse, fears these could be mini seizures), and weakness in my limbs. Sure, some of this could be due to insufficient blood flow to my brain from the blockage, but it has also been confirmed that I have a mass on my brainstem called a meningioma, that they think is benign. I want confirmation on this. No thinks about it!

So while I am grateful for my PCP for worrying about parts of my health, I need him to also be concerned with these other issues. Convincing him to order an MRI and possibly a biopsy may be a bit harder to do. He dismissed the migraines the last time I visited him, I just hope he won’t this time. I don’t think I am asking for much. I just don’t like to be left in the dark when it comes to my health. I hope he will order the tests and shine a little light on my situation.

©2021 Lori Carlson. All Rights Reserved.

This is in response to the November Monthly Theme prompt — Keep a 30-day Gratitude journal. I am aiming to commit to this. Wish me luck!

I’ve amassed a nice size list of work that leaves me in awe. I used to write appreciation lists, but I no longer have the time. I still keep the list though and it continues to grow. Check it out and maybe you will find a few awe-inspiring stories you’d like to keep too!

Lori Carlson writes Poetry, Fiction, Articles, Creative Non-Fiction, and Personal Essays. Most of her topics are centered around Relationships, Spirituality, Life Lessons, Mental Health, Nature, Loss, Death, and the LGBTQ+ community. She is the Owner/Editor of Promptly Written and Not For Bedtime Stories. Check out her personal Medium blog here.

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh