QuickTalk Friday Interview

How To Succeed On Medium From A Writer with 16K Followers

Great insights for newbies and veterans

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
7 min readApr 22, 2022

--

Photo credit: Linda Caroll on Medium.

Hey y’all, you’re going to love this interview with Linda Caroll.

It’s filled with deep insights about writing on Medium. Linda has been writing on Medium since 2016 and is a student of what works on the platform.

I’ve already started to implement what I learned from this interview and want to thank Linda for the education I received on Medium from talking with her.

So get out your highlighters and be ready to soak up the insights from Linda.

Scot: Tell me how you got started on Medium…

Linda: I wrote three stories in 2016. They bombed. Then I left Medium for 10 months. I came back in 2017 and left again. I came back in 2018 and stayed. That was my pattern for a long time. Dabble and disappear. Most of my growth has been in the last year. At the end of 2020, my follower count was half what it is today.

Scot: How do you go from 0 to 16K followers?

Linda: Well, if you’re me, you sluff around for years and then suddenly double in growth. Lol. Not even kidding. At the end of 2020, I had only 8K followers. Then I wrote a story that went kind

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.