What I Learned After 200 Posts in Less than 4 Months

I tested it and here is what I foundā€¦

Manish Dangi
Quill and Ink
5 min readJan 27, 2024

--

After publishing over 200 posts on Medium, Iā€™ve learned a thing or two about engaging readers.

When I first started writing, Iā€™ll admit ā€” I had no idea what I was doing.

My posts were disjointed, overly formal, and letā€™s just sayā€¦not very captivating.

But through trial and error (okay, mostly erroršŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚), Iā€™ve uncovered some secrets that have allowed me to not only grow my readership, but also forge genuine connections with my audience.

So in this post, I want to share valuable lessons Iā€™ve learned over the years about the art of engaging readers.

From getting personal to optimizing SEO, Iā€™ll give you an inside look at the strategies Iā€™ve used to take my blog from zero to, well, something.

Right, shall we?

#1 Establishing a Personal Connection

When I first started writing, everything was facts, data, and expertise.

Donā€™t get me wrong ā€” providing valuable info is great.

But what I didnā€™t realize was that to truly engage readers, I had to get personal and be vulnerable.

So I started sharing more about my background, my struggles as an entrepreneur, my failures.

And almost instantly, I noticed a shift.

Readers began relating to me on a deeper level, commenting about how refreshing it was to see someone ā€œreal.ā€

Hmm, maybe I was on to something here.

Iā€™ll never forget the first time I laid it all bare in a post.

I wrote about losing my business and battling depression. It was scary to open up like that, but the response was overwhelming.

Readers said my honesty gave them hope during difficult times, helping them push forward.

Suddenly this community I was building became so much more than just content creation ā€” it was a support system.

That is the positive point of writing on Mediumā€¦it is like a society.

Now being real and vulnerable has become a cornerstone of my brand.

When you share your truths, and your messiness, you build trust.

You stop being some untouchable expert and become a person. And that, my friends, is the key to creating a genuine connection.

#2 Facing My Demons

As a writer, allowing yourself to be vulnerable feels counterintuitive ā€” shouldnā€™t we always showcase the highlight reel, the wins, the hot takes?

Well, yes and no.

For a long time, I focused solely on pumping out posts about my areas of ā€œexpertiseā€, thinking thatā€™s what readers wanted.

But in reality, by putting up this filtered, perfected facade, I was isolating my audience.

YESā€¦thatā€™s true!!!!

It wasnā€™t until I started opening up about my struggles that things began to shift.

Iā€™ll never forget publishing a brutally honest piece about losing my business to bankruptcy.

As I clicked ā€œpublish,ā€ doubts flooded my mind ā€”

I felt exposed, unsure of how readers would react. It was incredibly vulnerable.

But the response I received was mind-blowing.

So many readers left comments about how they related to my journey, how my transparency gave them hope in difficult times.

By sharing the messy parts of my entrepreneurial journey, I actually built trust with my audience.

It cemented me as not just a writer, but a person who goes through ups and downs like anyone else.

#3 Consistency is Queen

When I started writing, Iā€™d publish sporadically whenever inspiration struck.

But some valuable insights in my posts, I wasnā€™t gaining much traction.

My traffic remained pitifully low.

It wasnā€™t until I implemented a consistent publishing schedule ā€” posting twice a week, Wednesdays and Fridays ā€” that things started to shift.

All of a sudden, I noticed a spike in subscribers, social shares, page views.

People were coming back eagerly awaiting my latest post.

So why is being consistent so crucial???????

Well after blogging for over 4 years now, Iā€™ve narrowed it down to 3 key reasons:

  1. It builds loyalty. When readers know they can expect valuable content from you on certain days, theyā€™ll keep coming back for more.
  2. It improves discoverability. Having a regular content output signals to search engines that your blog is active. This leads to better rankings.
  3. It cements your reliability and credibility, positioning you as a dedicated source readers can depend on.

So take it from me ā€” if you want to see real results from your readership or views, consistency is queen.

Treat publishing like a non-negotiable habitā€¦say it with me now, ā€œJust stick to the schedule.ā€

#4 Finding My Niche

When I started my blog, I tried to appeal to the broadest audience possible. From business and tech to lifestyle and entertainment, I dabbled in it all.

But the problem???? I told you already why finding a Niche is important here.

In attempting to attract everyone, I ended up attracting no one.

My generic posts got lost in a sea of established sites covering the same topics.

I wasnā€™t zeroing into what made my perspective unique. And it showed ā€” with dismal traffic and not much interaction from readers.

So I took a step back and did some soul-searching.šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚

I asked myself:

ā€œWhat unique value can I provide readers that big-name sites canā€™t replicate?

Whatā€™s my specific area of expertise?ā€

For me it finally clicked ā€” I knew I could share valuable insights around building digital products, something Iā€™d successfully done for over a decade.

By focusing my content exclusively on digital entrepreneurship, I carved my niche.

And let me tell you ā€” it made a huge impact.

Almost instantly, my posts started resonating with the right people.

My traffic increased, my newsletters and courses started gaining traction.

I went from posts with 2 views to hundreds overnight ā€” just by narrowing my niche!

As you can check this post for my stats..

So take it from me ā€” if your blog feels generic or youā€™re struggling to gain readership, try homing in on a specific niche you can own.

Determine the unique perspectives and experiences only YOU can provide to readers.

It may feel counterintuitive to zoom in, but trust me ā€” thatā€™s precisely how you stand out from the noise.

Once you nail down your niche and establish your authority, you gain the power to capture the right audience.

And isnā€™t that every writerā€™s dream?

Alright, now that Iā€™ve given you a sneak peek into my journey from quiet introvert to proudly vulnerable bloggerā€¦Iā€™m curious ā€” what lessons have YOU learned from blogging?

Comment below, Iā€™d love to hear insights from your experience!

--

--