Meet our Quiqees: Darren, the Chelsea loving, father of three

Christie Becker
Quiqup
Published in
3 min readApr 7, 2017

Welcome to the first of our “Meet our Quiqees” feature! Every month we’re going to be inviting one of our lovely Quiqees into Quiqup HQ for a chat and a catch up to see how they’re getting on, and to know a bit more about them.

“There’s not many jobs where you can work 40+ hours a week and still have the weekend free for your kids.”

Our first Quiqee who has found himself in the spotlight for this month’s feature is Darren. When he’s not busy singing his heart out alongside his father and son at Chelsea’s Stamford Bridge, he’s the friendly face dropping off over 50 pickups every week.

With three children to spend time with over the weekend, Darren credits the flexibility of the Quiqee role for allowing him to spend time with his family. Our Community Manager, Nic had a lovely chat with him to find out more about what he’s been up to…

After joining us in February, Darren has completed his fair share of pickups

How have you found your first couple of months at Quiqup?

I’ve really enjoyed it. I love that I’m out and about in my car and I can go to all sorts of places across London. I get to meet lots of interesting people and I’ve found countless restaurants that I would have never of known about had I not been working.

What is your most memorable pickup?

I had a mission to pickup and drop some chairs. I didn’t know who it was for, but I turned up and there were so many chairs, it took me four trips! Once I had finished I met the customer and found out he was a Quiqup shareholder and a friend of Bassel’s (Quiqup CEO). He’s been requesting me for all his jobs ever since. He even WhatsApp’s me to see if I’m working — I think I’ve made a friend haha!

Had you ever done anything like this before?

No not really, but me and my friend Rob (who’s also a Quiqee) did set up a discount card in Ealing for independent businesses to encourage people to shop locally. We sold the cards and with some of the money we made, we gave back to the community — helping schools buy books and things like that. That’s why I liked the idea of Quiqup so much, the thought of getting things from anywhere was something I already had. Quiqup just took it to the next level!

Darren is a loyal Chelsea supporter and can often be found cheering them on at Stamford Bridge

How do you spend your time when you’re not working with Quiqup?

I keep my weekends free for my family. I’m a proud father, my three kids are all extremely different. I have a football fan, ice skater and musician all in the making. My son Dylan hasn’t actually learnt any instruments but he can play any song on the piano just by listening to it! There’s not many jobs where you can work 45 hours a week and still have the weekend free for your kids.

We would like to say a big thank you to Darren for taking the time to talk to us, and we will see you next month where we will meet our next Quiqee!

Want to know more about our Quiqee roles? Take a read here.

Christie, Marketing Executive

--

--