Adventures in Coming Out Trans

I Came Out Transgender at Work

💜 Victoria Quinn 💜
Queerly Trans
6 min readMar 21, 2022

--

A response to Logan Silkwood’s Writing Prompt: Pivotal Moments

Photo by Garin Chadwick on Unsplash

CW: dysphoria, explicit examples of internalized transphobia in self talk examined with positive self talk to counteract the statements

When I first started coming out as transgender to my closest friends I thought the process was only going to become more difficult and scarier as I told more people. As I entrusted my truth to those I knew on less intimate terms than my inner circle, I figured old anxieties and insecurities would make the experience unbearable or I would just shut down completely. Joyfully, I have found the opposite to be true. Each subsequent self-outing has led to an ease and confidence I never would have dreamt possible back in November of 2021 or any time ever in my previous life. All of my aforementioned outings can be found here:

Best Boss Forever (BBF)

I’ve been friends with my boss for nearly 14 years. We first met at Burning Man and partied a lot back in the day, but those…

--

--

💜 Victoria Quinn 💜
Queerly Trans

Trans girl — Amateur Etymologist, Expert Alliterationist, Professional Synonymist. I write about my transgender journey, sometimes hilarious, sometimes not.