Prompt: Daily Strategies

Stillness and Observation

Nalini MacNab
Queen’s Children
7 min readJun 18, 2021

--

Photo by Andy Køgl on Unsplash

When old ways disappear

I had been practicing meditation, mindfulness and movement for decades when I received a hardware re-set that turned everything I had studied and learned inside out. The changes I had made in body life and mind, set the stage, and, were nothing compared to the physical re-boot of what I thought I had been practicing.

I thought I was simply de-hydrated and weary, but as my left side went slack and ceased to function, and I heard my roommate frantically dialing ‘911’ I realized something else was happening. Something was wrong. What could be wrong? I was fine, or so I felt.

I had stopped using the word ‘wrong’ years before, but body insisted. Pay attention! Let go.

I have written about the stroke elsewhere. I have mentioned the absence of fear and the flash of blue-white light that caused a clot in my brain to disappear. What is relevant to this post is how the experience completely changed my daily practices.

Meditation, mindfulness, and movement are practiced in every inner tradition, albeit in different ways. As we know, or are learning, there is no right way. Studying the practices of various traditions helped me to physically realize this truth and become more fluid as my awakenings…

--

--

Nalini MacNab
Queen’s Children

I live, learn, write, create and share the experience of embodying HER Infinite Love. https://www.nalinimacnab.com