What it feels like to ask God to do the Impossible; and He does it!

Evi Abada, MD, MS
Publishous
Published in
4 min readApr 2, 2018

--

Photo by Diana Simumpande on Unsplash

In the last three years, I have been desperately asking God for something considered “impossible” by the rest of the world.

What I needed God to do for me meant the world to me. But, unfortunately, I realized that I didn’t have the potential or capacity to make it happen with my own strength. So, I turned to God, which is what I always do when I get to ‘that’ place when all hope is lost.

You see, during this three-year period of asking and waiting on God, I have learned something phenomenal in my Christian Faith.

When the Bible said in Psalm 118:8 (KJV) that, “it is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man”, it meant absolutely every word of that verse of scripture.

But as humans, depending on the gravity or seriousness of our circumstances, we may tend to second-guess the Omnipotence of God.

And what do I mean by that? We may deceive ourselves into believing that we trust that God can do ‘that’ thing for us when deep within our hearts we actually doubt that He can.

And in response to that condition of doubt in our hearts, we inadvertently are also fooled into relying on men for our miracles, and in the process, relegate the power of God to the rear.

The Bible says in Numbers 23:19 (KJV) that, “God is not a man, that he should lie; neither the son of man, that he should repent: hath he said, and shall he not do it? or hath he spoken, and shall he not make it good?”

Even though I know several verses of scripture that emphasize the infallibility and potency of God’s word, I never knew that through my actions, I had doubted that God could indeed give me the miracle I desired.

So, for two years as I continued to ask God to answer my prayers and give me a miracle, I also was by the side seeking out men to help me.

I had even at some point believed that common saying that, “God would never come down to earth to help me, but that He would use other fellow men to help me.” How mistaken I was! Because, not only did men not help me, but they also despised, mocked and shamed me in the process.

And that was when I knew I needed to repent.

I needed to repent of the fact that I had doubted God to really help me. I needed to completely turn my back on men, and look only unto God for my help, and my miracle.

Therefore, as I went through the same process again this past year, I completely ditched man and gave God my entire attention.

I had to get to that point where like Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego, I did no longer care if God stepped in to help me or not. Because, at that point, I said to God, “even if You do not help me this time around, yet will I praise you. I would never turn my back on you.”

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Three weeks ago, just before the results of what I had been trusting God for would become available, my heart became so heavy, that I could barely vocalize its contents.

Therefore, I decided to write an open letter to God. I wanted to pour my heart out to God, but at the same time didn’t have the strength or will to do it.

And because I didn’t want to forget exactly how I felt at that time, I decided to pour out my heart to God in writing. I spilled the contents of my heart to God and shared it with the entire world so that people would know that it is actually possible to have a truly intimate and personal relationship with God.

And because God’s word is always true, God showed up on this third try. He showed up in my situation and gave me victory. God turned my captivity away, and I am still like someone dreaming (Psalm 126:1 [paraphrased]).

People had said to me, “the odds are against you.” Some others said, “only a miracle can make this happen.” And I decided to deafen my ears to all of man’s negativity, and instead decided to focus solely on God.

And He did it. God has given me the miracle I had desperately looked for, for three years. God has put a smile our faces. God has answered our prayers and we are indeed glad.

And going through this whole “impossible” experience has taught me something more profound about God. He is indeed interested in our welfare just as John said in 3 John 2 (KJV): “Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth.

He is a faithful God, and He alone turns impossible situations around. He wants all the glory alone because He is a jealous God (Exodus 20:5).

So, when you do ask Him for something, do not go about seeking help from man, because God is no respecter of persons (Acts 10:34).

Once you ask Him for a miracle, give Him your full undivided attention. And trust Him completely to turn all impossible situations around for you.

If He did it for me, I trust that He can also do it for you, because He is more than able!

God bless you!

Much love,

Evi (www.pearlsglobalimpact.org)

--

--