Get in a habit of checking these websites every morning

Andy Page
RadifyLabs
3 min readJul 31, 2018

--

I’ve been asked by multiple people recently where I find interesting articles and news about things in tech that are happening in the world. In this article, I want to direct your attention to a few websites that I have gotten into the habit of checking everyday.

1. Product Hunt

As soon as I get up in the morning, the first thing I check on my phone is Product Hunt (they have a mobile app). PH surfaces the best new products every day. It’s a place for product-loving enthusiasts to share and geek out about the latest mobile apps, websites, hardware projects, and tech creations.

PH is great for finding new tools, resources, and learning materials. Here are a few things they posted just in the last few days that I found super helpful.

  • Studddent (A curated list of online discounts for students)
  • Buttercal (A tool to schedule one-on-one meetings fast and free)
  • Tixio (Organize your bookmarks, tools, and links)
  • MyTravelNerd (Personalized travel deals to your inbox)
  • Athena (Community-curated repository of learning resources)
  • Daily Coding Problem (Get exceptionally good at coding interviews)

2. Hacker News

Hacker News is a forum run by Y Combinator. It’s a great source of articles from all over the web that covers anything and everything to do with technology/startups/innovation. Thousands of people read Hacker News and upvote the most important articles to the top. Everyday I usually read the top three articles and then browse the rest of the first page to see if anything piques my interest.

Here are some example of articles that were listed on Hacker News.

3. Medium

Medium is a place where really smart people publish their thoughts. People from all different backgrounds, industries, and geographies write posts here that they want to share. With the ability to follow your favorite topics, writers, and publications, you’re in control of your reading experience.

I love Medium, but I will warn you that you’ll get out of it what you put into it. To make it a usefully daily resource be sure to follow publications and authors who are reputable and who are covering topics that you are interested in.

Here are a few authors/publications that I would recommend following:

One last tip with Medium is to make sure you sign up for their Daily Digest emails. This way you’ll get articles that you’re interested in delivered right your inbox.

Those are the three places I check every single day. They give me a good idea of what is going on in the world and what new tools exist.

--

--