Debunking Extrovert Stereotypes

Introverts Are Celebrated and Extroverts Are Snubbed in Hong Kong

What’s true in one culture may not apply to another

Sieran Lane
QuickTalk
Published in
4 min readAug 21, 2022

--

A corgi puppy dog sits adorably in front. A grumpy grey cat sits grouching in the back.
Image by ViktoriaSapata on DepositPhotos. Author has standard license to use this photo for commercial purposes.

This is Part Two of my series on debunking unfair stereotypes about extroverts. Here is Part One.

Extroverts are praised while introverts are made to feel bad in many Western countries.

But I see the opposite in my social circle, where introverts take pride in being themselves, while extroverts try to hide how they feel.

Many, if not most, of my friends are introverts, too. So I feel even more compelled to keep quiet about my extroversion.

Growing Up in Hong Kong and Being Confused

One reason I have such an odd experience, is because I came from Hong Kong. In my culture, introverts are seen as intelligent, studious, cultured, and deep-thinking. Extroverts are seen as immature, shallow, noisy, lazy, and other negative terms. Guess which group I wanted to associate myself with?

In fact, partly because I was quite bookish myself, and partly because I wanted others to respect me, I believed that I was an introvert.

--

--

Sieran Lane
QuickTalk

A queer trans writer and therapist. I help fiction writers complete their novels. Let's connect! https://the-transgender-therapist.ck.page/fiction-writing