I’m Not Ready to Leave “Schitt’s Creek”

Richard
Rants and Raves
Published in
9 min readApr 8, 2020

--

Cast of “Schitt’s Creek” on the series finale (Image Copyright: CBC/PopTV)

After six seasons and 80 episodes, “Schitt’s Creek” aired its immensely touching series finale last night. The Canadian sitcom was a slow-growing hit that exploded into the stratosphere last year and it seems likely that its pop culture legacy is only just beginning to form. Here, I review the final season and the series finale and comment on what’s next for the gang, at the Emmys and beyond.

[Author’s Note: The following article contains spoilers regarding the final season and series finale of Schitt’s Creek. If you have yet to watch it and intend to, I recommend that you bookmark this article and return to it once you are done watching.]

Last June, I wrote an article about my discovery of the Canadian import Schitt’s Creek. In the article, which you can read here, I detail how I discovered the clever, hilarious, and heartfelt sitcom along with millions of others as its fifth season gained big buzz in the U.S. following its premiere on Netflix. I watched all 66 available episodes in 53 days and even went to see the cast in person during the Los Angeles stop on their “Schitt’s Creek: Up Close and Personal” tour. Within two months, I had gone from only having a vague knowledge that a Canadian sitcom starring that hilarious pair from those Christopher Guest movies existed to becoming a rabidly obsessed fan boy.

--

--

Richard
Rants and Raves

Passionate cinephile. Music lover. Classic TV junkie. Awards season blogger. History buff. Avid traveler. Mental health and social justice advocate.