Put It To Rest Writing Prompt: Stepping Out From The Shadows Into Healing

Butterflies In My Belly

A poem

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Put It To Rest
Published in
1 min readJul 11, 2022

--

Photo by Yasin Arıbuğa on Unsplash

I know it sounds strange
maybe a bit deranged
but when I’m a healthy weight
that means I’m happy.

Even though I try to tell myself
that those times
I couldn't eat
because the butterflies
took up so much space
the truth is
that when I feed myself
nourishment
of love, food, and truth
I am most happy.

I’ve been feeding myself more liberally
and so the butterflies have departed
they fluttered away beautifully
leaving hunger in its wake —
no more belly aches.

Lindsay Soberano-Wilson is the editor of Put It To Rest. Casa de mi Corazón: A Travel Journal of Poetry & Memoir is available at lindsaysoberano.com. Find her on Medium, Instagram, or Twitter. Lindsay Soberano-Wilson©2021.

--

--

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Put It To Rest

Pushcart/Best of Net Nom I Cobalt Blues, Hoods of Motherhood & Casa de mi Corazon I Creator: Put It To Rest I Editor: iPoetry |linktr.ee/LindsaySoberano_Wilson