I failed this really simple riddle

try out this riddle with people you know…

Alan Trivedi
Quick and Happy Reads to Start your Day

--

We were sitting at the breakfast table (well actually it was an everything table). My dad has always been a fan of riddles and any type of brain challenges. This particular morning, he arrived at the table with a pencil, pen and a paper. His 12 year old son, me at the time, was just about to get schooled.

He drew a vertical line and asked me, “How will you make this line smaller?” So I took the No. 2 pencil, used the orange rubbery end and began erasing the line.

The second time he took a pen, drew the same type of line and asked “Now, how will you make this line smaller?” I took the pen and scratched away half of the line.

“Well that wasn’t so hard. It is shorter now because I erased it and I scratched it off,” I proclaimed as I completed the challenge.

Now the 3rd time he drew the line again. “Now make the line smaller, but this time without touching it.” “What?”, I questioned at the absurd thought. After a few minutes of crunching my brain cells, I gave up.

“How about this”, he continued. He took the pen and drew a bigger line next to the original line. Presto! Magic! That line is smaller!

All this time I was putting so much effort towards making the line smaller, when I could have, with minimal effort, drawn a bigger line!

Here’s what my dad taught me:

“If you want to be a person recognized for high moral character, you don’t have to try to MAKE someone else smaller, you just have to act bigger.” — Dad

Thanks for reading. If you like what you read and got value, Like Us and Stay Motivated at: https://www.facebook.com/trivedicoaching

I’m a passionate coach who loves helping people and organizations achieve powerful and lasting change.

--

--