Put It To Rest Writing Prompt: Stepping Out From The Shadows Into Healing

When You Speak Your Truth, You Accept That Nothing Was Ever “Fine”

But when I pick up the broken piece of my life to piece together jewels from the rubble and discard the heartache, I see how much I have grown, and how much healing I have actually done…

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Put It To Rest
Published in
5 min readJul 11, 2022

--

Photo by Leon Liu on Unsplash

“I’m fine,” must be the biggest lie I’ve ever told myself.

It’s right up there with, “Don’t worry about it; it’s no big deal.” Because It Was Never A Big Deal: I Had To Tell Myself To Survive. My central nervous system employed these coping strategies to survive trauma.

Ever since I was a child, I would tell myself it was no big deal as the biggest deal was unfolding, because, how else was I going to survive?

I found myself telling my therapist that my childhood was “one big blur”. Some scenes are a string of reality, sweet dreams, and nightmares, but I’ve had little insight into how they impact my adult relationships.

Still, I now know that minimizing my lived experience doesn’t help. It doesn’t allow me to accept my reality and learn how to live alongside pain. It encourages…

--

--

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Put It To Rest

Pushcart/Best of Net Nom I Cobalt Blues, Hoods of Motherhood & Casa de mi Corazon I Creator: Put It To Rest I Editor: iPoetry |linktr.ee/LindsaySoberano_Wilson