Would You Recognize God

If It was standing right in front of you?

Joe Merkle
Promptly Written
3 min readJun 15, 2022

--

Photo by Shannon Potter on Unsplash

Would you recognize God if It was standing right in front of you?

I want to share with you what happened to me just moments ago during a spiritual exercise. It was like no other spiritual slap in the face I have lately become accustomed to.

Almost instantly during this exercise, I was dipped into a deep pool of love as I have never experienced. My love for God. It’s for me. These words are so inadequate to describe this moment. This was followed by immense gratitude. That God created me (soul). That It created me in His likeness of Sound and Light. I have experienced this many times but tonight was another level.

And then came a great realization. It was not as if I was receiving a message. This was different. It was an awakening I was experiencing within…me. Not influenced by outside influences. It was simply this.

To know God one must see God in everything.

I went on a journey at this moment. Everything? The murderer? Wars? Famine? Haters? The answer wasn’t subtle. More like a slap in the face.

Yes. Everything. Every atom to every universe to every plane of existence. All exist because of God’s love. No exceptions.

As I write this I am somewhat overwhelmed by the immensity of this task. Yet, while I experienced this message in my exercise it seemed very reasonable and a simple path to walk.

Now, this very moment, this hit me. All of our challenges in life are often made more difficult simply by the state of consciousness we perceive them with. If you approach a challenge with anger, greed, selfishness, self-pity, lust, etc., the outcome will most likely be negative.

On the flip side if one is faced with a challenge and meets it head-on with love, kindness, and gratitude the results are bound to be positive. This is how I have tried to live over the last couple of months.

And it has changed my life immensely. I have given into it. Allowing it to guide me. For once I have been learning to get out of the way and go with it. Half-hearted attempts bring half-hearted results. Give in. Learn to recognize all the tiny miracles you are surrounded with every day. Then accept them with gratitude. Wonderful surprises await you.

TRY IT. YOU’LL LIKE IT.

May the blessings be.

© 2022 Joe Merkle All rights reserved.

As I was deciding where to publish this I came across Marcus aka Gregory Maidman’s prompt from Ravyne Hawke’s Promptly Written. Was this another spiritual nudge? Yep. Thanks, Greg.

THE PROMPT: “And acceptance is the answer to all my problems today. When I am disturbed, it is because I find some person, place, thing, or situation — some fact of my life — unacceptable to me, and I can find no serenity until I accept that person, place, thing, or situation as being exactly the way it is supposed to be at this moment. Nothing, absolutely nothing, happens in [the universe]⁵ by mistake. …⁶unless I accept life on life’s terms, I cannot be happy. I need to concentrate not so much on what needs to be changed in the world as on what needs to be changed in me and my attitudes.”

To all my Medium friends please excuse my absence of late. I am in the process of moving so it will be a while before I get back to normal. Although that will be a first for me.

You can become a Medium member for a measly US$5 per month!

This will allow you to read every story and poem written by Joe Merkle and thousands of excellent writers to be discovered on Medium.

Your membership fee directly supports Joe Merkle and other writers you read. The best part of your membership is you will get access to every story, poem, and photo published on Medium. If you are so inclined, it will also allow you to publish and earn from your own creative articles, poetry, reports, and photos.

https://joemerkle.medium.com/membership

If you want to know more about who I am go here.

--

--

Joe Merkle
Promptly Written

I write about love, life, loss, kindness, and gratitude. Toss in some fiction and humor and you have the meanderings of a multifarious writer.