QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Writing About the High and Low Points Of a Trip to Canada

You gotta read, “It’s Legal in Canada.”

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
7 min readApr 15, 2022

--

Photo credit: Sreese and Son Tyler via Medium.com

This is a virtual interview. The first in a weekly series on writers in QuickTalk to let you get to know writers better across different genres here on Medium.

I look forward to free-flowing interviews where I ask writers about their stories on Medium and talk about what they’re learning on their journey.

Thanks to Sreese for agreeing to be my first interview.

I asked him questions on a Google Doc and typed follow-up questions to his responses and it was cool to see the story unspooling before our eyes.

Scot: What’s your real name? S stands for …

Sreese: Steve. There are other Steve Reeses online, so I went with Sreese.

Scot: Tell me about watching the Super Bowl with your daughter. You’re watching the game and she says …

Sreese: “Why the %$#$%$ didn’t Josh throw the ball?”

Scot: Salty. I was thinking about your cow story on Medium.

Reese: Oh, yeah, that was surreal.

Scot: How did the cow get in your neighbor’s yard?

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.